We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a winner!”
Review of Ocean Grill

Ocean Grill
Ranked #21 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Ocean Grill takes tremendous pride in consistently delivering to you a delicious and personal dining experience - contemporary cuisine with a casually elegant tropical flair - upscale, innovative dishes emphasizing clean, crisp, fresh ingredients without being fussy or heavy. Casual by day and white tablecloth tropical chic by night, within a stone walled courtyard, built in traditional Danish style plantation architecture, visitors & locals alike give rave reviews for our inspired lunch and dinner menus.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Definitely a winner!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We tried Ocean Grill on the recommendation of the Westin concierge and were not disappointed. We arrived near 7pm, on a Saturday, with no reservation, and were promptly seated at one of the best tables. They had an excellent choice of appetizers, we had a couple of dark & stormy's and then wine by the glass that paired well with the entrees.

Good service, un-rushed atmosphere, open air with nice low profile fans. Would definitely return though there are several other worthy establishments.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    300
    74
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection...that's the only title that seems fitting!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We just got home from STJ and are ate at Ocean Grill two of our 6 nights. We nearly are there a third night, but had to visit our other STJ favorite since it was our last night.

Everything, and I do mean everything, was perfect! The food (from the appetizers to the desserts and drinks) was amazing, the atmosphere was perfect for a upscale casual, but still laid back Caribbean feel and the staff were phenomenol!

I have absolutely nothing negative to say or critiques to offer!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Foodies”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The innovation of each menu delivered just as much oomph as the made-from-scratch food itself. We treasure dining experiences, chefs tasting menus, and once the dessert menu hit us with a "chocolate" side and a "not chocolate" side we were won over by Ocean Grill. The recommended wine pairing with our fresh catch innovations was right on. Move over Key West and the oft-touted local favorite Morgan's Mango because Pattie throws down a classic Graham cracker crust key lime pie with ginger for just enough of a unique flair. Decadent Chocolate Spring Rolls and Vietnamese Coffee home made ice cream merged a nutty depth of dark chocolate crunch with a smooth refreshing shot of icy Joe. Winner!

Helpful?
Thank MichaelNJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious meals, laid back atmosphere, friendly staff”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

There are many fantastic restaurants in St. John - but the Ocean Grille is not to be missed. In fact, it will likely become, as it did for us, a regular stop while staying on the island. Every dish is consistently well prepared and full of amazing flavor. Some of our favorites are the Mahi Mahi and the Tuna. We also recommend the Wahoo when it is offered as a special. On our most recent trip I was looking for a lighter meal so our waitress suggested the vegetable stir fry. Wow! Just when you thought a dish like that would be basic - the chef prepared something so good I wanted to lick the plate! You just can't get a bad meal here. Additionally, the service can't be beat. The owner has been there almost every time we've visited... always courteous and accommodating - seating customers and checking to make sure the meals are well received. And the wait staff always has a smile and a great recommendation when you find yourself struggling to choose between all of the tempting selections. Unpretentious and laid back yet refined this restaurant is perfect for a date night or just a quick bite after a day on the beach.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sugarmags07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I wish I could give more than 5 stars. The food was incredible. Beautifully plated! Great flavor combinations! Soooooo tasty! Generous sizes! Our server was Diane and she was beyond nice. We came in a group of 8 which can be challenging but Diane kept all our food orders straight, everything came out on time, and the drinks kept coming. This restaurant is a gem!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 61liac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing