We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip that will be forever remembered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We have travelled the world and this is one of our favorite vacation places! Beautiful duplex condo setup with stunning views, beautiful gardens and the restaurant was so good we went to dinner there twice! We would happily go there again and again! With so much to do on the rest of the island we didn;t spend much time in our rooms but the folks at the litttle shop helped us plan trips and find the best of what we were looking for on the island.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

Stayed for 5 nights and found the resort to be well maintained, the staff helpful (checked us in early without complaint), and the room very well appointed and clean. The views are great I. agree that this is little or no beach and the wake from passing boats would make it a challenge for kids snorkeling. My only complaint is noise. My room was directly across from ZoZo's. Most night's diners were there til after 10pm. You can mediate it by closing the windows and turning on the air conditioning and a fan but otherwise it's pretty loud. Further than that the ferries are loud as well from the other side. I think if we came again we would stay on one of the side streets. I loved the little gift shop with the sandwiches (very good) wine and beer.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed far away from Zozo's and on the other side from the ferries....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Enjoyed a 11-night visit to Gallows Point (Unit 9C), St. John. Unit is ideally located overlooking the pool with full ocean vista. Excellent location with short walk to Cruz Bay to shops, restaurants, bars, & entertainment. People are very friendly. Property is well maintained and units are situated so you have privacy and a view from every window. Rent a car or take a taxi to several gorgeous local beaches (Cinnamon, Trunk, and Caneel). Would highly recommend a visit to Gallows Point.

Room Tip: Unit 9C is upper level, situated right in the middle of the property with great view of swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardenerandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We have stayed on St. John a hand full of times in the last couple of years. We typically stay at the Westin or in a private condo through a vacation company. However, we just returned from a week at Gallows Point and could not have been more pleased!

I have always overlooked Gallows because from the beach in Cruz Bay the buildings look a little dated, But once you are on the property it is much different. The grounds are expertly manicured and as another guest commented to me, It is so lush and tropical it reminded him of Malaysia. They have created a tropical botanic garden that line the paths to the individual rooms. But the grounds facing the ocean and pool area are wide open except for the few scattered flowering plants and palm trees. Every room faces the water and has an ocean view, so there are no "Garden View" rooms.

The rooms themselves are all set up as one bedrooms. Which is nice for a romantic getaway. However, they also have pullout queen sleepers in the living room so you can do 4 persons per room or two adults and two children without any difficulty. (but there is only one bathroom....)

There have been some comments about it being dated. Each unit is individually and privately owned, but rented out through the hotel or by the owners directly. So each is decorated differently inside. We stayed in Unit 9A, and it is beautiful. Granite counter tops, hardwood cabinetry, full kitchen, and recessed living room. (for a peak go to this site www.gallowspoint.com it is through suitestjohn.com the company we booked through.) But the website for gallows point hotel is gallowspointresort.com, if your interested.

The location on the island is perfect. It is a two minute walk down the hill into town for happy hour, or dinner, or what ever provisions you may need. And if you choose to rent a car, which I highly recommend, it is a 10-15 minute drive to all the north shore beaches in the National Park.

Finally I will say for the price it is the most reasonable lodging we have found on the island. The Westin, although beautiful, is expensive. Also it has that huge resort feel about it. At Gallows you feel much more secluded and less commercial. Also each unit is a full one bedroom apartment with kitchen, full size fridge and freezer and there are laundry machines as well. Also there is a small area with two Weber grills so you can pick up some fresh fish or chicken and grill a nice meal right there.

Down sides, (because there are always some)

There is no gym on the property. this is a major downfall for me. I like to swim and run also, so I can still get that in on the island, but some sort of weight room would be a major plus.

The staff at the hotel were all Fantastic except this one young lady who works the evening shift at the front desk. She is nothing short of rude. She was always siting at the guest internet computer browsing shopping websites and was not at all interested in cracking a smile or helping us in any way.However, everyone else from the staff that we interacted with was smiling, friendly, helpful and pleasant.

The beach in front of the hotel is small and has a retention wall. it is fine if you just want to sit in your chair, but the ocean is all rocks out front. they do have a metal dock you walk out to get into waist deep water and a swim platform anchored out about 50 yards from the beach. The rocks make for excellent snorkeling but not if you plan to wade in the water. However, with the beautiful northshore beaches only ten minutes away, I don't know who would hang out on that beach anyway. I felt the same about the Westin, their beach is man made also.

But even with these few negatives, we still think this is the best place we have stayed on the island. We are returning in May for a short stay and cannot wait!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Nickd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Can't beat the walkable proximity to everything in town, and the restaurant (Zozo's) located on the property has some of the best views and food on the island. Unfortunately, these units are privately owned so there is a lack of consistency in the standards & upkeep of the units, although they were clean. Furniture is likely original and was never top quality. We had to cover our couch with a sheet because it was so dirty we felt uncomfortable even sitting on it. The bed pillows were stinky and ancient, and linens were just plain old and certainly not of quality consistent with the $600/night price. Overall, even with basic kitchen and bath renovations, the units are tired and cheaply appointed, but the views & location is great.

Room Tip: Harbor View is a bit noisy but is beautiful and provides an interesting view of boats, birds & w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trippinlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We were married on St Johns and have stayed here every 5 years for the past 20. This place is a fabulous resort with the feel of home. The suites are so comfortable and elegant, views are amazing yet it has a feeling of home. We love being able to walk down the hill to the "town" with local restaurants and shopping. Plus the snorkeling in front of the resort is some of the best. The restaurant is amazing and the "gift shop" has breakfast foods, beer and wine and the most helpful staff to make all kinds of reservations for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elayne5O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed at the Gallows for 3 nights on the front end of our Jost vacation and we were not disappointed. We were met at the ferry dock in Cruz Bay and taken up the hill to the resort. Check in was a breeze and all the staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautiful! Well kept and clean. We were shown to our room which was right on the water. The room was, well, awesome! It had everything anyone could want or need. We loved the outdoor patio which was private enough so that you could sit out there in your pajama's and have coffee in the mornings. The bathroom had a walkin shower that was so relaxing, actually, the whole place was relaxing and quiet. They have a small store on sight where we purchased drinks and snacks as we weren't going to be there very long. Yes, you can walk in to town with no problems. Just down a small hill and back up again. The views were great and the day we checked out we had a bit of a wait for our ferry so we stayed by the pool and beach area. Nice way to start a vacation. We ate at the onsight restaurant, Zozo's and it was delicious. Best meal we had during the entire vacation. DO make reservations, I think they fill up quickly. Check out was smooth with no issues and they even took us to the ferry dock. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zachsaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
498 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
477 reviews
10.8 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,816 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range: £235 - £553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing