We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, wonderful property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Warrenton, VA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Enjoyed a 11-night visit to Gallows Point (Unit 9C), St. John. Unit is ideally located overlooking the pool with full ocean vista. Excellent location with short walk to Cruz Bay to shops, restaurants, bars, & entertainment. People are very friendly. Property is well maintained and units are situated so you have privacy and a view from every window. Rent a car or take a taxi to several gorgeous local beaches (Cinnamon, Trunk, and Caneel). Would highly recommend a visit to Gallows Point.

Room Tip: Unit 9C is upper level, situated right in the middle of the property with great view of swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenerandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    137
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
151
500
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

We have stayed on St. John a hand full of times in the last couple of years. We typically stay at the Westin or in a private condo through a vacation company. However, we just returned from a week at Gallows Point and could not have been more pleased!

I have always overlooked Gallows because from the beach in Cruz Bay the buildings look a little dated, But once you are on the property it is much different. The grounds are expertly manicured and as another guest commented to me, It is so lush and tropical it reminded him of Malaysia. They have created a tropical botanic garden that line the paths to the individual rooms. But the grounds facing the ocean and pool area are wide open except for the few scattered flowering plants and palm trees. Every room faces the water and has an ocean view, so there are no "Garden View" rooms.

The rooms themselves are all set up as one bedrooms. Which is nice for a romantic getaway. However, they also have pullout queen sleepers in the living room so you can do 4 persons per room or two adults and two children without any difficulty. (but there is only one bathroom....)

There have been some comments about it being dated. Each unit is individually and privately owned, but rented out through the hotel or by the owners directly. So each is decorated differently inside. We stayed in Unit 9A, and it is beautiful. Granite counter tops, hardwood cabinetry, full kitchen, and recessed living room. (for a peak go to this site www.gallowspoint.com it is through suitestjohn.com the company we booked through.) But the website for gallows point hotel is gallowspointresort.com, if your interested.

The location on the island is perfect. It is a two minute walk down the hill into town for happy hour, or dinner, or what ever provisions you may need. And if you choose to rent a car, which I highly recommend, it is a 10-15 minute drive to all the north shore beaches in the National Park.

Finally I will say for the price it is the most reasonable lodging we have found on the island. The Westin, although beautiful, is expensive. Also it has that huge resort feel about it. At Gallows you feel much more secluded and less commercial. Also each unit is a full one bedroom apartment with kitchen, full size fridge and freezer and there are laundry machines as well. Also there is a small area with two Weber grills so you can pick up some fresh fish or chicken and grill a nice meal right there.

Down sides, (because there are always some)

There is no gym on the property. this is a major downfall for me. I like to swim and run also, so I can still get that in on the island, but some sort of weight room would be a major plus.

The staff at the hotel were all Fantastic except this one young lady who works the evening shift at the front desk. She is nothing short of rude. She was always siting at the guest internet computer browsing shopping websites and was not at all interested in cracking a smile or helping us in any way.However, everyone else from the staff that we interacted with was smiling, friendly, helpful and pleasant.

The beach in front of the hotel is small and has a retention wall. it is fine if you just want to sit in your chair, but the ocean is all rocks out front. they do have a metal dock you walk out to get into waist deep water and a swim platform anchored out about 50 yards from the beach. The rocks make for excellent snorkeling but not if you plan to wade in the water. However, with the beautiful northshore beaches only ten minutes away, I don't know who would hang out on that beach anyway. I felt the same about the Westin, their beach is man made also.

But even with these few negatives, we still think this is the best place we have stayed on the island. We are returning in May for a short stay and cannot wait!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Nickd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Can't beat the walkable proximity to everything in town, and the restaurant (Zozo's) located on the property has some of the best views and food on the island. Unfortunately, these units are privately owned so there is a lack of consistency in the standards & upkeep of the units, although they were clean. Furniture is likely original and was never top quality. We had to cover our couch with a sheet because it was so dirty we felt uncomfortable even sitting on it. The bed pillows were stinky and ancient, and linens were just plain old and certainly not of quality consistent with the $600/night price. Overall, even with basic kitchen and bath renovations, the units are tired and cheaply appointed, but the views & location is great.

Room Tip: Harbor View is a bit noisy but is beautiful and provides an interesting view of boats, birds & w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trippinlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We were married on St Johns and have stayed here every 5 years for the past 20. This place is a fabulous resort with the feel of home. The suites are so comfortable and elegant, views are amazing yet it has a feeling of home. We love being able to walk down the hill to the "town" with local restaurants and shopping. Plus the snorkeling in front of the resort is some of the best. The restaurant is amazing and the "gift shop" has breakfast foods, beer and wine and the most helpful staff to make all kinds of reservations for you.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elayne5O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed at the Gallows for 3 nights on the front end of our Jost vacation and we were not disappointed. We were met at the ferry dock in Cruz Bay and taken up the hill to the resort. Check in was a breeze and all the staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautiful! Well kept and clean. We were shown to our room which was right on the water. The room was, well, awesome! It had everything anyone could want or need. We loved the outdoor patio which was private enough so that you could sit out there in your pajama's and have coffee in the mornings. The bathroom had a walkin shower that was so relaxing, actually, the whole place was relaxing and quiet. They have a small store on sight where we purchased drinks and snacks as we weren't going to be there very long. Yes, you can walk in to town with no problems. Just down a small hill and back up again. The views were great and the day we checked out we had a bit of a wait for our ferry so we stayed by the pool and beach area. Nice way to start a vacation. We ate at the onsight restaurant, Zozo's and it was delicious. Best meal we had during the entire vacation. DO make reservations, I think they fill up quickly. Check out was smooth with no issues and they even took us to the ferry dock. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zachsaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed 6 nights in January in room 15C (upper ocean view). This is a great base to explore St. John. It is an easy 5 minute walk to the restaurants and shops in Cruz Bay, as well as several grocery stores. The resort itself is very nice. Grounds are well maintained and the pool/deck area has several levels with pool chairs and plenty of sunny and shady spots to relax. The snorkeling off the pier is decent, but the water is a bit rougher than elsewhere on the island, and as the ferry boats go by, the wake creates more choppiness.

The room itself was nice. Some of the pros: lots of space, great balcony overlooking both the bay and the other islands, full kitchen. Some of the cons: no shades to keep out light - without an eyemask, pretty tough to sleep past sunrise; even with all the windows closed, a fair amount of noise from the harbor - primarily the ferry boats reving their engines as they leave the harbor every hour.

The staff was overall very friendly, especiallt those at the on-site shopping store. Prices were a bit higher than in town, but the staff was friendly and helpful. We had one issue during our stay (didn't let this influence our overall rating). While I cannot say it was resolved, the manager was available to discuss the issue and took note of the problem.

When we were there, the clientele was older (50+) and few families - pretty quiet overall, which suited us fine. Overall we had a very good stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room as far from the harbor as you can get to avoid hearing the ferry boats hourly
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TripHound_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Be careful when booking Gallows Point! It states on Trip Advisor that is is #1 in a Family Hotel but it is far from a family friendly place. Pool is small, beach is rocky, surf is rough. They do not allow any children 5 or under. But I would suggest that if you have a child 10 and under book at Westin or Caneel Bay. They are family friendly, better pool, awesome beaches, and better service. We will not return to Gallows Point. We love St.John, just a bad experience at Gallows Resort!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank dewatson51975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karlamrktng, Manager at Gallows Point Resort, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
The management at Gallows Point Resort is here to rent units for the condominium association and we are under obligation to follow their policies. If the owner’s association has decided they do not want children under five on this property we are under obligation to enforce that policy.

We have posted in bold letters on what we think is the appropriate page of our website (under Policies and Information on the Rates page with a link to it on the Reservations page) our policy of not allowing guests to bring children under 5 years of age. This policy is also stated on the guest’s confirmation letter. We don’t think our resort is geared to children. As you have stated the beach is rocky, there is no “kiddie” pool or lifeguard. We do not offer a kid’s camp or babysitters and the restaurant does not have a kid’s menu. There is not one photo on the website showing children under five at the resort.

We cannot be everything and have instead tried to excel in what we can offer. What we have tried to offer our guests is a peaceful, tranquil retreat. The hammocks on the beach are a great place to relax and listen to the waves, or the lounge chairs on the sun decks are a great place to read a book. The lower sun deck is the gathering spot for the early morning yoga class that is currently being offered. And while the beach is rocky it does make for very good snorkeling. We have even installed a special walkway to get in and out of the water with ease. And if a guest wants to party they can walk to the town of Cruz Bay where they will find a number of beach bars, restaurants, the casino and maybe a steel pan band playing in the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Property: Gallows Point Resort
Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing