We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read the whole thing please, you're going to want to...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Read the whole thing please, you're going to want to...”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

This "resort" (if you want to stretch the definition of this word to cover this place) feels more like a condo rental property. We actually asked the front desk attendant how to get onto the resort property not knowing we were standing on it. If you're traveling as a couple and want a resort experience, I wouldn't even consider this place. Try Caneel Bay or The Westin.

If you want a beach on your property, good luck. It's "waterfront" but there's no beach. Hard to call yourself a resort and you don't even have a beach on your property.

There's just a breathtaking view of a rundown old disgusting cemetery with above ground graves adjacent to the property.


The pool looks like something at a 1990's motel and the condos inside gave me the feeling I just rented a beach condo in 1995 in OCMD.

The staff was nice but the rooms were just ok. If you have a family of four and want to save money on food there is a full kitchen. The bathrooms were new and gave you the feel you were in a luxury villa, then you walked out of the bathroom and realized you're in a beach condo. Again, the staff was fantastic, it's just not a romantic luxury getaway spot.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jacarr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    142
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
157
516
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Will definitely stay here again. Great location in Cruz Bay. Just a short walk to the heart of town and all the restaurants and shops. Beautiful ocean and harbor views from our room. Very clean and comfortable. The suite was extra spacious, and we loved sitting on the balcony and watching boats come in and out of the harbor.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, TX
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at Gallows Point three years ago, and staying here again was the main reason we came back to St. John. We stay in room 10B which is a lower unit with a great view of the gazebo and the bay. Snorkeling is good and the pool is very peaceful and relaxing. We also went for the beaches, but when we thought they would be closed due to the U.S. government shutdown, we did not get too upset because we knew that we could have a great vacation just staying at Gallows Point. This is the only place that we would consider staying when we visit St. John.

Room Tip: We like 10B because of the view and closeness to the pool and snorkeling area. As seniors, it is eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaire
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was my second year in a row staying at Gallows Point, and I can't recommend this condo resort highly enough. We stayed in unit 15d, which is an upper level ocean view room rented via Suite St. John. This unit has one of the best views on the property, and it is very convenient for pool use and for snorkeling.

I've also stayed at Caneel Bay, and I prefer Gallows Point due to the fact that it is a close walk to Cruz Bay. Also, I prefer the accommodations at Gallows to the rooms at Caneel.

Here are the pros and cons, from my perspective.

Pros
Large, modern condo-style rooms
Well appointed kitchen for cooking and eating in
Wonderful service
Short walk to restaurants/Cruz Bay
Great snorkeling on extensive reef
Beautiful views from entire resort
Oceanfront pool and jacuzzi (great after snorkeling)
Quiet and peaceful (most of the time)

Cons
Can be loud on weekends when bands are playing in Cruz Bay or when the bars are crowded
No sandy beach (although it is oceanfront)
Loft style bedroom is not separated from the living room via a wall

The snorkeling at Gallows Point is very good, and the reef is extensive. This year we saw - reef squid, nurse sharks, turtles, several octopi, moray eels, christmas tree worms, feather dusters, filefish, peacock flounders and many other reef fish.

Room Tip: The upper level rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv4travelNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We've been to St. John a number of times and have stayed at the Westin. This year we decided to stay at Gallows Point. I booked the trip several months ago via AMEX Travel and paid in advance.

We paid the fee plus the extra fee for the 3rd person. The contract clearly says that the resort may not refund for prepaid reservations through a 3rd party.

Due to unforseen issues, my daughter is not able to come with us until a few days into the trip. We called AMEX travel to help us - they were great, and they reached out to Gallows Point to see about getting the extra person refunded back for the time my daughter would not be there.

NO PROBLEM! Gallows Point refunded the 3 days back to my card. How great is that. We aren't even there yet and I love this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeniseP848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Outstanding views and comfortable units. Clean and very well maintained.

The only issue we had is the cats that live on the property. They relieve themselves in the grass which is not acceptable for this type of resort.

Overall though, 5 stars!

Room Tip: Units facing the harbor are a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laugh_Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was our first time staying at Gallows after a friend recommended it. We absolutely loved our stay in Unit 12A and are looking forward to going back next year. We had a lower level with the harbor view...it was delightful. We sat out on our patio every evening and had a cocktail before heading out to dinner. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated. It was great having a kitchen so we could do our own cooking if we chose. The pool and views were incredible. The staff was very friendly and attentive, and the gift shop staff were so helpful in great restaurant recommendations. We are definitely going back to Gallows Point!

Room Tip: We stayed 12A which is on the lower level looking out over Cruz Bay and all the boats. Great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.4 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
485 reviews
3.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
466 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
1.2 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Property: Gallows Point Resort
Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing