We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have complaints why did you go???”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Tamarind Court
Ranked #4 of 5 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
1 review
“If you have complaints why did you go???”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I loved my stay there & the price was great, the people were friendly, the a/c works &,& the staff WILL help you if you ask you can bet I'm heading back. P.S. do your research before you go you're not staying @ the Ritz

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    48
    32
    27
    24
See reviews for
18
54
51
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Check in was with a very rude lady who's first question was: Last name please, without once making us feel welcome. When asked about which way to the beach she said it: You're on an island, it's all around! Btw, you needed to drive to the beach and we had a car but needed her to point in the right direction but she pointed to the room and let us help ourselves there.
Motel-like, extremely stuffy, that basically has paper wall. No views of beautiful St. John. No one to give advice on where to go or any security after dinner hours. Gate is open for all basically. I would suggest to might as well pay a little more and stay at a better place where it may be worth your money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marwa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cruz Bay hotels

New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Thin thread-bare sheets needed replacing years ago. Cheapest possible, thin, old spring mattress they could find, smaller than a twin, just bigger than a cot. Floors falling apart. Not clean like it was. Very disappointing. In dire need of a remodel. Stayed here six years ago and it was much better then. Gave it 1 stars for price but would have given it a zero

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

then it's fine. Great location and friendly staff, but we're talking about barking dogs behind the inn at 2,3,4a as well as cocks going off throughout the night (which is super common in the VI). The room reminded us of being in the hull of a ship as every time the wind would blow, the roof creaked like there was someone walking around on top of it.

I hate to bash on places, but felt I should warn people. I would pass and spend the extra money for the Westin or any other place a little more out of the action...especially for a honeymoon or any other special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was my 7th trip to St. John, and first time staying at The Tamarind... and now I know where I will stay during future trips! Stephanie and her staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived on a Monday afternoon and realized Tuesday morning that there was no hot water, I mentioned it to Stephanie and she quickly found the problem and had it fixed before lunchtime. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The courtyard was a great place to relax and have a few drinks by the bar after a long day at the beach. Location is amazing! 3 minute walk to downtown Cruz Bay, and an even shorter walk to Dolphin Mart and a great bakery/coffee shop right next door. Overall it was a great experience and I highly recommend The Tamarind to anyone visting St. John!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redmack89 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Inn was very good by island standards, remember this is not eh USA. For a solo traveler it was perfect. A room to sleep in with ceiling fan, screens, and window AC. Shared shower with hot and col water. Good location. Will recommend this to all I know traveling toSt. John.

If you area a light sleeper, bring earplugs. There are chickens and roosters about and a bar in the courtyard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Close to town location, yet not noisy. Friendly staff. Includes simple breakfast. Dining courtyard/bar is pleasant. A tad pricey, but it's St. John. Two blocks from Starfish Market and most restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cruz Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Tamarind Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Tamarind Court

Property: Inn at Tamarind Court
Address: Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quant Inn blends island charm, resonable rates and conveniently located in the town of Cruz Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Tamarind Court Hotel Cruz Bay
Inn Tamarind Court
Inn At Tamarind Court St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing