We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Orchid at Gallows Point was Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I have relied upon trip advisor for years but have never felt compelled to write a review until now. The Blue Orchid at Gallows Point was even better than we expected. The decor is elegant. The service was fantastic. The location was perfect and the manager, Mark was THE BEST! Thank you, Tice family, for sharing a bit of heaven with us. It made our first trip to the Virgin Islands memorable and the first of many more to come. St. John is truely a place of pristine beauty. We can't wait until next year. Regards, Krissy Carroll

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcarroll21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed in 15A "Blue Orchid" which had been recently remodeled and was lovely. The grounds at Gallows Point were just beautiful and we were able to swim both in the ocean (snorkeling too) and in the nice pool. The hot tub was perfect when we first arrived after traveling all day. There were kayaks and snorkel gear available for rent nearby and the views were just gorgeous.

The location was only a short walk from town, although uphill on the way back, everything was close by and we never left Cruz Bay since we were only there for two nights. Taxis were plentiful and always available. The bars in town can be a bit noisy when sleeping in the living room area but the bedroom was quiet enough.

Internet was pretty hard to get in this unit without sitting at the desk in the living room, literally the only place you could get a signal. The code given to us was wrong and it took us a couple of phone calls to get online. For the price we paid, this really is unacceptable and should be upgraded.

Room Tip: 15A is very newly remodeled and has a gorgeous kitchen and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Spent the 4th of July in unit 10A best ever! This resort is small one bedroom units but have a fold out sofa bed so 3 of us were very comfortable!
Enjoyed the Carnival July 1-4th music was great. Watched the fireworks from the deck of the condo.....amazing!

Room Tip: 10 A has the best of all, contstant breeze not excessive sun exposure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbsalerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed at this wonderful resort for 11 nights in unit 8C which we booked through Suite St. John Villas and Condos. Jeff Mattheny was great to deal with and was very prompt in all our correspondence.
This location was perfect. We could walk to stores and restaurants and it was only a short drive to several of St. John's beautiful beaches. We also enjoyed snorkeling at Gallows and had our first shark encounter - we believe it was a 5 - 6 foot reef shark who was just slowly swimming by. The grounds are well maintained and the pool area and deck at the beach were quiet and relaxing. Something we found to be a plus was the resort had beach chairs you could check out and they provided as many beach towels as you needed each day. The staff were always polite and housekeeping kept our unit clean and refreshed daily. In fact, my luggage didn't arrive when we landed in St. Thomas; but the next day when it finally found its way to the island, the Gallows Point driver provided transportation to the St. John dock to pick it up.
This was a spacious corner unit with great views overlooking the water and beautiful evening sunsets. It had a full kitchen, flat screen TV with DVD player and a very comfortable bed. With the sounds of the waves, good air conditioning and such a comfortable bed, we slept great. We stocked up on groceries from the Starfish Market, had breakfast in each day and took sandwiches in the cooler for lunch since nearly every day we traveled to various beaches to snorkel and take in the sun. Each evening we enjoyed eating out and returning to this comfortable resort unit.
We definitely want to return to Gallows Point Resort on our next trip to St. John.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Live2TravelNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

9 nights at this wonderful resort. Please allow me to ramble and babble for a moment. Resort is so much better than the pictures, Staff is wonderful going out of their way to be sure you have a great time. Special shout out to Giddeon (picked us up at the ferry), Edith (our housekeeper), and all of the front desk staff!.....We stayed in unit 5a (lower). The unit is a great value because it is still considered a classic yet it has had some updates. The king size bed was so comfortable, and the bathroom shower very large, with an area to dry your snorkel and swimsuits. If you want views, views, views this is the place. Very few ocean front locations within St John were you can stay right on the water. The two double doors on the front of the unit opened up to our deck which overlooked the ocean. We used the snorkeling area every day and found it easy to access (even with my bum knee and cane)! We snorkeled at many other beaches around the island and found it hard to beat the fish, coral, and colors we viewed right at Gallows! We returned each day to our unit to find it clean and refreshed by housekeeping....what a treat! We used the pool, hottub, lounge chairs, and the hammocks. Quiet location, walk right to town, to bars, shops, and eateries......we were certainly on island time!

Room Tip: ask the staff what rooms are open, they know best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ski2play2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We absolutely loved Gallows Point and will be returning there in about a month! The staff was wonderful, the restaurant was great, our room was updated and fabulous. The snorkeling off the beach was lots of fun and we loved just sitting in the hammocks and watching the iguanas roam around and eat. We stayed harbor side and had no problem with noise at all. Quick short walk to town, we cannot say enough about how wonderful it was!

Room Tip: Ask for the Gold rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmwm3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at Gallows Point for a week of fun and relaxation during March, 2011 with our 10-year old daughter. We had a great experience with Gallows and really enjoyed St. John. After checking-in, we were pleasantly surprised to find that our room was the same one prominently displayed on the Gallows website. The room (#4A) had up-to-date furnishings and the view was absolutely spectacular -- particularly for sunsets. Everyone had a great time (including our 10-year old) and we are looking forward to visiting again in the future.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms with view of St. Thomas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael_and_Kristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.9 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.4 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
497 reviews
3.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
476 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
768 reviews
4.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range: £251 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing