We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gallows Point Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
St. John Inn(Cruz Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caneel Bay Resort(Caneel Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elysian Beach Resort(East End)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secret Harbour Beach Resort(Benner)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (869)
Filter reviews
869 results
Traveller rating
661
145
40
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
661
145
40
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewgift shopupper levelst johnlower harborhuge showerlower unitfull kitchenloft bedroombeach barhalf bathbeautiful groundsoctopuson site restaurantshort walkgreat snorkelingclose to town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
652 - 657 of 869 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at Gallows Point for a week of fun and relaxation during March, 2011 with our 10-year old daughter. We had a great experience with Gallows and really enjoyed St. John. After checking-in, we were pleasantly surprised to find that our room was the same one prominently displayed on the Gallows website. The room (#4A) had up-to-date furnishings and the view was absolutely spectacular -- particularly for sunsets. Everyone had a great time (including our 10-year old) and we are looking forward to visiting again in the future.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms with view of St. Thomas
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael_and_Kristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

My husband and I have been to Gallows Point two years in the row, and we absolutely love the place. Our first year, we stayed in 5D, and this year we stayed in 3C. Both units were beautiful and had fantastic views, especially at sunset. 3C was particularly nice because it has water views from all the windows. We spent most of our days traveling around the island, exploring different beaches and hikes. Gallows Point was a lovely place to come home to at the end of the day. The quick access to town was great when we wanted to check out different restaurants, but we liked how quiet our room was when we returned each night. All we could hear was the waves! The Ocean View Upper rooms are the most expensive, but I think the views and peace and quiet make them worth the price. We hope to return next year.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
6  Thank RedNYGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 5 day stay at Gallows Point and we absolutely loved everything about it! We were in unit 11D and it was upgraded and clean and beautiful facing the harbor. I had read some mixed reviews on this site about not getting the unit requested, etc. We received the unit we booked/requested. The staff was wonderful, the location excellent being right in Cruz Bay and we walked to shops and restaurants and even the grocery store. We did not rent a car and glad we did not. I could go on and on with all positive feedback as our experience at Gallows Point and all of St. John was beyond all our expectations! The only downside is we had to leave!

Room Tip: Ask front desk to email you pictures of room
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atltraveler010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We reserved a Harbor side villa for four nights. On night one we couldn't get to sleep until 1:30 AM because of the raucous crowd cheering on the loud live band at the Beach Bar down the street. BE WARNED: rooms on the harbor side will be exposed to serious noise from late night carousing! The manager admitted that our side of the facility was subject to noise and had the audacity to say that we had been warned about it (which we had not). The remedy was for us to haul our belongings to another villa on the ocean side for an extra $100 a night. No one said they were sorry and there was no accommodation for the noise. Our more expensive room had substandard air conditioning that had to be repaired.This is the level of service we received for $500 a night. Pretty pathetic. Room service was spotty (failure to remove garbage under the kitchen sink), the WI-FI didn't work (very, very slow...lots of time outs) and our upgraded room was missing basic kitchen items like dishwasher soap and coffee filters. Again, this is what you get for $500 a night? On the plus side, the view from the patio was superb. When in the room we spent most of our time there when not sleeping. The villa layout is quite nice with a large loft bedroom and half-bath. The main floor has a spacious main room, galley kitchen, full bath with large tiled shower and, depending on the owner of the unit, nice homey touches or the minimum required for functionality. For the money, I would book a Costco vacation at the Westin. It would probably be cheaper, be cleaner, be less noisy and have a higher level of service.

A P.S.---For what its worth, Suite St. John is also at Gallows Point but under different management. Suite St. John owns 8 of the 60 condos at the resort, with 7 ocean view condos and only one harbor view upper (12D). I mention this because the president of this group took exception to my review because it was originally and incorrectly attributed to his subset of properties at Gallows Point.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NCLoggerheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We reserved a Harbor side villa for four nights. On night one we couldn't get to sleep until 1:30 AM because of the raucous crowd cheering on the loud live band at the Beach Bar down the street. BE WARNED: rooms on the harbor side will be exposed to serious noise from late night carousing! The manager admitted that our side of the facility was subject to noise and had the audacity to say that we had been warned about it (which we had not). The remedy was for us to haul our belongings to another villa on the ocean side for an extra $100 a night. No one said they were sorry and there was no accommodation for the noise. Our more expensive room had substandard air conditioning that had to be repaired.This is the level of service we received for $500 a night. Pretty pathetic. Room service was spotty (failure to remove garbage under the kitchen sink), the WI-FI didn't work (very, very slow...lots of time outs) and our upgraded room was missing basic kitchen items like dishwasher soap and coffee filters. Again, this is what you get for $500 a night? On the plus side, the view from the patio was superb. When in the room we spent most of our time there when not sleeping. The villa layout is quite nice with a large loft bedroom and half-bath. The main floor has a spacious main room, galley kitchen, full bath with large tiled shower and, depending on the owner of the unit, nice homey touches or the minimum required for functionality. For the money, I would book a Costco vacation at the Westin. It would probably be cheaper, be cleaner, be less noisy and have a higher level of service.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCLoggerheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews