We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and comfort in VRBO Aonani Villa”
Review of Grande Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grande Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent location and comfort in VRBO Aonani Villa”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We booked a 5 night stay in a studio suite at the Grande Bay Resort directly through a property manager and had a wonderful experience from beginning to end. Our oceanfront room was spacious and comfortable for the two of us, though because we had such wonderful weather and were so close to the heart of St. John, we spent very little time at the resort.

Its location is hard to beat as it is right in the middle of Cruz Bay, literally just around the bend from the passenger ferry. We loved being within blocks of so many restaurants, shops, and bars, as well as the taxi stand for the times we chose to travel out to various beaches. This location is also within a short walk to the Dolphin Market where you can pick up any groceries or toiletries and sundries you need for your stay (about 2-3 blocks away). Our room had a full bathroom, small efficiency kitchen, full washer and dryer, large closet with coolers and beach chairs, a living room area and an exposed bedroom that lead to the balcony. The balcony overlooked a small street that got very little traffic and 10 yards further your toes are in the water with a view of all the sailboats in the harbor.

The pool was great; uncrowded, with plenty of lounge chairs, and an excellent view of Cruz Bay. There is a Keurig coffee maker with complimentary coffee available each morning in the concierge lounge. And FREE ICE...You can stop in at the front desk and they will fill your cooler with free ice. We did not learn this until our last day.

My only complaint about this resort was that our room had a weird light in the ceiling air conditioning vent near the entrance door that stayed on all the time. So if you like the A/C on at night like we do, you may have a little extra night light in your room too. There seemed to be no way to avoid this and our property manager said they have been working on it. Maybe it is only a problem in the studio rooms.

The location and value of Grande Bay Resort were exactly what we were looking for and I will definitely return to the Grande Bay Resort.

Room Tip: Try to get an oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank skishell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    47
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
91
134
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We booked a one bedroom condo, on Grande Bay's website, for five nights. Well before we ever arrived, I was in direct contact with the staff, who were unfailingly helpful. It was obvious that they intended for us to have the best stay possible at their property. They say that a good ship can only be run by a good captain- Paul Helson, the general manager at Grande Bay, is that guy. He obviously loves what he's doing, and everybody else on the staff is the same way. When we showed up at the ferry dock in STJ at 3:30pm, after being up since 4:00am, we had some miles on us by then. James came to pick us up, even though it's only a five minute walk to the resort. Then he passed us off to Paul, who took us to our unit (even insisted on carrying the bags), then Paul made sure that we were provisioned with some basic supplies, in a very unexpected way- lets just say that we didn't have to walk to the market, or get a cab back. The unit was pristine and comfortable, and since Paul upgraded us to a penthouse unit in the Surfside building, we had three different outside areas in the unit to choose from during the afternoon, to kick back. They handled everything for us- dinner reservations, jeep rental, water taxi and ground transportation for our early AM flight out of STT.

The location is perfect- five minute walk to any good restaurant or bar that you might want to go to, right on the bay, plus garage parking for your rental vehicle. That's important in Cruz Bay, because there is no place to park in town, and you will want a jeep to really go out and experience St John, beyond the tourist places.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatGBR, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
I am glad we exceeded your expectations and all of us look forward to having you back many more times. Thank you for the wonderful feedback that I have already shared with the entire staff.
Your "captain" and driver,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Grande Bay Resort did not disappoint. Great location in Cruz Bay, walking distance to the ferry port, shops and restaurants. The staff knew our names and were expecting us. The general manager even gave us a ride to a local restaurant when we asked for help calling a taxi. The studio suite was well appointed with a comfortable bed and linens, a mini kitchen (with microwave, small refrigerator, plates, glasses, and cutlery), safe, and balcony. The pool deck offers great views of the bay and nearby islands. Now that I am spoiled, I would not consider staying anywhere else on St. John. Thanks to Paul, James & Joe for everything!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gardeninggreekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatGBR, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Thank you for your review and it was fun "spoiling" you during your stay. I look forward to many more opportunities to do so again!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, Maryland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We have stayed at Grande Bay twice and are headed back again this fall. The resort is only a few years old so everything is still quite new. The properties are individually owned so the furnishing will vary from unit to unit, both of the properties that we have stayed in were very nice and fully equiped for a day at the beach. My favorite part of Grande Bay is the location, your just minutes from the Cruz Bay restaurants, shopping, the Ferry and the Taxi's. No need to rent a car while staying at Grande Bay. We have stayed at several condo properties on St John and none compare.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GRB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We needed some downtime after a busy summer before school started back up. The Grande Bay resort met all our expectations and more. This beautiful resort is brand new, had great spacious rooms and was perfectly furnished. The materials and finishes are all very high end. All rooms look directly out onto Cruz Bay and are an easy 100 yard walk into town for restaurants and shopping. The pool and hot tub were great with a large sun deck for catching the rays. The fitness center had nice gear and those same Cruz Bay views.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, offering coolers, beach chairs and extra fluffy beach towels for our daily Jeep trecks into the beaches of the National Park. Even when Tropical Storm Irene paid us a visit the staff helped to ensure we had a good experience. Joe, James, everyone had a smile and aimed to please.

We found the property to be very quiet and peaceful despite the nearby bustle from town. If I had any cons, they would be that some pastries would go well with morning coffee and we did have some ant issues (to be fair we had the same ant issue at the Ritz on St Thomas as well. Twas ant season I suppose).

Gorgeous resort. One of our favorites anywhere in the Caribbean. We will definitely choose Grande Bay Resort for our next St John visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScottBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatGBR, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
I am glad Irene did not "dampen" your experience with us! I always share these reviews with my associates and I thank you for your kind words about Joe and James. Not sure we have an ant season but they do seem to appear with the rain so we will aggressively treat the room.
As for pastries with the morning coffee...good idea! I promise next time you return I will personally ensure they are available!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

There is no other place to stay than grand bay!! The property is gorgeous! Units are new, spacious, gorgeous views, and fabulous sunsets! The staff is amazing and very professional. They go out of their way to make you feel at home.
Plus it's close to "downtown". You can walk to everything! Or take a taxi to anywhere you want to go! A+ in my opinion. It's my second trip and I will be back! Thank you grand bay for all you do! LOVE IT!!!

Room Tip: Grand bay is right off the boat. How can you not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hfishburn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatGBR, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Thank you for your post and it was our pleasure to have you here! I hear the third time is a "real charm" and the fourth and the fifth...hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Just returned from my third stay at Grande Bay Resort and it was just as great as the previous times. These villas are really beautifully done and quite comfortable. The staff is quite pleasant and very informative on excursions, restaurant recommendations, etc. I think the location right in Cruz Bay is fantastic with all of the shops and restaurant choices just a short stroll away.

Room Tip: Rent directly from the on-site company.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MT_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
124 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
844 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
706 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Bay Resort

Property: Grande Bay Resort
Address: Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club is situated hillside overlooking Cruz Bay on St. John in the US Virgin Islands. Set near Wharfside Village, this St. John condominium resort overlooks the emerald and blue waters of Cruz Bay and St. Thomas to the east and the British Virgin Islands to the west. Offering nightly rentals (min. 2 nights) and fractional ownership opportunities in the heart of "Love City". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grande Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Bay Hotel Cruz Bay
Grande Bay Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing