We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and very spacious”
Review of Grande Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grande Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing location and very spacious”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I went on a trip with my husband and another couple, we booked the one bedroom connected to the studio. This was more then enough space for 4 people. We had our own separate balconies, sitting space and large bedrooms with decent bathrooms. The view from the decks is amazing, on a clear day you can see St. Thomas. The location of this place is what sold me, some have said that since it is so close to town it's noisy, I did not find that to be a problem and I am a light sleeper. It was great to be so close to town and be able to walk to all the shops and restaurants. We rented through Crandall on St. John and Laurie and her husband were great. In addition we rented a jeep through them...which is a must because the beaches are a 10-15 minute drive from town. Overall it was a great place to stay and I would go back there again!

Room Tip: The higher floors have the better view of the ocean (we were on the third floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alig678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    45
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
129
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

What a spot! What a resort! The property is exceptional - clean, spacious, quiet and the proximity to town is an added bonus, but, what really separates Grande Bay Resort apart from any other property on the island are the people - from Paul, Dawn and John to Marvin - simply put they are honest, hard working, good people. We look forward to returning to Grande Bay next year and every other year for the foreseeable future!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grateful828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Grateful828,
Wow, thank you so much for the personal review of our wonderful associates! I have shared your kind words with all here and rest assured...for the foreseeable future we will be here!
Sincerely,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from a week at the Grande Bay Resort and could not be happier with our choice. The location is perfect - right in town and with a beautiful view of the bay. The room was incredible with modern accents and the staff was extremely helpful and were some of the friendliest people I have ever encountered at a hotel. What a week in paradise! Thank you to the team at the Grande Bay!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hansellvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Hansellvania,
On behalf of "team Grande Bay" you are welcome and thank you for taking the tile to write such a nice review. Paradise awaits your return!
Cheers,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My family stayed at Grande Bay the week of February 11th in a one bedroom 2 bath suite. The suite was new and beautiful. The room was immaculate and clean. Thank you housekeeping! Everyone at the hotel did their best to make our stay comfortable. The jeep rental on site was so convenient and easy. We had beach chairs for the week and a cooler that we just left in the jeep. I liked how the hotel doesn't have the signing in and out of towels for the beach which gets so old when you are on vacation. Thanks for a wonderful week.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmom555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Travelmom555,
You are most welcome, and so happy the family had a great stay at the property! While a car is not necessary on the island having our onsite own Jeep Rentals has allowed us to enhance many guests vacations. I agree with you that the days of signing in and out towels is "old" and we will never implement this policy here.
Come back soon!
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We were in the 2 bedroom penthouse suite and was fantastic, immaculately clean, spacious, well stocked, comfortable beds & linens,perfect views. The kitchen had every appliance needed and washer/ dryer with deter beg supplied as were the k cups for the Keurig coffee maker.
The resort pool is rather small & shaded most of the day, which was a bit surprising. The location of this resort is perfect, you walk into to town for dinner and to,Mongoose Junction area also. We can not to return next year!!! Great Staff!,,,

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear 714,
Perfect room - perfect location and...perfect guests! Sounds like a winning combination to me and I am glad you enjoyed your stay on St. John. You were one of the first guests to experience our new rooms and I am thrilled you enjoyed the extra little amenities. Our pool is small that is true but the location in town, as you said, does make up for this.
Until the next time,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

This resort is so amazing. The staff go out of their way to help. The island of St John sells itself but staying here just made it that much better. You couldn't ask for a better location! Just a short walk to the restaurants. Walk down the street or step out onto the beach right in front of the resort!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank medic147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Medic147,
Very nice of you to acknowledge the "absolutely" best part of our property...the amazing staff! We are fortunate to have fun guests like yourself that make our jobs so much easier.
Kind regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We found this condo rental on VRBO. This was our first vacation with our 8 month old and very generously my wife's parents came along to add more hands. They are both in their 70's and the accommodations proved to be excellent for all of us. We booked a connected studio and one bedroom and we were a short walk from the lobby elevator on the third floor. We were close to the pool area and had a parking spot included which made coming and going quite easy. Even though the resort is situated on a hill there was always an elevator to avoid too many steps with the stroller or the grandparents. The actual rooms were in good shape, clean but not meticulously clean. We noticed that units were in need of a deep clean. Washer and Dryer in both units helped immensely and there were detergent pods included which was nice. Dishwasher in the one bedroom made snacking and light cooking very easy. View of Cruz Bay is just awesome and the proximity to all dining and shops cannot be beat. You are a five to ten minute walk to just about all in Cruz Bay. We rented a car to get to the beaches daily and spent some time in Coral Bay as well. Overall we loved the experience and the units were stocked with games, movies, snorkeling equipment, beach chairs and coolers. We would definitely consider this resort again, keep in mind they are actively trying to get people to invest at all levels so don't be surprised if you are approached by in house sales. We used Island Baby to rent all of our baby needs (high chair, crib, stroller, beach toys, bath) and they drop off everything beforehand and collect all after you leave, this was a great convenience too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Bay Resort

Property: Grande Bay Resort
Address: Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club is situated hillside overlooking Cruz Bay on St. John in the US Virgin Islands. Set near Wharfside Village, this St. John condominium resort overlooks the emerald and blue waters of Cruz Bay and St. Thomas to the east and the British Virgin Islands to the west. Offering nightly rentals (min. 2 nights) and fractional ownership opportunities in the heart of "Love City". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grande Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Bay Hotel Cruz Bay
Grande Bay Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing