We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurray for Happy Hour!”
Review of Spyglass - CLOSED

Spyglass
Price range: US$15 - US$49
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Spyglass Restaurant Dining with a View. Lunch 11am-3pm Sunset Happy Hour 3pm-6pm Dinner 5pm-til. Enjoy a creative menu and phenomenal view from Spyglass restaurant. Come in for a casual lunch and watch the boats sail by. Want to see the best sunsets on St. John? Happy hour at Spyglass is the place to be. At dinner, enjoy the tranquility of the waves crashing below and the twinkling lights of St. Thomas in the distance. Spyglass Dining with a VIEW! Enjoy.
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hurray for Happy Hour!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Our scuba guid suggested we try the fish tacos and wings during happy hour (3-6 pm). Great advice as the fish filets were large and crunchy and the ginger-teriyaki wings were yummy. Beer was very reasonably priced and the view is fabulous. We left full and happy and with some money left in our wallet!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    112
    33
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great meal and view”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We've been to St. John many times, but our first visit to Spyglass. We got all appetizers (mussels, tuna, coconut shrimp, salad) and everything was terrific. The pieces of tuna were big and delicious and the sauce for that and the shrimp was yummy. Ask if you don't see a wine you want. The one I picked wasn't on their menu and they let me taste two first. There is plenty on the menu to pick from. We may go back for Thanksgiving, because they'll be serving a traditional turkey dinner in addition to their regular menu. Great view and food...we will definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank urlucky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AWESOME PLACE, VIEW & ESPECIALLY PEOPLE”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

After traveling to St. John over 15 times, it was time to stop and visit this little piece of paradise. Cool breezes, great bartenders, Great Happy Hour from 3-6 EVERY DAY. My friend and I spent our last 4 days/nights at the Spyglass and had a fabulous time. Ellie, Mona, Mattie & Marcus will make you feel like you are at home but in a much better atmosphere! Stop in and tell them Angie from Pittsburgh said HELLO!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Last Year Was Much Better”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Not sure what happened, maybe just an off night. Went for happy hour and fish tacos plus wings. View was great, good music playing, wait staff was good, but food was cold and nothing like we remembered from last year (we loved the fish tacos and couldnt wait to eat here again....). The owner, however, is always wonderful to see.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy Hour fun”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Located on the second level beachside you get a great view. We only had the chance to visit for happy hour one day and enjoyed it very much. Special half price apps were delicious and service was great to boot.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kanuk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spyglass also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing