We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On The Way Up From The Past” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Ridge Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Ridge Villas
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“On The Way Up From The Past”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Back when SRV was privately owned it was a joke. We have a timeshare in unit F and we would have to bring our own tools to fix the place. Now that Cimmeron has taken over managment, roofs have been repaired, interiors refurnished, floors retiled, and units repainted. An unfortunate casualty of the Cimmeron takeover was the loss of the plunge pools between the units, but the large main pool between units C and B is still there. Sunset Ridge continues to improve with every visit now that Cimmeron has taken over. The views of St. Thomas from the pool deck at Sunset, and equally stunning views of the Caribbean Sea from each of the units can't be beat anywhere on the island.

Room Tip: No units have A/C, but they all have windows facing the ocean, so wind isn't a problem. Units A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We just spent a week at Sunset Ridge, and had a great time. It had been three years since we were last at Sunset Ridge and were very happy with the upgrades. New mattresses, kitchen cabinets / fixtures, indoor & outdoor furniture, as well as the beach chairs, towels, and coolers were all appreciated. The view from our villa was unbelievable, and we watched the best sunsets on the Island every night.
The management company has done a great job, and we're sure the improvements will continue.

Aside from the villa, we enjoyed our days at Francis Bay, Maho Bay, and Salt Pond Bay, and some of our favorite dinners were at La Tapa, Asolare, Fatty Crab, and Joe's BBQ.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan24NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We were fortunate to be able to return to Sunset Ridge Villas again in November. Great time of year to be there. Just before the season begins - warm weather and water, less people and local business gearing up for the season.
NO MORE plunge pools. Courtyards are more open and the main pool is great let along the REALLY big pool - provide by nature. Villas continue to improve, what a change from 2007.
Hope you also enjoy!

Room Tip: All six units are fine. Very quiet and private. Perfect for two couples with two building and common...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjpman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaire, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

The view is amazing and where else can you stay with a group of 7 and not be crowded. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They provided, a welcome package, (loved the rum), beach towels, chairs, coolers & everything else you can imagine. The only thing it needs to be equipped with is bug spray. The no-seeums are terrible! Just remember there is no air-conditioning in the units but they do have ceiling fans and box fans. I would recommend this place to anyone who has a large group traveling with them as long as you don't mind getting back to the simple things in life. Also found "Hawksnest Beach" to be the best as far as snorkeling, many different coral areas. We snorkeled all beaches and this was absolutely the best for viewing a variety of fish. Also found Iguanas bar to have the best grouper fingers!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

St John (SJ) is a unique type of island that steals your heart. I have been to many islands from Bahamas to Grenada but fell in love with SJ. If you are middle class & on a budget and don't have to stay at The Ritz - Sunset Ridge is a great place to stay. It's affordable, clean & they are doing upgrades all the time. Little no-seeums, and other little bugs do live all over SJ. I have never had bugs in my dresser, bags and there have been curtains on windows. The furniture is not the very best - but unless you want to pay Westin or Caneel Bay prices - then you look past the furniture. It's clean. We bought 2 weeks at SRV and we love it. The owners are continually doing upgrades & it has come along way. I would recommend it to anyone. I will say there is not a/c. But the breezes & fans at night keep you cool. And we are not there anyway - we are at the beaches, in town - out having fun. The poll looked liked it had been scraped & repainted and I saw no animal feces.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LinDav55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We are back at Sunset Ridge Villa for two weeks in May. The view is the best. With just six units it is very peacful and friendly. Water and weather is warm and less people. Great time to be back on St John.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pjpman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We returned to Sunset Ridge (4/28-5/5) after several years to find that the new management company has done a terrific job in renovating the villas and property. Where else can you find a 2 building villa with pool and outstanding views for a reasonable price?! The units are clean and spacious. Beach chairs and towels are provided. Foliage has been cut back to allow outstanding views. Unit E offers a panoramic view from the Westin west to St Thomas.
No need for air conditioning. There is always a breeze on the hill.
The beaches are all beautiful. Our favorites are Maho Bay and Francis Bay.
The restaurants in Cruz Bay can be expensive. The best deal is Joe's for BBQ ribs - eat there or take out.
We will go back next year!

Room Tip: Units A and F are least favorites. Units B and C overlook the pool. Unit E has widest ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chacunasongout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.0 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Ridge Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Ridge Villas

Property: Sunset Ridge Villas
Address: | 1-F Estate Bethany, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Cruz Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Ridge Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop Sunset Ridge on beautiful St. John in the U.S. Virgin Islands, are 6 lovely and quiet personal villas that take full advantage of their hilltop locale. The villas provide you with commanding views 180 degrees to the west. In the evening after a beautiful sunset, watch the lights of St Thomas flicker on or during the day watch the inter island traffic in Pillsbury Sound. But don't just take our word for it, view our video on the previous page. Each unit consists of two buildings with a private courtyard between them. On one side of the courtyard is the great house containing a fully equipped kitchen, dining and living rooms with a half bath and sleeping arrangements for 2 or 4 up stairs with a with a full bath. A fold out couch is available on the main floor to expand the possibilities for accommodations. A private master suite with a full bath is across the courtyard. The master suites are now air-conditioned for an additional fee. Televisions are in both the great house and master suite and each unit is equipped with its' own grill in the private courtyard. In addition there is a large 20' x 40' community pool with spectacular views of Cruz Bay, Pillsbury Sound and St. Thomas to the south and west. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Ridge Villas St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing