We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location, amazing hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at the Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel for 4 nights in April. We booked room # 7, which is the penthouse and were delighted with it. It was clean, comfortable, spacious and had great cooking facilities, although we didn't use them as eating out was very affordable. The hosts are just wonderful - so helpful and informative and go the extra mile to make sure your stay is as pleasant as possible.

Breakfast was provided in the form of delicious fresh pastries, fruit, yogurt, tea, coffee ,etc. While we were there we met a young couple who had celebrated their honeymoon at the hotel and had returned for their first wedding anniversary - that speaks volumes. Denise and David, the owners, make you feel so welcome and are full of useful and helpful advice - they really did make our stay much more enjoyable.

This is a smal, intimate establishment in a great central location with the most wonderful hosts you could even encounter. A great place to stay on St John. We did hire a car and travel round the island which is absolutely beautiful, but felt that we'd made the right decision in staying in Cruz Bay as it had far more in the way of options for dining. We also went on the 'Bad Kitty' sailing excursion which takes in Virgin Gorda and Jost Van Dyke and had the most wonderful day - well worth it.

We absolutely loved our stay on St John and hope to some day return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsj15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I just returned from a far-too-short visit to St. John where we celebrated my 40th birthday! The first part of our trip - we "roughed" it :) at the Concordia Eco-preserve in Coral bay (see review!) and had planned to spend the last two nights of our vacation in Cruz bay so that we could be close to town, bars, restaurants and North Shore beaches.

We arrived and were immediately greeted by a very friendly and helpful Denise. In seconds, we were all set and in our room! Unfortunately, a few minutes later Denise returned to inform us that we had actually only reserved the room for one night. OOPS! The hotel did not have availability for the following evening, so I started to panic as I know that reasonable, clean and convenient hotel options are few & far between in Cruz Bay. Denise assured us not-to-worry, that she would find something for us. In less than 5 minutes, she returned to let us know that she had found a great little studio/loft right in Cruz Bay for the same price! Being a bit picky... she shared online-photos and assured us that it was up to par. I am certain we would never have been able to locate and secure this property on our own, so we are most grateful for her prompt assistance. THANK YOU!

The property is very nicely cared for - the rooms clean & bright and the location superb. The continental breakfast was quite lovely with various pastries, breads, fruit, oatmeal, yogurt and coffee. More than sufficient, IMO. I will also add that we were in room #4 at the back of the building with a little balcony - not much of a view, but that was a non-issue... we just liked the option of sitting outside to enjoy our coffee and breakfast. I believe another reviewer noted that the shower was small - I am not sure if there are different sizes in the other rooms, but ours was quite roomy and the water pressure was great. Also to note - we heard absolutely NO noise from the bar below.

Overall, we found this to be an adorable inn right in the heart of Cruz Bay but David and Denise are what truly make this little place a "gem." We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bethy2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We'd like to start by thanking Denise and David for a WONDERFUL honeymoon stay! The room was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was sufficient - healthy and simple with coffee and tea, fruit, baked goods, yogurt, juice. The owners were very hospitable and let us borrow beach towels daily. Their recommendations for activities: beaches, jeep rental, restaurants were spot-on. We WILL be back to stay at this lovely place.

Room Tip: We were in Room # 3, which was a bit small - it was fine for us, because who spends time in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gretchen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

It's really close from the center of Cruz Bay (actually it is a one block away from the center), very nice walk around, nice restaurants near by. It is very clean, not big, the shower it is a too small, but everything that you think that could be an issue is irrelevant by the very pleasant owners. They give to you a lot of directions and tips. If you arrive by boat, the hotel is close enough to walk and you can get some taxis to the beaches, if you arrive with car, take care about the directions, because the map is for those who arrive without car. The breakfast is good, there is no parking around the hotel but they have a public parking really close. Definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N3tto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Definitely an amazing place. Location is perfect. You can walk to everything in town and to a few of the more secluded beaches. The rooms were smaller but that was no issue for us as they were clean and big enough. Trust me, with the beautiful scenery you will be out and about most of your stay. Best of all the owners were very helpful. They gave us great directions and recommendations, when we go back they will be the first choice of hotel!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Trent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

What a wonderful place! You can walk to everything in town, no need for a car. They did a wonderful job of keeping the room clean and the breakfast was of local baked goods, fruit and cereals was just perfect. Would definitely recommend to friends! Hope to be there again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penni b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My wife and I stayed in the PentHouse of the Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel for two nights and we were very positively surprised by every single aspect of our hotel.

The apartment was very very lovely, equiped in perfect condition with a complete kitchen (new appliances), not missing a single thing for cooking and including even such things as a blender.
We have to mention that especially amazed were we here also by the cleanliness of the bed, bath and floor (we stayed in another 4 star resort on Puerto Rico after that, where we changed the room 3 times on the first day...).
The breakfast on the common terrace consisted of fruits, oatmeal, cake and coffee was the perfect start for us into an active day full of adventure on St. John.
Location? Perfectly close walking distance to the ferry dock (3 mins.) and to plenty of busy sea-side bars, nice restaurants and also the only real supermarket in town.

Overalll one can feel that the hotel is run by its owners, who do not only care a lot about the condition of their rooms, but also care personally about their guests and are always available with good reccommendations.

However, everything comes with draw-backs, e.g. if you want to jump in a pool at night go to a resort. If you search absolute tranquility in your room, you will not find that here as the neighbouring bars may play music in the evening.

Overall, this hotel is probably the best you can find in terms of Cruz Bay location, acceptable price, well equipped room and cleanliness. For us (young active traveler couple) it was an excellent choice and we can fully reccomend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FranconiaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
497 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel

Address: 74-2 Cruz Bay Town, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is an intimate accommodation made up of 10 guest rooms and one penthouse apartment suite. The hotel was completely renovated in 2010 and 2013 blending chic Miami boutique hotel decor with the more casual style of an island villa. The result is a clean, simple yet elegant venue. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Cruz Bay town's best restaurants, bars and shopping. This lively location is the perfect spot for accessing all of St. John's beaches and attractions. Just around the corner from the ferry dock (only 250 feet away), Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is the closest accommodation upon arrival to St. John. No taxi or rental car is required and there are no hills or winding roads to traverse - just stroll on over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel St. John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing