We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location near heart of Cruz Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grande Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grande Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location near heart of Cruz Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in a studio condo for 2 nights before our villa rental became available. This is our 6th trip to St. John and I was pleasantly surprised by this resort. The location is terrific and the views of the harbor and its constant activity were entertaining...no need for the TV ;-).
The staff were very helpful. The pool, parking spot, and all other amenities are added bonuses. We booked our unit through the resort. Our condo was new, clean, and in the back building on the 3rd floor. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The lower building has obstructed views of numerous power lines. The higher, the better for the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jody_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Jody_T,
I am glad to read that you found the room booked through the on site resort management to your liking. The resort does have a lot of amenities and the location cannot be beat. However, it is our staff that makes the difference and I am pleased to see that you found them helpful. All of us look forward to visit number "7" hopefully soon!
Regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    44
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
88
128
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Level Contributor
198 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

This was our fourth stay at Grande Bay and the resort itself is 5*. We rented through VRBO and our unit was just ok, but we got a good rate. We had a 1 BR unit in the lower building B202. Upon arrival the unit had a funky mildew smell that made all our clothes smell. The villa also had a very sparsely equipped kitchen and mismatched dishes. We have a ski condo so I'm pretty understanding about rental condos but this one needs a little help. The bed was great and as almost everyone writes the location is the BEST. Parking garage can be tricky but it's a huge bonus. Will definitely return to Grande Bay; just to a different unit.

TIPS: I was leery staying in the front building but the location was great right off the water. We only had the 1BR side and the lockout studio unit was rented to what sounded like a bunch of kids the last few days we were there. They were really loud and sound really traveled underneath the lockout door that connects units. You could hear every word they said. If they had been there the whole week I would have been very unhappy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbmWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

My Husband and I stayed in a lovely one bedroom condo in Grande Bay (rented from a private owner on Flipkey) for our first trip to St. John. We really loved the location of Grande Bay and that you could very easily walk to all the restaurants, bars, and shops in town from here, but it was also very quiet in our room. The condos here are recently built and have really nice updated kitchens (granite and stainless steel) and bathrooms.

We stayed in a unit on the second floor of the upper building, and had a great view of Cruz Bay, and loved watching all the boats come in and out.

The hot tub and pool deck is really nice as well (although we spent most of our time at the beaches, but it was nice to take a dip in the hot tub in the evening).

All the staff that we encountered were very nice as well.

We did rent a jeep, and I would recommend renting a jeep, so that you could get out and explore the island, but technically staying here, you wouldn't need to, as you can take a hike (about 30-40 minutes) to two beaches, and take a taxi to several of the North Shore Beaches as well.

Overall, it was a great stay, and I would highly recommend it for anyone coming to St. John who wants to stay in town to experience all the great restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: The views from the upper floors and the upper building were great. Some of the units in the lower b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank orchid6510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I highly suggest you stay at Grande Bay. The staff (John, Danielle, Dawn and Colby) is absolutely amazing, the amenities are exceptional. The resort is incredible and within walking distance to everything. They have a pool, gym, and even a coffee room.
The rooms are the best on the island. Even has a washer/dryer. The views from the patio will instantly relax you.
This should be your top vacation destination! I highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear JesseS:
I "highly recommend" that you come back! Thank you so much for the wonderful and complimentary review. I am indeed privileged to work with such a talented group of people! Location is something you have but caring and helpfulness has to come from within and to borrow a commercial phrase "These guys are good"!!
Kind regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

My friend and I spent a week at Grande Bay towards the end of May and we had a most relaxing vacation. The location was amazing, the amenities more than expected, the entire staff so friendly and looking to help in any way they could and the resort itself was clean, comfortable and so close to everything. We are hoping to be able to go back in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms as they all have views of the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Sheila C,
We have the best "timeshare ever" because we have the best visitors like yourself! I am always pleased to read how our staff has assisted in making guests time with us more memorable and enjoyable.
Thank you and hurry back..."Paradise is Waiting".
Sincerely,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

My fiance and I just returned from a week and a half at Grande Bay. It was absolutely perfect! We were on the top floor had a fabulous view of Cruz Bay and our own parking spot in the garage. They gave us a bottle of rum and koozies as a welcome gift which was really nice. The amenities were great. The pool and rooftop deck was beautiful. The whole building faces Cruz Bay so no matter what you did you had a view. Our room was a studio apartment. It was very clean and had more than we needed. Our bathroom was clean we had a washer and dryer and the bed was very comfortable. We loved they gave beach chairs and towels and coolers to us. We would fill them with ice every morning to keep lunch and waters cool and hit the beach. The staff was very helpful with directions and recommending good beaches and snorkeling spots. The location was perfect! We walked to happy hours and dinners and shopping everyday. If we ever forgot anything it was a minute walk to the room. Our room was very quiet the grounds were beautiful and well kept and the AC was awesome. We were very sad on our last day checking out. We could not imagine staying anywhere else on St John when we come back next year. We have already recommended it to our friends and know we WILL be back next year. Thank you for helping to make this our most memorable vacation!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandLife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Julie L,
Thank you so much for choosing Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club to celebrate your honeymoon at! That is a very special stay and I am happy to hear you enjoyed all that our location and resort have to offer. We were also "sad" on your last day and it was a pleasure having you here...same time next year for the anniversary??
Thank you,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Grande Bay does a wonderful job of giving you a great stay, lots of amenities, great views, and a great location. Everyone on staff does a wonderful job at making you feel at home and comfortable during your stay. We have stayed at several resorts on the island and at Grande Bay several times. This is definitely our favorite. You can rent Jeeps from them now. Great place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoubleD29662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear DoubleD29662,
I know you "hated to leave" but on the bright side you have to "leave to come back" as we say here in the islands! Glad to see we are now your favorite on St. John.
Come back soon mon!
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Bay Resort

Property: Grande Bay Resort
Address: Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club is situated hillside overlooking Cruz Bay on St. John in the US Virgin Islands. Set near Wharfside Village, this St. John condominium resort overlooks the emerald and blue waters of Cruz Bay and St. Thomas to the east and the British Virgin Islands to the west. Offering nightly rentals (min. 2 nights) and fractional ownership opportunities in the heart of "Love City". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grande Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Bay Hotel Cruz Bay
Grande Bay Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing