We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Choice on St. John”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Great Choice on St. John”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is really more of a 4.5 than a 4 - I couldn't pull the trigger on the 5 for a couple of minor reasons, but it was close.

Gallows Point is located on a small hill near the heart of Cruz Bay. It is convenient to everything in town. You actually notice the resort off to your right as you're taking the ferry in from Red Hook. The grounds are impeccably maintained, and our unit (2A) was in great shape. Very nice, with a small living area, kitchenette, king bedroom and bathroom with a gigantic shower. Even cable TV with HBO (not that you need that when the weather's good down there). We also had a patio overlooking the ocean with a brilliant view of St. Thomas and a weird screened porch off the back of the bedroom (very dark and strange, so we didn't really use it - I think it was under the stairs).

I've read reviews about lack of cleanliness/no towel service. We did not experience any of this. Housekeeping was efficient, polite and generous with the beach and shower towels. The resort also provided free backpack beach chairs for day trips to other area beaches (a must in St. John). So the grounds and the room were great.

The pool has a beautiful view and a nice hot tub but it is very very small and becomes crowded with even a few guests - please note that the resort discourages children under 5 and I only saw 1 child and a few teenagers during my stay. The pool is too small to be a blast for the kiddos and the vibe is 100% about relaxing. The resort also has an artificial beach area (Note - there is no beach at this resort but there is a rocky coast with very good snorkeling) and some decking with chairs in the sun or shade - great for watching the sunset. Bring your bug spray as the mosquitoes were terrible all over the island this trip. My stomach looks like a connect-the-dots puzzle as they got up under my swimsuit where I hadn't sprayed (along with my armpit). It was brutal. The pool scene could be greatly improved with a public bathroom to prevent trudging all the way back to a unit when nature calls. Barmaid service on site would also be nice. Each unit provides a cooler so you can pack drinks/snacks but sometimes being waited on is part of the resort experience.

Also, other reviewers have said this, but if you want quiet pay extra for ocean side as bay side can be loud, and we did have some thumping base even ocean side when I was trying to sleep the night before I participated in the Friends Power Swim.

The restaurant on site is no longer Zozos (moved to Caneel) but Ocean 362 and it is fabulous. Great ceviche and the chef made me a vegetarian entree as there wasn't one on the menu (gave me two choices). The wines by the glass list is so-so, but this is typical for USVI. Our server was friendly.

The Gallows Point shop on the property is also great - they have a bit of this and a bit of that but most of the essentials and some souvenirs. They let you run a tab during your stay and the staff is extremely friendly. I got some really pretty larimar jewelry in the shop at a very fair price compared to what I saw on the island. The remainder of the hotel staff ranged from very nice to polite, but we didn't encounter any unfriendliness - although they do cater to the unit owners more than guests.

So all in all a great experience with just minor complaints of loud music one night, small pool. I would definitely stay here again. I can't decide if I liked Gallows or Caneel better, as they are just completely different experiences. Gallows is definitely more casual but very nice. (Mute point for me, as next time I will probably have to travel with my kids and stay at the Westin anyway!) Also, the resort gave a nice price break to swimmers participating in the beach to beach power swim, which was very nice and supportive of the community.

Room Tip: Choose an oceanfront rather than bayfront room to avoid noise from the harbor at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taraehd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    141
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
155
513
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
knoxville, tn
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I am a repeat customer of Gallows and have yet to stay in a unit there that didn't exceed my expectations. Since the renovations of the units they are beautifully designed and all are furnished exquisitely. You will not be disappointed with this development - even with the prices. The views from virtually every unit are spectacular. And the location is perfect. You can walk to everything in Cruz Bay and get a car to go the beaches when you want. My family loves to have a day or two to just enjoy the grounds, pool and deck at Gallows. It's so quiet there and everything is so beautiful outside. The front desk staff can be aloof, but are always helpful.

Room Tip: Upper units have better views - both harbor and ocean. Lower units are also nice and some have elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We spent 5 nights at Gallows Point for our anniversary. We stayed harbor side in 12b. You could hear boat traffic and music from the beach bars, but you're on vacation, no problem. It wasn't loud enough to be bothersome. The random roosters crowing on the grounds in the morning were louder but still not a problem. Location is great for walking down the hill into town for restaurants/bars, shopping, or to catch a cab to the beaches or hike from the park headquarters. Our unit seems to have been partially upgraded. All stainless appliances in the kitchen, updated huge tile shower in the bath, living room and bedroom not updated, but adequate. Store onsite was good for snacks but more expensive than the market just 5 minute walk away. Wi-fi is very spotty (on vacation but still need to be reachable). Pool was clean but small. Plenty of bug repellant is needed - the no-see-ums are viscious. Lots of iguanas roaming the grounds and trees.

Room Tip: Harbor side 12b was partially updated with nice evening breezes to keep cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HikerGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Was looking for a reasonable place to stay in the Virgin Islands for a couple of days. This was great. Extremely convenient. We could walk anywhere we wanted in town. Rooms were clean and shower was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MuchTravelledSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Having stayed many times at gallows.. We love it, staff is friendly and helpful. Grounds beautiful, pool needs work 3b is a great location but hardly a gold unit, broken bedroom door, mismatched bedding, bedroom furniture needs update with broken drawers and no luggage racks as do televisions., very very small and snowy picture. Yes we will go back but to a better unit at these prices we expect just a little more

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus, ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Although Gallows Point lacks the luxury and amenities of what we consider five star resorts, we really enjoyed staying at GP. The service is excellent and location perfect. We initially reserved suite 8C, an ocean view upper (reserved through Suite St. John, 10% AAA discount). The accommodations were certainly satisfactory. We enjoyed St. John and GP so much that we stayed an extra day. We were moved without fuss to 7D. This suite appears to have been recently updated, is very attractive, and highly recommended. All Oceanside suites have their own furnished deck with beautiful views of sunsets and the lights of St.Thomas in the evening Yes, you can hear music from the Beach Bar until about midnight, but less so on the ocean side. Although GP lacks a sandy beach of its' own, the North Shore beaches are easily accessible by a hike (Lind Point Trail to Solomon, Honeymoon, and Caneel), short cab ride ( $5 pp one way to Caneel) or some combination of the two ( one day we hiked to Caneel and took a cab back to GP). As many others have mentioned, GP is in a great location, just a 5 min. walk to Cruz Bay bars, restaurants, grocery stores, and shopping. GP Gourmet and Gifts is a small shop on property providing snacks, drinks and sandwiches making it easy to fill up your cooler (provided in your room) and head out to the beach. The store even sells those little underwater cameras that are great for snorkeling. They will also help you schedule activities. Our favorite restaurant was the Banana Deck. Open air, good food, fun staff. Other restaurants included the Fish Trap, Lime Inn, Rhumb Lines, all good. St.John has a laid back island vibe and there are lots of activities. We did rent a jeep one day to explore the North Shore beaches (Trunk Bay our favorite). If you go, consider that the beach parking areas are small and fill up quickly. Definitely go in the morning. We also rented a motorized dinghy to buzz the same beaches and snorkel. On departing, allow about one and one half hours for ferry trip, cab ride, airport customs and security. Although passports are not required, having one does speed up the process (plus you will need a passport if you plan to visit the BVI). Simply put. GP is our kind of place. We are very much looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thomas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Gallows Point is paradise. True, it's expensive and the service can be a little wobbly, but this is the Carribbean. Leave your expectations at the door and relax in an incredible setting. My favourite hotel in the Carribbean. I have been four times and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
124 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
3.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
461 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Property: Gallows Point Resort
Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing