We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Garden By the Sea!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden by the Sea B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay at Garden By the Sea!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

First, John and Nancy were terrific. Very knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful! They have thought of everything to make their guests' time on St John wonderful, and have great tips about all the area's attractions. Great location if you want a short (hilly!) walk into Cruz Bay. Delicious home-made breakfasts, great outdoor showers, we definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCAMPANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
166
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was a great place to stay. The location was suburb . Just far enough away from Cruz bay to make it quiet and peaceful but still an easy walk to the centre. The location also meant spectacular views from our room . The really special part about staying here was the hospitality of John and Nancy. They made breakfast the best meal of the day; they gave great advice and tips on where to go and what to do and provided so many things, from sun screen and bug spray to maps and flashlights. I was traveling with a friend who had to spend time working on the island and John and Nancy made an extra effort to make sure I had a good time while I was by myself; even sharing their evening meal with me one night. I highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
278 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Hard to do anything but say that all of the compliments that others have offered are true.

John & Nancy are wonderful hosts (They are the owners and are there about 5 months of the year and have other caretakers for the rest of the year.) Breakfasts are tasty and imaginative. Location is very convenient. (FYI - The location shown on Google Maps is not accurate.)

We stayed in the Terrace Room. It was terrific.

Room Tip: Terrace room is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolnRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Our stay at the Garden By The Sea was the perfect oasis for us in a long overdue vacation. On the short list of what stood out to us and made our stay a lasting memory are: the genuineness of Mickey and Frank and the quiet and comfortable rhythms of the day set at Garden By The Sea- starting with a delicious breakfast on the veranda, daily smoothies made for us, helpful guidance about what we might like to do each day, and a lovely friendly small place where we could meet and connect with other travelers.

Garden By The Sea is pretty much a perfect place from which to venture out and get to know the beauty of St. John.

St. John is hilly, so be prepared for that if you are walking into town to get a taxi for your excursions. We actually loved that daily walk since it more than helped balance the eating that we did!

Room Tip: We loved the Terrace Room for its comfortable size and privacy as the only room on the second floor.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rcbwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
265 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Writing this review a little late, like almost a year! The wife and I stayed here for the second time in April 2012. It was just as we remembered although there was a new host with Peter and his wife. Same great breakfasts and coffee, beautiful setting just set back enough where you feel you're in the jungle but close enough to walk into town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clarkvara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Our hosts, Mickey and Frank, made our nine-night stay the perfect vacation on St. John. The rooms are well appointed with a caribbean flair, and they are absolutely spotless. Frank made wonderful breakfasts; my personal favorite was Eggs Benedict, but the piña colada French Toast and everything else was equally as yummy. We enjoyed talking to Mickey, and she shared many things about the island and the things surrounding the Garden by the Sea. I would love to visit again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MexicoMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The B&B was a welcome change from our first four nights at a resort on St. Thomas. Upon arrival, one of our hosts, Frank, greeted us and said, "Welcome home." This pretty much sums up how we felt throughout our stay. Frank and Mickey were delightfully warm, knowledgeable, and sweet. We felt truly at home at Garden by the Sea, and hope to visit again. In addition to chatting with the hosts as a great way to pass time, they were both ready with suggestions and lessons learned from their time on the island. As if the stay couldn't be better, Frank's cooking was a great way to start every day. With only a 15 minute walk into town, we really couldn't more highly recommend Garden by the Sea.

Room Tip: The open air showers in the 2 lower rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.3 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden by the Sea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden by the Sea B&B

Property: Garden by the Sea B&B
Address: PO Box 37 | Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831-0037, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden by the Sea B&B is the quintessential Caribbean home: bright, colorful walls; local art and paintings; gingerbread trim; lush gardens with coconut and banana trees; & nesting birds, iguanas, and peacocks. We are located in the heart of Estate Contant and Enighed – a funky little neighborhood within walking distance of Cruz Bay and 1 ½ blocks from Frank Bay Beach. Your hosts have lived on St. John for over 12 years and are very familiar with the island and the national park and are very willing to help plan your daily activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden By The Sea Hotel Cruz Bay
Garden By The Sea Bed And Breakfast
Garden By The Sea B&B St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing