We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainbows End”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Battery Hill Condominiums
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was our first time visiting St. John. The whole island is paradise! Rainbows End has wonderful views, convenient to town with cute shops and restaurants. Great private deck, with a great view! Cable, wi-fi, cooler and beach chairs, what more could you want? We spent four hours a day at the beaches. Our favorite beach was Maho and Trunk Bay. Rent a Jeep because the entire island is beautiful and you don't want to miss seeing anything.

Room Tip: Choose Rainbows End you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

We vacationed Feb.2013 with our two boys ages 5 & 9. We had a fanatastic time. The view was perfect, the breeze was consistent and cooling. There were some updates in the kitchen (granite counters, appliances etc) that made it very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped along with coolers and other conveniences. A more comfortable couch and chairs would be nice. The walk to town is quick. Yes it's steep but for an active family it's totally fine. The information left at the house was very useful and the number of beach towels and linens was perfect. We stayed for 10 days and only did laundry (located on first level) once. We own a vacation rental business on Cape Cod so we know the rental business very well and we appreciated this rental very much. The WIFI is spotty too. We will be back when we go to St. John again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We booked our condo through VRBO and Sea Grape was great. The condo was very clean and updated. It had AC units in bedrooms and one in kitchen so we stayed cool when needed. The condo has been updated and the owners were great to deal with. It was a short walk to town (couple hills but not too bad) and the area is very nice. Pleasant walk to town. I would definitely come back to this condo again and would recommend it to others. The views overlooking Cruz bay was very good.


It does overlook the wharfside village area where there are bands playing on weekend, It was loud on the patio so be aware of that. when we were inside with windows closed we were not disturbed by it (and I enjoy music so it was good for me). If you were wanting a quiet evening on the patio it would not be ideal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

we stayed in cruz bay for our first time in st. john and really wish we had stayed on the other side of the island. our condominium was clean but the furnishings and bedding are in need of updating. the pillows were stained and the couch was old and needed to be cleaned or replaced. the condo was fully stocked with everything you would need for the kitchen and we did end up cooking a bit during our stay. mosquitoes are a problem in st. john but seemed even worse in our unit. we got bit more in there than while we were out. the screen needed to be replaced as it was torn so you couldn't leave the sliding door open or the mosquitoes would come in. another thing, the air conditioning didn't seem to adequately cool off the kitchen and living room areas. if we ever did return to st. john we would definitely try staying on coral bay. the noise/music from cruz bay at night can be heard from battery hill and some people may not mind that- and it wasn't actually too bad if a good band was playing. but one thing we could not stand were the roosters crowing, not even with the sunrise but at 4 in the morning!!. it is in close vicinity to the local stores so if you wouldn't have to worry about parking if you just walked.

on the positive side, the staff was excellent. our flight got in really late and our greeter arranged to get our rental car keys from the agency so we at least could have our car when we arrived. our greeter also was very friendly and gave us some great information on where to go and how to get around. there is also an binder provided by the cimarron with a lot of helpful information. there is one washer and dryer on the premises and there is no charge to use it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed in Palm Breezes, the top floor of one of the Battery Hill buildings in October. I would recommend it to any of my friends.
It is a well kept, but not spotless unit with a great view over Cruz Bay. If you are looking for the Ritz, keep looking. The place is clean enough forums and we are fairly particular.
We were not bothered by the nighttime music from town as we slept with the A/C units on. It was still pretty hot and humid when we visited.
The kitchen was well equipped with all typical home appliances in good repair. The unit's one full bathroom was average. The master was private. The loft sold our family of 5 due to there being two twin beds and a double up there. We thought the A/C worked fine. The balcony space and view were great.
The location is very nice for the view, but the walk back from town is a 15 minute workout. You can take Hill St. down into town and be at Woody's in 5 min. But coming back you'd think it's mountain climbing. With little kids it is a push. The 'long way' around Bay St. is more gentle and a good way to walk off dinner, but not easy either.
The owners and on-site management were very friendly and helpful. I would think this is the best unit in the place. The parking lot there is nice. And having the pool to cool off in after a day at the beach is actually really nice! Major bonus for our kids.
It is easy to get a taxi up to the condo and get around the island.
If I were going to find a different place next time, I would try 'Grand Bay'? Right down the hill from us. The view would be OK but the walk home would be much easier.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IowaTraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed here with our kids. The unit was a two bedroom with huge terrace overlooking the bay and Cruz Bay town. While the unit was a bit worn, it was clean and well stocked. The mgt company was very helpful and there was a lovely welcome pkg in the unit when we arrived. We found the unit a little dark which seemed odd. There should be more light. We loved walking to town although the hike up the hill coming home might be hard for some. There is a small, cold pool. Our biggest complaint was the noise. Yikes. Music out of Cruz Bay all night, and the idling ferries took away from what we want in an idyllic setting. It was satifactory but I would look elsewhere next time to escape the racket.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luv2TravelNJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We've been visiting St. John for 15 years and last year stayed at Sand Dollar twice - once in November, once in February. Battery Hill is not a high-class resort, but Sand Dollar was a very comfortable two-bedroom, one-bath condo with a living room/dining area and covered patio overlooking Cruz Bay, ideal for one couple, two singles, or a family with two young kids (the second bedroom is small). Tropical breezes, sun deck with pool, but the big bonus was the ability to leave the Jeep at the condo and walk into town, since parking is virtually non-existent there. Condo galley kitchen is adequate for cooking, dozens of restaurants are a 5-min walk away. Evenings you can hear the music downtown or retreat to the bedroom where the AC drowns it out. On both visits we only saw a few other guests in the complex, making our stays private and relaxing. The owner and the property manager were great. For the price, it's a great value!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank JanC106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cruz Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Hill Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Hill Condominiums

Address: Frangipani Lane | Of Route 105, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range: £107 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Battery Hill Condominiums Hotel Cruz Bay
Battery Hill Condominiums St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing