We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Week at Gallows Point”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We rented a one bedroom unit that included a kitchen. Our living room/kitchen overlooked a small grassy yard and the sea. Three of the walls had multiple louvred doors, so that we never needed air conditioning, with just left the louvres open, so we had constant pleasant breeze and the sounds of the waves and birds at all times.
The whole property is beautifully landscaped and maintained with a variety of trees and shrubs.
Our stay was peaceful, and the other guests were pleasant. The desk provided towels and beach chairs. I am very pleased with our stay here.
We enjoyed the food at the restaurant here better than at any of the many restaurants we tried. Many of the dishes had a suggestion of Southeast Asian seasoning. I like the mahi and for appetizers the pulled pork dumplings, tuna tartare, prosciuto with poached figs, and a squid bruchetta.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank SuzyQ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

We just returned from our 3 night stay at Gallows Point. This is our second time staying at the resort ( last time 2005). Apparently, all of the rooms have been remodeled and updated since our last stay. This time we stayed in room 11C. The rooms were beautifully updated... big neutral colored tile floors, granite counter tops in kitchen and both bathrooms, lot's of natural light from the windows, comfortable beds, big glass enclosed walk in shower, etc... You could hear the sounds of the boats in the harbor. The landscaping around the resort is still very lush and serene. We used the convenient store on the premises to rent snorkel gear, purchase lunch, and buy souvenirs. Without a doubt this is the best place to stay on Saint John. It is so close to everything that you never need to rent a jeep. Almost forgot, I did see a turtle while snorkeling of the small beach at Gallows Point. Someone told me that there is a resident barracuda named "Frank" who is frequently sited under the diving platform. Unfortunately, I didn't have the chance to meet his acquaintance :>)

Room Tip: 11C on the harbor. You can hear boats in the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Positives - Great location, beautifully landscaped, full kitchen, wonderful pool with an ocean view.
Not so positives - Housekeeping was not good (the shower was never cleaned the week we were there, as far as we could tell), rooms on the bay side were noisy (live music at the Beach Bar until midnight was very intrusive), no fitness center.
Gallows Point Resort has a big "Wow!" factor. The facility itself is gorgeous. Unfortunately, it doesn't quite live up to its promise. The big sticking point, from our perspective was the housekeeping. After a couple days, we complained about the shower and they did show up to clean it -- perfectly timed to coincide with my wife using the shower. Didn't offer to come back at a more convenient time and, as far as we could tell, never did. If you stay at Gallows Pt., I would recommend paying extra for an ocean view room, unless you are a night owl and/or a heavy sleeper. We are neither, and found the music from the Beach Bar (~1/4 mile away) plenty annoying. For a facility in this price range, I'd also like to see a gym. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. It just could have been better, and for the price, should have been.

Room Tip: The harbor views are lovely, but if you want quiet, get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cycledude921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

After extensive research via trip advisor, we agree with all the great reviews of Gallows Point. We were in 10B for 5 nights. The harbor boat motor noise took a few nights to adapt to, but with earplugs and busy days not a problem. Loved the spacious bathroom and the balcony overlooking the water. We loved the short walk to town for meals and drinks. Also enjoyed the sunset from the bar at Oceans 362, and the meal was enjoyable at the bar as well. We hope to return!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ozzydog_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I couldn't have picked a better place for our vacation in St. John . The location was perfect . We absolutely loved it . We stayed in 8D and it was great . We did not rent a car , but walked everywhere and took the taxis when needed . Snorkeling was great fun. Quiet location but close to town . Truly the best of both worlds .

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank beachbumsmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at Gallows Point on March 11, 2014 for a one night stay. This resort is very exotic with beautiful tropical plants. In my view, Gallows Point is a much better place than the Ritz Carlton in Maui, Hawaii.

The staff take pride in their work. It was a magical trip with lots of relaxation.

We definitely recommend it to couple who want a quiet romantic getaway.

The new restaurant Ocean 362 is a bonus as you don't have to drive anywhere, take a taxi....You can just walk to the restaurant on the property and walk back to your room. The food is also excellent global/local with a hint of warm spices. The service was awesome. I recommend it highly to everyone with an open mind.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We always have a wonderful week at Gallows Point. We have been visiting for well over a decade and are never disappointed. The staff is wonderful, the views are stunning, and the new restaurant Ocean 362 is extraordinary. In fact, the dinner at Ocean 362 was so fabulous that we had dinner there two nights. The lobster risotto and lamb chops were fabulous as was the duck confit. Chef Ramish Pilai is a culinary wizard. He combines exceptional flavors with magnificent presentations.
Ocean 362 is a treasure.

Room Tip: Views are fantastic from all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
498 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
477 reviews
10.8 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,816 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range: £235 - £553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing