We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again, superior in every respect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gallows Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Southeast
Level Contributor
127 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Once again, superior in every respect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We've stayed at Gallows previously, but most recent visit was superior. The staff, management and overall location were top notch. This is one of three major destinations on the island; as an eco-destination, it's the best one. The grounds are maintained beautifully, the pool has a killer sunset view, and the units themselves are all perfect for those who enjoy a non-hotel like setting. Most -- if not all -- units are renovated, and all have everything you might need to cook for yourself. And, of course, it you'd rather not, there's an abundance of choices within a ten minutes walk. The manager is present and committed to your stay. I know him well, and commend him for his superior hospitality management.

Room Tip: The Ocean rooms are just that with incredible views and the waves just below your feet. Though a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SEbiztraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    134
    38
    13
    8
See reviews for
148
489
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed three days last week. unit 10c was excellent. could see both st thomas and cruz bay with the sweeping views. very quiet grounds with a lot of retirees as guests when we were there. nice pool area, hot tub and seating area with great view. we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: 10c for harbor rate and a great ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband and I visited Gallows Point in February 2013 (Unit 9C), and we just returned from a week in unit 1D. We absolutely love St. John and particularly this property. It is so nice to have your own little apartment rather than a hotel room. We booked directly through our unit's owner, Richard Matheny, and the whole process was easy and smooth. We loved snorkeling everyday, and the snorkeling at Gallows Point is as good, or better, than anywhere else we snorkeled. The only place that was close is the rocks between Solomon and Honeymoon beaches. We loved walking to Cruz Bay for dinner every night, and we truly did not have a bad meal the whole time we were there. Our two favorite restaurants were The Terrace and The Banana Deck. We can't wait for our next visit to St. John and Gallows Point.

Room Tip: Oceanfront units are quieter, but even there, you will still hear the ocean waves all night. I loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here for 7 days over Christmas. There are many positives about the hotel: the staff, the location, the pool, the grounds, the beach, and the mini-store. Some of the rooms are also very nice; however, some of the rooms, particularly on the bayside of the complex, are incredibly loud and, in my opinion, uninhabitable. The nearby Beach Bar has live music from 9 or 10 pm until 2am. (I am not sure what their regular schedule is, but over the holidays it was every night.) The music is incredibly disruptive. It is too loud to just ignore. We were originally placed in a lower unit in 13. It was so loud that we decided if the hotel didn't move us to another room, we would have to go home. It was impossible to sleep. At first, the front desk was pretty rude about it. They essentially blamed us for the situation saying, "You should have chosen a different room; that's why the bay units are cheaper." Are you kidding?! We booked online in late October (which is somewhat late to book Christmas), so we chose what was available. Additionally, there was no disclaimer stating that it may be impossible to sleep in 13 due to excessive noise.

Luckily, after more complaining, the resort did move us. We moved to 15, then to one of the upper units in 4, which was nice and quiet, then they moved us to 9 and then to 7, which were better than 13, but still loud enough where I had to sleep with earplugs and a white noise app. The final night we were there, we had to stay in 13 again, and we had to sleep that night because we had an early flight home the next morning. We took melatonin, put in our wax earplugs, and cranked the white noise to 11, and got to sleep at 8am before the music started.

Although I sincerely appreciated the staff's willingness to accommodate us, moving rooms and worrying about the noise was stressful. Like most people, we don't take vacations very often, not even every year. This was an expensive trip for us. Also like most people, we work long hours, so when we go on vacation, we like to sleep some. We also like to get up early enough (8-ish) so we can go outside an make the most of the all the daytime activities St. John has to offer. We don't want to stay up until 2 am every night and get up at noon. Although the noise situation didn't ruin our trip, it did cast a shadow over what was supposed to be a relaxing and special time.

Of the units we stayed in (13, 7, 9, 15, 4), I cannot recommend that anyone stay in any of these units other than 4, unless you are a super heavy sleeper, hard of hearing, or a night owl that doesn't mind loud music. I would give unit 4 and 5/5 rating. We could not hear the music in Unit 4. If the Beach Bar loses its license to play live music until 2am, then all of the units we stayed in would have been great, and would get a 5/5 as well. But as long as they are playing live music until 2am, then it is not worth it to me. The main thing I want to do in my room is sleep, and if I can't do that, then what I am paying for really?

I have thought long and hard about whether to submit this review. On the one hand, I want to forget the negative experience I had at Gallows Point. It was just so disappointing. I looked forward to this trip for awhile, and then was let down. However, I think people who are new to the resort and who are booking online (as we were), need to know this information in order to make an educated decision about if they want to stay here, and if so, which unit to choose. I sincerely doubt we will be back, but if we are, it will be to stay in 4.

Room Tip: Bldg 4 was the only one I would be willing to stay in again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
41 Thank MegHTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

In 1993 my wife and I honeymooned in St John, spending the first week at Gallows Point and the second week at Caneel Bay. Back then we wished we had stayed at Gallows Point the whole time. 20 years (and four kids) later we came back to Gallows Point this week for a slightly delayed 20th anniversary trip. I'm typing this on the balcony of unit 4D, ocean-side looking over toward St John. It's out last peaceful morning before heading back to a wonderful and chaotic life.
We could not be happier with our choice. The unit was clean and up-to-date. The staff was friendly, and the view is as spectacular as it was 20 years ago. It was a perfect getaway.
If you stay here, take advantage of the bar at sunset. The view is outstanding. The snorkeling was great here, and I can testify that they really do have a "pet" barracuda under the diving platform! He's been hanging out there peacefully for at least the past two days.
We will be back, but we won't wait 20 years for the next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rtgazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leverett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The condos and the grounds are beautifully designed and maintained, and the living areas are spacious and comfortable. We were delighted with all aspects of the property. The condo/hotel blend worked extremely well.

Room Tip: Some guests reported that the rooms on the north side (toward town) can be noisy if there is some lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sagegreen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We loved Gallows Point Resort! The view from 5D is drop dead gorgeous. I loved hearing the waves breaking 20 feet from our balcony day and night. The snorkeling at the point and nearby Frank's Bay is awesome. So much life under the sea.

Our unit was well appointed. The combo of a condo with hotel daily service is perfect. Most of the other guests we talked to were staying several weeks, which makes sense as it is an easy place to live. The 5 minute walk to Cruz Bay is super convenient. We enjoyed the Reef Bay hike, Trunk and Cinnamon Bays, boating and lots of fantastic restaurants. The only nits are the concierge was a bit overwhelmed and while she made our dinner reservations, she never let us know we were set or that she gave us a different time than we requested. Also, the outside cleaners could be a little more thorough. We had a used Qtip on the steps to our unit for the entire week.

We enjoyed the relatively new Ocean 362 restaurant. The chef subtlely infused Indian cuisine and it was wonderful.

We will definitely return to Gallows Point Resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cablechar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
8.0 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Property: Gallows Point Resort
Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp and Odigeo so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing