We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grande Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We went with my daughter, son in law and 3 granddaughters. Laurie Crandall was the real estate manager who we dealt with... My wife and I are mid 50’s; the three granddaughters are 3, 2 and 5 months. The accommodations were beautiful. Clean, modern and perfectly laid out for our family. Laurie was great. Met our family from the ferry, even though we arrived at different times. The location was convenient and perfect. We had an issue with the dish washer one night (probably my fault) and it was taken care of within 24 hours. I travel a lot for work and found this accommodations top notch. I cannot over recommend this place. Beautiful view, great service and Laurie Crandall were the best. 2 minute walk to the taxi’s that will take you to beautiful beaches. Pool was clean and well maintained but why goes to a pool when you can go to some of the most beautiful beaches in the world. We ate one night at Café Roma – Italian, excellent, my wife is Italian and her family owns a restaurant in the US. The food was excellent. We went to Lime Inn and had an excellent meal also. One Armed Richie (no disrespect) owns the Lime Inn and is an excellent Restaurateur. Trust me I am a very critical guest; I travel 20 to 30 times a year in the US. Great trip, my complaint would be that St John is logistically difficult to get to (planes with transfers, taxi and ferry) but, as in life, it’s a journey not a destination. I will never forget the trip, my family time, the accommodations and the beautiful island of St John. Well done Laurie Crandall and Grand Bay resorts.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ersaco60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    43
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
127
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I cannot say more than what was already expressed from previous reviews of Grande Bay Resort. We stayed at GBR early May and have not stopped telling family/friends about the helpful staff and the well-maintained property. Our stay was memorable, thanks to the comfortable units and a very accommodating group of people. I had the pleasure of dealing with Dawn, Megan, Dee, Coby and Rita, all of whom were friendly and willing to help with any requests or questions I had about St. John. Everyday from dusk to dawn the view from our 1 bdrm balcony of the Bay was picturesque. The resort is ideal for those that are looking for a GREAT location combined with a peaceful/laid back atmosphere. We were within walking distance to all of the shopping, restaurants, and bars that Cruz Bay has to offer. Having free access to wireless internet from our room is a BIG plus and of course the morning coffee located at the main building.

We also enjoyed a couple of nites of happy hour at MOTU Bar adjacent to GBR. It had more of an upscale lounge feel, which we felt was unique from the other bars we saw in Cruz Bay. It was well managed, reasonably priced, and had a good range of cocktails...a good way to wind down after a full day of exploring St. John.

If you are adventurous and athletic like us, you can cover 8 different beaches using the island's public transportation combined with many miles of hiking. Although the public bus is unreliable, as long as you aren't in a rush to get anywhere, you can cover a lot of different beaches asking the bus driver to drop you off at various hiking trails that will lead you to the beaches. However, the trails range from 2 to 3 miles one way, so be sure you are prepared to walk the long distance and bring plenty of water and snacks as hiking in the hot weather can be rough if you are not conditioned for it. Be sure to call the Vitran bus dispatch before you plan your day, because during our time in St. John, one of the two buses that run daily was not in service, so we had to plan for long waits.

Overall, GBR is a great resort, the many beaches on St. John are by far the best beaches in the Caribbean because the beaches are protected. Observed sea turtles, sting rays, deer and wild donkeys at various places.

We hope to be back at GBR and see Dawn, Megan and the rest of the staff again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pokey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatGBR, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Pokey01
Wow, I was exhausted just reading all that you did in the time you were here! I am very pleased to pass along your comments regarding our great people here at Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club. They are our true assests and I am privileged to work with them. Glad you had a good time and we all look forward to your return.
Kind Regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Location, location, location. Great views of beautiful Cruz Bay and just a short walk from restaurants, shops, taxis and 20 yards from Low Key dive shop. Staff was great. The property is perfectly manicured and equipped with everything you need and expect. The rooms are very attractive, bed comfortable, bath facilities large enough. We were a group of two couples in a 2 bedroom suite and had the privacy we needed but also a large comfortable common area. Couldn't recommend highly enough, beyond what we had expected.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We had the best experience at Grande Bay! Our condo was right in town, we only rode a cab once to Cinnamon Bay. Right in the heart of town-within walking distance to all the restaurants! Paul and Dawn were so helpful! Paul gave us great advice on restaurants and Dawn helped us secure a spot on Bad Kitty- trip to BVI's-highly recommend! Condo was clean and spacious with great views! Fitness Center had everything I needed, including coffee to my sleeping husband every morning. Rented a dinghy right outside and took to all the phenomenal beaches. Stopped every day ay the Beachbar for our Bushwacker to end our day. I highly suggest staying here over an overpriced resort- you will really experience St. John! I just got back- and like my title suggests, ready to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatGBR, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Karen S,
We miss you too and don't worry I will make sure the Bushwacker's are "tested" at least once a week until you both return! Thank you for the positive comments and hurry back!
Cheers,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Perfect Location and All that you need! We rented the 5 Penthouse through VRBO and couldn't be happier. We come back to this location annually bc it is simply the best! It is nestled in Cruz Bay within walking distance of everything. 5PH has all the ammenities and is the loveliest view. They have 3 porches and its perfect for entertaining. There are several trails within walking distance and several lovely beaches within a short walk. With many great restaurants lingering within a quarter mile, you can't go wrong. They have a gym and pool that overlooks Cruz Bay. It has never been too crowded and allows the resort feel...without the resort price tag. ENJOY!

Room Tip: Go to VRBO and click in Grand Bay Resort. Jackie owns 3 condos and she has been the best owner to wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We recently spent a week in a two bedroom unit (1 br + studio) on the first floor at Grande Bay. I specifically wanted a location that was within walking distance of Cruz Bay restaurants so the location was perfect. We rented a car to explore the island by day so it was great that Grande Bay also provided parking. The personnel at the reception desk were very friendly and helpful and provided us with transportation to/from the dock, beach chairs, coolers with ice, and a sunset reservation at Zozo's. The units were clean, modern, and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromAway74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatGBR, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us! It is always a pleasure to hear that guests enjoyed the services and associates here at the property. On behalf of your friends here at Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club thank you again and hurry back!
Kind regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln park, mi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Let me start this by saying this property is not for everyone! There has been much ado about this property violating zoning laws and generally being an eyesore on the St John waterfront. Having said this, there are a few other properties that were started and never completed on St John. Sirenusa and Pond Bay among them. At least this one was completed! We have enjoyed our 3 stays here. If you like walking to town convenience and very new facilities, this might very well suit your needs. There is a pool and hot tub, gym and a very helpful concierge desk in the office. We loved the views and the convenience to town which it is just steps away from. They also have a parking garage. All of the units are a litle bit different to suit your needs and number of guests. The kitchens all have new stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. All that we have seen are well appointed. You could definitely go a few days without a rental vehicle easily here. We are "Cruz Bay people" and enjoy not having to drive to town for dinner, shopping or in general "pubbing". If you need more privacy or are "Coral Bay peeps", this is probably not for you :) We will absolutely stay at this property again. We love Jackie Funt's property listed on VRBO.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Bay Resort

Property: Grande Bay Resort
Address: Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club is situated hillside overlooking Cruz Bay on St. John in the US Virgin Islands. Set near Wharfside Village, this St. John condominium resort overlooks the emerald and blue waters of Cruz Bay and St. Thomas to the east and the British Virgin Islands to the west. Offering nightly rentals (min. 2 nights) and fractional ownership opportunities in the heart of "Love City". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grande Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Bay Hotel Cruz Bay
Grande Bay Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing