We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“getting ready for our 3rd trip”
Review of Grande Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grande Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“getting ready for our 3rd trip”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Perfect Location and All that you need! We rented the 5 Penthouse through VRBO and couldn't be happier. We come back to this location annually bc it is simply the best! It is nestled in Cruz Bay within walking distance of everything. 5PH has all the ammenities and is the loveliest view. They have 3 porches and its perfect for entertaining. There are several trails within walking distance and several lovely beaches within a short walk. With many great restaurants lingering within a quarter mile, you can't go wrong. They have a gym and pool that overlooks Cruz Bay. It has never been too crowded and allows the resort feel...without the resort price tag. ENJOY!

Room Tip: Go to VRBO and click in Grand Bay Resort. Jackie owns 3 condos and she has been the best owner to wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    45
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
129
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We recently spent a week in a two bedroom unit (1 br + studio) on the first floor at Grande Bay. I specifically wanted a location that was within walking distance of Cruz Bay restaurants so the location was perfect. We rented a car to explore the island by day so it was great that Grande Bay also provided parking. The personnel at the reception desk were very friendly and helpful and provided us with transportation to/from the dock, beach chairs, coolers with ice, and a sunset reservation at Zozo's. The units were clean, modern, and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromAway74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatGBR, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us! It is always a pleasure to hear that guests enjoyed the services and associates here at the property. On behalf of your friends here at Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club thank you again and hurry back!
Kind regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln park, mi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Let me start this by saying this property is not for everyone! There has been much ado about this property violating zoning laws and generally being an eyesore on the St John waterfront. Having said this, there are a few other properties that were started and never completed on St John. Sirenusa and Pond Bay among them. At least this one was completed! We have enjoyed our 3 stays here. If you like walking to town convenience and very new facilities, this might very well suit your needs. There is a pool and hot tub, gym and a very helpful concierge desk in the office. We loved the views and the convenience to town which it is just steps away from. They also have a parking garage. All of the units are a litle bit different to suit your needs and number of guests. The kitchens all have new stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. All that we have seen are well appointed. You could definitely go a few days without a rental vehicle easily here. We are "Cruz Bay people" and enjoy not having to drive to town for dinner, shopping or in general "pubbing". If you need more privacy or are "Coral Bay peeps", this is probably not for you :) We will absolutely stay at this property again. We love Jackie Funt's property listed on VRBO.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We rented directly through VRBO for a stay this past week. Loved the interior, at-home amenities, and location. However, be forewarned that there is new construction nextdoor that can impede your view and not look the same as pictures or youtube videos an owner has posted because their pics/videos are outdated. Our unit had a youtube video posted that had a clear, unobstructed view of the ferry dock area, but I will attach a picture of our view when looking towards the ferry dock. Unit was booked about a month prior, and I asked if pictures were accurate because I had read some owners don't show highlines in the lower buildings (this was an upper building we were in). We will rent again at Grande Bay, but closer to the pool area so not hearing construction noise during the day or looking at a wall. (This was our fifth time to visit St John, first time to stay at Grande Bay.)

Room Tip: Look for CURRENT pictures when renting a unit as new construction obstructs views
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv_2_Travel_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

We had a unit on the first floor closest to Cruz Bay. It was so incredibly convenient to walk down one flight of stairs and be at the restaurants, or at the water sports or scuba diving boat. Grounds were very well kept. Units seemed relatively new, so everything was nice quality. Covered parking also a plus. Would definitely come back to the same location next time.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank deezy456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at Grande Bay Feb 25th-March 3rd. It was our first time to visit the island of St.John and we fell in love with it! Leading up to our trip I worked directly with Colby Thompson who was utterly fantastic! He was extremely helpful with coordinating our arrival, various activities & reservations throughout the week. All of his suggestions were stellar and our favorite restaurants were Zozo's & this cute little Italian restaurant Da Livio. We also highly recommend renting a private boat for the day. Colby arranged for us to go out with Copeland Charters who were incredible!

We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit on the 3rd floor. We had a great view of Cruz Bay. We were also celebrating our anniversary which we let Colby know and he surprised us with a bottle of champagne one night! He really took care of us during our stay! We cannot wait to come back very soon!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatGBR, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear KBANJ,
Nothing like "love at fist sight" and we are all happy that you enjoyed your first trip and anniversary here at Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club! I have passed a copy of your review along to Colby and I couldn't agree more that he is "fantastic". Same time next year?
Kind regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I have stayed other places on St. John but I liked Grande Bay Resort the best because the room was exceptionally clean and quiet. Everything was perfectly maintained and the staff was cheerful and helpful. The front desk staff had excellent knowledge of the island from restaurants, hiking trails to secluded beaches and snorkeling areas. I enjoyed walking to the town of Cruz Bay. I could see the cruise ships, yachts and ferries from my veranda. It was very relaxing and safe.
I walked to the post office and the National Park Museum.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfectly situated to enjoy the tremendous views. The whole resort is modern and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Bay Resort

Property: Grande Bay Resort
Address: Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club is situated hillside overlooking Cruz Bay on St. John in the US Virgin Islands. Set near Wharfside Village, this St. John condominium resort overlooks the emerald and blue waters of Cruz Bay and St. Thomas to the east and the British Virgin Islands to the west. Offering nightly rentals (min. 2 nights) and fractional ownership opportunities in the heart of "Love City". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grande Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Bay Hotel Cruz Bay
Grande Bay Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing