We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Right on the water”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Gallows point was sooo beautiful. We stayed in 4D which was just amazing. It was an upper level with a balcony with an amazing view of the ocean. I loved being able to listen to the ocean before we feel asleep every night. Our room had everything you could need from appliances to paper towels to pots and pans. We shopped for groceries at a local market and ate breakfast every morning at the resort. The staff was so friendly. Our air conditioner had problems on our 3rd night stay and a man came right out to fix it. We ended up moving to another upper level room because it was offered to us and I thought that maybe that room would have a better view, I think 7D but once we moved we really missed our old room, as my husband put it, "it just felt like home". After about an hr the staff let us move back and the air conditioner was fixed! We were thrilled. Staff was always very attentive to anything we needed. The snorkeling onsite was just about the best you can get on the island. We snorkeled a few places and didn't see as much as we did off the resort. There was a Beracuda that was under the floating dock every day, it was pretty neat. We definately loved all the local restaurants. A few of our favorites were the Lime Inn, the banana deck we frequented for lunches, the fish trap, and we had fun at happy hour at the beach bar. The pool was refreshing and my husband and I enjoyed bringing wine with us when we went. We had an iguana stay up in a tree right next to our balcony for a couple days, the resort was just so peaceful. We would definately stay at Gallows point again. The view, resort, beaches, and restaurants were just breathtaking. We loved that everything was within a 5 min walking distance. We didn't bother renting a vehicle as taxi rides were $12 a person round trip anytime we wanted to go to a beach. One word of advice is bring bug repellant. We didn't stay out late at night and I still got bit up, but it was worth it! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jking01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    139
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
151
505
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Its always a pleasure to stay at this luxury condo property. Well managed, tranquil, within walking distance of Cruz Bay. Convenient to have the kitchen facilities and convenience store on-site. New restaurant on site, Ocean 362, is a reason to stay here in itself. Easy to get taxis to park beaches. Privacy on the water at the resort is a nice benefit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BKFlagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Springs, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

The upstairs rooms are fabulous, beautiful views great air and with a full kitchen Small and boutique,with a nice staff. Pool is to small but you can snorkel off the back of the resort Wow is that great Ocean 362 is on the property with great food

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieMHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

For the past seven years we've been coming to Gallows Point Resort for vacation. The condo's are always clean and up to date. The people that work here are friendly and helpful always glad to see us come back. We always recommend Gallows as the best place to stay in St. John.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilljohnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great spot to stay in while in ST John. Walking distance of the nightlife and restaurants. We had a great location overlooking Cruz Bay. Cleaning service did a great job. Staff was friendly. We were also close to the spa and pool. Also spotted several iguanas on site!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robdawg925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Everything about this resort was absolutely perfect. We have stayed in St John many times but never at Gallows Point. We rented a car, however, the location had access to everything you could want. Close to town, rental cars, taxi's, restaurants, shopping. We went predominantly to snorkel, which, it turns out we could do right out our door. Beautiful, clean and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNTinNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We recently stayed at Gallows Point Resort from Oct 20-27, 2013. It was our first visit to St. John. The location is ideal, easy walking distance to all the shops, restaurants, and attractions in Cruz Bay. The resort has a beautiful outdoor pool and Jacuzzi overlooking the ocean. Awesome ocean and St Thomas views from the balcony of our unit, 8D. Very spacious and comfortable living quarters on the first floor of our unit including cable tv, ac, and huge shower with sitting bench and rain shower head.. Separate second floor sleeping loft and half bath. If you prefer to eat in, you have your own fully equipped kitchen in the unit. You can shop for groceries at Gallows Gourmet Shop right at the resort or at the local supermarket in Cruz Bay. There is also an outdoor grilling area. In addition, the resort is just opening a new two level restaurant called Ocean 362 which will have the best ocean view on the island, and managed by a new award winning Caribbean chef. If you like to eat out, there are numerous excellent restaurants nearby. No commercial or franchised restaurants here, which adds to the charm and quaintness of the island. All are locally owned and operated. We recommend you rent a jeep to explore the island and National Park with its numerous pristine beaches- great swimming and snorkeling.Overall, a fabulous stay at Gallows Point Resort! Looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
3.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Property: Gallows Point Resort
Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing