We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gallows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Gallows is the best place to stay in St. John. This is my 20th trip to St.John, it is truly paradise. It is within walking distance of the little town of Cruz Bay , wonderful shops and fine restaurants.

Room Tip: Unit 4D this unit faces straight to St. Thomas at night it looks like diamonds on velvet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kayroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

Spent 5 nights here in December in an ocean front upper. It was magical. The views were amazing. We went to sleep each night to the sound of the waves lapping on the shore. The unit we stayed in was beautiful and had everything we needed. The pool was small but never crowded so it was a great place to swim early and late in the day. The hot tub was the only disappointment as the jets didn't work while we were there. It was still a great place to sit and watch the sunset. There was a high surf advisory for much of out stay so snorkeling off the property was doable but not as easy as we would have liked. There is, however, an awful lot of marine life to see. Loved the hammocks by the water. The resort is immaculate and as you walk around you discover lots of places to just sit and relax. We had showers each day we were there. Never really interfered with anything and they produced the most amazing rainbows. Peacocks roamed the property and the sound of frogs at night was beautiful. It was easy to get towels, beach chairs and umbrellas. The store arranged for a car rental. We would absolutely come back.

Room Tip: We loved the ocean front upper but I think any room would be wonderful. You do hear music from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Gallows point was sooo beautiful. We stayed in 4D which was just amazing. It was an upper level with a balcony with an amazing view of the ocean. I loved being able to listen to the ocean before we feel asleep every night. Our room had everything you could need from appliances to paper towels to pots and pans. We shopped for groceries at a local market and ate breakfast every morning at the resort. The staff was so friendly. Our air conditioner had problems on our 3rd night stay and a man came right out to fix it. We ended up moving to another upper level room because it was offered to us and I thought that maybe that room would have a better view, I think 7D but once we moved we really missed our old room, as my husband put it, "it just felt like home". After about an hr the staff let us move back and the air conditioner was fixed! We were thrilled. Staff was always very attentive to anything we needed. The snorkeling onsite was just about the best you can get on the island. We snorkeled a few places and didn't see as much as we did off the resort. There was a Beracuda that was under the floating dock every day, it was pretty neat. We definately loved all the local restaurants. A few of our favorites were the Lime Inn, the banana deck we frequented for lunches, the fish trap, and we had fun at happy hour at the beach bar. The pool was refreshing and my husband and I enjoyed bringing wine with us when we went. We had an iguana stay up in a tree right next to our balcony for a couple days, the resort was just so peaceful. We would definately stay at Gallows point again. The view, resort, beaches, and restaurants were just breathtaking. We loved that everything was within a 5 min walking distance. We didn't bother renting a vehicle as taxi rides were $12 a person round trip anytime we wanted to go to a beach. One word of advice is bring bug repellant. We didn't stay out late at night and I still got bit up, but it was worth it! :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jking01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Its always a pleasure to stay at this luxury condo property. Well managed, tranquil, within walking distance of Cruz Bay. Convenient to have the kitchen facilities and convenience store on-site. New restaurant on site, Ocean 362, is a reason to stay here in itself. Easy to get taxis to park beaches. Privacy on the water at the resort is a nice benefit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BKFlagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

The upstairs rooms are fabulous, beautiful views great air and with a full kitchen Small and boutique,with a nice staff. Pool is to small but you can snorkel off the back of the resort Wow is that great Ocean 362 is on the property with great food

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FoodieMHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

For the past seven years we've been coming to Gallows Point Resort for vacation. The condo's are always clean and up to date. The people that work here are friendly and helpful always glad to see us come back. We always recommend Gallows as the best place to stay in St. John.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Hilljohnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great spot to stay in while in ST John. Walking distance of the nightlife and restaurants. We had a great location overlooking Cruz Bay. Cleaning service did a great job. Staff was friendly. We were also close to the spa and pool. Also spotted several iguanas on site!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robdawg925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.9 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.4 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
497 reviews
3.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
476 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
768 reviews
4.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range: £250 - £515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing