We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite Place in the World”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place in the World”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Gallows 8 times. The villas are beautiful with unbeatable views. The resort is quiet. The staff is excellent. The pool turns into a pleasant meeting place for old and new friends just before sunset. The location is perfect...no need to rent a vehicle, you can walk or taxi everywhere. We often run into people who stayed at the Westin prior to finding Gallows and say they will never go back to the Westin. We highly recommend Gallows Point.

Room Tip: Stay away from the units closer to the street as the Beach Bar down the way can get a little loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshine31412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    139
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
151
505
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at Gallows Point Resort Cruz Bay, USVI in September 2013. This is during the off season, so some of the restaurants in Cruz Bay were closed, but having the resort and mostly the beaches to ourselves far outweighed any negatives. The resort is a community of condominiums, some of which are privately owned, but managed by the hotel itself. The location and value were remarkable. We stayed in unit 2 B, which had a beautiful view of the bay and St. Thomas across the water. We had ocean access, but no beach.
The condos are very spacious and include a full kitchen, all of which are newly renovated. The grounds include seasoned foliage and gardens that are well-established and beautifully kept. The pool is small, not really a desired hangout, but well-kept. The location is great in that we could easily walk to restaurants, shopping, and the bars. The only access to a beach, without having to rent a car, is honeymoon beach, which is about a 20 minute hike outside of town. It is necessary to rent a jeep in order to access other beaches. While this seems like a pain, this is what keeps the island pristine. Most of the beaches on St. John are national parks, which means they are remote and have no hotels, restaurants or any other buildings on the beaches. This setting is ideal and gives a more natural experience of the ocean's beauty.
Snorkeling is great on the island, and Gallows has a nice concierge where gear can be rented. We made sure to test our gear at the hotel ocean access before heading to the beaches. We would highly recommend ding this! While my husband's gear worked beautifully, my mask was too big and the wrong shape for my face - not the fault of the hotel's gear; it just wasn't suited for my small frame. We ended up going to a local surf shop for mine - I had to get a child's mask.
Overall, a spectacular experience. The staff and concierge service is great. The concierge actually took care in dealing with rental car arrangements for us and were helpful in researching and assisting in booking sailing or cruising excursions.
We were able to find a local couple who does sailing excursions. Captin Neil Newhard and his wife Jeannie took us out on their boat, The Flying Circus. The boat is a 1968 model Columbia 50. To our surprise, The Flying Circus ended up having a formidable racing heritage, and Captain Neil, in spite of his humility, is an accomplished sailor who, along with his wife Jeannie, has won many Caribbean races with the Flying Circus. The two of them have very exciting tales of their adventures. If you want to have a true sailing experience and not have to share the boat with 50 other people, this is the way to go.
St. John is sure to be a favorite island of anyone who travels the Caribbean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I are repeat St. John visitors who stayed at Gallows Point for the first time. It was off season in early October. The property was beautiful, the room was too, and the staff was great. The bellman took his time to show us everything about the room, which was great because it was actually a suite, it was huge, and had lots of amenities. The bed was sooooo comfortable, we had no problems sleeping whatsoever. Not one of these rock-hard hotel beds you usually get.

While you could tell it was off-season in town, at the resort, we couldn't really tell it was off-season, it seemed fully staffed and we wanted for nothing.

Our room was harborside on the bottom floor (14B). Other reviews had said there would be some noise on this side. With the windows open, you could hear music at the bar down the street, and you could hear the ferry. However, it didn't bother us and we couldn't hear it in the bedroom. I'd go with a bottom room again, perhaps there's better views in the uppper, but there's view all over the island (but ours in the bottom wasn't bad) and it was nice and cool.

Prices in the shop are very reasonable, especially for St. John where everything is really expensive.

Drawbacks? Their on site beach isn't all that great, but with so many of the world's best beaches on the same small island it's not really so bad. If you're at all fit you can hike easily to Solomon or Honeymoon beaches which are beautiful and secluded, otherwise you can rent a car or taxi and go to one of the many awesome ones.

Thanks to the sun the pool gets pretty warm during the day, in fact it was definitely a little too warm, we didn't stay in too long. It felt like bathwater which wasn't all that great on a humid 90 degree day. Their jacuzzi is really cool looking (it turns colors) but it was just too hot outside to want to use it.

But seriously, this is the nicest place I've ever stayed in. I'm already thinking about when I can go back. FAR exceeded expectations.

Room Tip: If you want more quiet, go away from the harbor. If you want a better view, get an upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Thank you Gallows for providing us with a great vacation. Just returned from a week in Unit 3C and it was fantastic! The views of St Thomas from the condo are wonderful. The staff and the folks at Gallows Gourmet are very helpful without being intrusive on your privacy.

The condo is nicely updated and the bed is VERY comfortable. The pool area is quiet, beautiful and has plenty of seating for everyone. The snorkeling at the resort was very fun, probably the second best that we found on the island.

We celebrated our 30th anniversary at Gallows and it will always be one of our best vacations. The ability to walk to Cruz Bay was a real plus as parking is tough at best. Loved having coffee each morning with my adopted dove and the iguanas who lived in the bushes below our unit. So glad we chose Gallows for our first trip to St John.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Br0wnd0gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have been to St. John several times and I think we have found our spot! The units are located right in town which makes an easy walk to happy hour and dinner. We still rented a jeep for day trips to beaches. The units are nice and have been remodeled. Great a/c, room safe, nice Aveda toiletries. Full kitchen and plenty of space for a couple. We had an upper unit (2D) which had a great view. A few minor negatives - the walls are a bit thin -- I could hear the lady next door on the phone. The pool is not remodeled and in rough shape. Not the sort of pool you would spend any time at. There is no beach at the hotel, but that is what your day trips are for! The beaches around the island are great, but get there early for a good shady spot. Favorite restaurants - La Tapa, Rhumb Lines, and The Terrace. While you are day tripping, head to Vie's Snack Shack, Skinny Legs, Shipwreck Landing and Tourist Trap on the other side of the island. Also booked Kekoa for a day sail - awesome! St. John has such a great laid back vibe. We honeymooned here over 20 years ago and try to make it back every 5 years. Email me any questions!

Room Tip: Upper level units for best view
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank cheryl5418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Gallows Point 9/21-9/26. All the positive review expectations were met 100%. We had a wonderful time and will return to Gallows in the future. When you rent, all I can tell you is 3D. Book this unit and you will be very glad you did. Closest to the water with a western sunset view of St Thomas. Room has a loft bed room with 1 1/2 baths. Full bath has a very large shower. AC works perfect as well. Maid service daily was outstanding. They leave plenty of coffee each day so no worries for coffee drinkers. Gallows Point Gift & Gormet has all the basics you might want while there. The unit has a cooler, which we stocked daily for the beach, and beach chairs. Since this is a review of Gallows Point and not St. John, all I will say about the beaches are they are the best in the world. We have been to about every island in the Carribean and this island has it all. Sept must be the best time to go here as we had every beach basically to ourselves until afternoon. Turtles at Maho Beach is a must. The walk into Cruz Bay is only 5 minutes tops. Straight down hill! Morgan's Mango was tops on our list for quality food and go there Tuesday night for lobster night. We did not rent a jeep as taxi's are readily available and so cheap that it made no since to rent. The open air taxi's give you a great view of the island also. The staff at Gallows did everything they could to make our trip enjoyable. We booked Bad Kitty for the BVI's which stopped at Virgin Gorda and Jost Van Dyke. This was booked through Gallows Point Gift & Gourmet for the same price as going direct. Made it very easy. Do this day on Bad Kitty. We had a blast. Gallows Point ground keeping was outstanding and the pool, spa, beach hammocks, swings, etc. were all clean and in great shape. The only negative thing I can come to saying is not really a negative. It's expected! Mosquitos are present, so either take bug spray or buy it when you get there. Thank you Gallows Point for making my 50th so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Room 3D has to be the best on the property as I really don't see how it could be any better. AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommy925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shreveport,La
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

What can I say that has not been said about our annual week at Gallows for the past 10 years.
First the views are simply amazing and the water is is crystal clear The staff have become our friends after so many wonderful return visits. They go out of their way to help you have a wonderful stay and are there anytime you need them. The condos are are VERY nice and have everything you might need for cooking or relaxing.The kingsize bed is fantastic We have always rented our snorkeling gear from Low Key Watersports as the fit is very important. After going to St. John for so many years we have learned some locations are better than others for seeing fish-turtles and stingrays.The snorkeling in front of the resort is very good and we have seen all of these right in front of our condo. I may surprise you but I have never found a need to rent a car in as many trips as we have made My wife and I can go to the all the places we like by just hopping in in the open air trucks. I was in boat sales for 20 years so our favorite thing to do other than shop-eat and drink a lot of rum is to rent a dingy from Noahs Little Arks which is on the beach in front of the Beach Bar. We go to a offshore caye and see tons of fish. You can eat in or take out food at Delli Grotto and Also MAKE SURE you stop by Uncle Joe's for some GREAT bar- b- que ribs.I will add that we buy our groceries at Dolphin Market.
We always hate to say goodbye but we know we will be back next year.
Thanks to Everyone at Gallows Point for another wonderful trip to a beautiful place on earth.
Larry and Anne
Shreveport,La

Room Tip: We like ocean front lower because you walk right out onto your patio and the and then directly onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank larueshreveport_La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
3.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Property: Gallows Point Resort
Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing