We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal on St. John!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Tamarind Court
Ranked #5 of 5 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was my 7th trip to St. John, and first time staying at The Tamarind... and now I know where I will stay during future trips! Stephanie and her staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived on a Monday afternoon and realized Tuesday morning that there was no hot water, I mentioned it to Stephanie and she quickly found the problem and had it fixed before lunchtime. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The courtyard was a great place to relax and have a few drinks by the bar after a long day at the beach. Location is amazing! 3 minute walk to downtown Cruz Bay, and an even shorter walk to Dolphin Mart and a great bakery/coffee shop right next door. Overall it was a great experience and I highly recommend The Tamarind to anyone visting St. John!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redmack89 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Inn was very good by island standards, remember this is not eh USA. For a solo traveler it was perfect. A room to sleep in with ceiling fan, screens, and window AC. Shared shower with hot and col water. Good location. Will recommend this to all I know traveling toSt. John.

If you area a light sleeper, bring earplugs. There are chickens and roosters about and a bar in the courtyard.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Close to town location, yet not noisy. Friendly staff. Includes simple breakfast. Dining courtyard/bar is pleasant. A tad pricey, but it's St. John. Two blocks from Starfish Market and most restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

So easy to get around from the Inn at Tamarind. Great place to stay with modest accommodations. Close to grocery store, bakery, park and ocean. We walked to Solomon and Honeymoon Beach. We had new beds that were comfy, cozy. Staff was very helpful and kind. The water pressure wasn't great, but adequate. Most of our friends stayed at high buck rentals and they were riddled with all kinds of maintenance problems. The Inn has a lovely garden where you can enjoy your morning coffee. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpulver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My second trip to St. John was completely different from my first. I stayed at the Westin the first time because I didn't know any different. If you want a resort far from town and all the fun that it has to offer, then stay at the Westin (or on St. Thomas).

If you want more of the local flavor of St. John, then stay at the Tamarind. Stephanie and her staff were friendly, helpful and a pleasure to deal with. It's nothing fancy, but the Inn was comfortable and clean. The bar and restaurant have nice offerings at reasonable prices, not to mention live music on certain nights.

The location is excellent! You can walk to the grocery store and into town in minutes (if you stay at the Westin you'll have to drive or take a taxi, which can really add $$ to your bottom line).

The Inn has several room options depending on your budget, but much less expensive than other St. John options. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olive_Me14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

After my 5th stay at Tamarind Inn, it's the only way to go. I liked the location because you don't have to have a car on the treacherous roads in st .john.
The staff, and Stephanie could not have been more helpful, they know this island!
Food is served with a different cuisine and chef nightly, it is a great deal.
It needs a little updating but remember,
It's the best deal in town!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank bernard_bernstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

On an island overpopulated with über-expensive villas and condos, The Inn at Tamarind Court is a welcome find. If you are looking for luxury and ocean views, look elsewhere. If you want a convenient location, away from the bustling downtown scene with a friendly accommodating staff, nice bar, beautiful garden and restaurant - check this place. The vibe is very relaxed, the location is ideal and the complimentary breakfast was the perfect way to start the day. Top Notch!

Room Tip: If they have a vacancy, grab it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElLoboDePlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.1 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
473 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
1.0 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tamarind Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tamarind Court

Address: Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range: £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quant Inn blends island charm, resonable rates and conveniently located in the town of Cruz Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Tamarind Court Hotel Cruz Bay
Inn Tamarind Court
Inn At Tamarind Court St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing