We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good BBQ sauce”
Review of Candi's Barbecue

Candi's Barbecue
Ranked #30 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: It is really a small shack type place but has the most amazing bbq i have had in the carribean. please contact me with any Q's.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,741 reviews
1,088 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,502 helpful votes
“Good BBQ sauce”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This place is good, one of the best bbq in the island. It was voted as the best in 2013. The sauce is great but I have to say the meat could be better. I think the issue is that they don't leave it long enough. In the US there is much much better BBQ, but for the islands this is fine.
The sides are pretty good, especially the rice and the plantains (some of the best in the island IMO).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    40
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
180 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A gem with real flavor”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Frankly, many other restaurants in Cruz Bay have pretty bland food, and it seems to be difficult to find real Caribbean flavors. But Candi's gave us what we were looking for. We got the chicken and ribs platter, rice and peas, cole slaw and fried plantains. We ate every last bit of all of it and wished we had room for more. These were the flavors we had been looking for! And the cooks and other workers were very friendly.
I knew the first time we drove by Candi's that my husband would want to go there. It's practically a shack and is almost lost among the industrial businesses that surround it. It's just the kind of locals place that we like to find. The reviews on TripAdvisor convinced us to give it a try and we were so happy.
While Candi's is located along the road, you don't really have a sense of that while sitting at their tables eating their food. While we were there, some locals were playing dominoes at a table, smacking their dominoes on the table with each move. It was just so perfect.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CentennialLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Comfort Food - Amazing BBQ!!!!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Great Local Spot - almost a roadside stand. What it lacks in a fancy setting, it makes up for with lip smacking BBQ. My wife and I really enjoyed interacting with the lady that prepared the food as well. They call it the "come-back" sauce - and it has us wanting to come back!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eldon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent streetside food”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

just before you get to the Starfish market, this small restaurant with just a couple of tables cooks to order great food, we will stop here everytime we come to St john. If you see it you'll love it there.Can't miss and enjoy talking with Candi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSW37601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just average.”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We went to Candi's solely based on the great Tripadvisor reviews. We ordered the 1/2 chicken with fries and pasta salad. The bbq sauce was great - tangy and sweet. The chicken itself was very average - lots of dark meat. The fries were cold, and the pasta salad wasn't the best. Everything was edible, but just average. Maybe the ribs are better, but the chicken is nothing special.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xtopheralan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Candi's Barbecue also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Candi's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing