We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more rooms but still an intimate experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 April 2014

i imagine it is fairly rare to say that a hotel <actually more bed & breakfast like> has doubled in size but still has maintained its cozy intimate feel ... but Cruz Bay did just that. maybe it because the expansion was built with the owner's own hands. or maybe is just because the place exudes the comfortable casual personality of the two married owners. i was back in st. john staying in one of the new rooms last december. but maybe even better was David <one of the owners> gave me Stop the Carnival to read and it was the prefect book to read on the hotel deck in the light evening breeze. i will admit ... i also stuck it in my back pocket as i walked to Moto to see the sunset. clean comfortable relaxing place to stay within walking distance of everything downtown. i imagine i could write lots of things about Cruz Bay hotel and its owners ... but i think the only thing that matters is ... well ... i will be back there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruce m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

We needed a room for 1 night before our villa rental - this hotel was recommended by the rental agency. What a great hotel - the owner was so awesome. The room was not large - but absolutely the cleanest hotel room I've been it. Very nice continental breakfast in the morning / great balcony to sit on at night - above the activity on the street below. This was a perfect spot to begin our week on St John. I would not hesitate to come back next yr and stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkiyipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Service is incredibly friendly from start to finish. The hotel is within walking distance to everywhere in Cruz Bay. The room was very comfortable--small, but clean and well appointed. It's a great value for St John. And Denise and David were very helpful providing recommendations and even making calls for us. This will be our first-choice accommodation for every visit to St John.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Right from when we arrived to last minute, it was super friendly service. Every dollar spent on this accommodation worth it. Denise helped carry our luggage to room, explained a few things around the room, gave us several vegetarian options to eat outside and they were all exactly what she said. Room was very clean. We only went to the room to sleep and it worked well for us. Two things that we did not mind too much but worth mentioning:

- The portable AC in our room displayed a code H8 and stopped every few minutes. Since this is in center of the city, there is not many trees to keep it cool and it got pretty hot that night. I got up quite a few times all times to move the AC (it has wheels) unit a little for it to start. We'd mentioned to (I think) Denise's mom that was at the breakfast bar next morning. AC worked fine all of next night but stopped and displayed same code next morning too.

- It was very noisy Sunday night. There is a bar next door playing really loud music with people shouting (in joy? too drunk? not sure) late into the night . bothered us a bit at the beginning. Since we were tired from hiking all day, we'd slept eventually but for light sleepers that could be a problem.

- The bed was not hard enough. It was more like an air bed.

Overall, we liked the place. If we ever go back to St.John we'll be staying at Cruz bay hotel.

Tip: They get booked very soon, book early! I wish we could have stayed here for all 4 nights in St.John but only two nights were available when we booked a month before our arrival.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tr0picall0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel is great. It is in a great location. Easy walking distance to town, restaurants, bars, car rentals, and easy to get a cab. They provide a small breakfast in the mornings, fruit, tea, coffee, and bread. Very clean and the staff was great. There is no pool or fitness center. But who needs that when you have beautiful beaches everywhere. Would stay again! PS. the restaurant below it is GREAT! If you like Italian Food, please try it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natnfarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

For our second trip to St. John, my wife & I decided to stay at the Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel. And we're certainly glad we did! We were here celebrating my wife's 30th birthday and had the time of our lives.

Talk about a great little spot to lay your head at the end of a long day lounging on a beach, snorkeling with rays & turtles, hiking the miles of national park trails, and enjoying the Cruz Bay bar & restaurant scene!

CBBH, as mentioned in numerous other reviews, is "quaint" (see: small) in all aspects. Yes, the rooms are small. Yes, the showers are small. Yes, the hotel itself is small. But I don't imagine many folks are travelling to St. John, USVI to hang out in a hotel. You go to St. John to explore the natural beauty of the island, cut loose in the evenings, and then pass out on a comfortable bed...and do it all again the next day.

This B&B is perfectly situated to allow you to do this on a moderate budget. CBBH is right in the centre of all the Cruz Bay "action" and is little more than a hop, skip & jump from any of the several bars, restaurants and shops spread throughout the town.

David & Denise (fellow Canucks, though them "former" now) are both really nice people who seem genuinely happy to see to any needs or requests you may have. Though most of our conversations with them were fairly brief (there always seemed to be other guests waiting with questions), they gave us some good advice about food, beaches, and specifically about North swells coming in one of our days and which bays might be best to avoid if we were looking to do some snorkeling. It's little pieces of info like this that can really have a positive impact on your time in the islands.

The breakfasts each morning were the perfect way to start each day. Fresh-baked pastries & breads, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, coffee & tea were the typical offerings and there's a great little covered verandah to enjoy them on.

Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel doesn't knock your socks off in appearance or amenities, but in a destination like St. John and at the price point the rooms are hitting, it doesn't need to. It is the perfect home base if you're planning on spending your time on the island exploring and enjoying all that St. John has to offer. If you're looking for luxury, try Grande Bay on the other side of Wharfside Village, I hear it's beautiful. Just be prepared to pay two, three or four times the price!

Thanks to David & Denise for a great stay. We will most definitely be returning to St. John in the not-too-distant future and (barring a lotto win) will confidently choose to stay at CBBH again!

Room Tip: Room #5 has a small balcony that looks onto neighbouring buildings. There are no "ocean view&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdiosToJost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

It was my first time to St John and I happened to pick the perfect hotel. How lucky! Clean, simply decorated, and central. The key for me was the location. After walking up and down hills and relaxing at the beach all day it was so nice to not have to tackle another hill to get back to my hotel at the end of the day. Also being able to wonder the streets for a drink, shopping or dinner was a plus. If you want a place that has a water view and is secluded this is not a place for you. I had no issue with the day to day noise of the street. I did get a very nice note from the owners one afternoon telling me that the place a few doors down was having live music one night and they gave complimentary ear plugs. I turned on the air conditioner to drown out the beat and slept fine. I think it was a bigger issue for them than for me. Denise and David have thought of everything you might want to make your stay better. From beach towels to beach chairs to bug spray. Some have mentioned how small the rooms are but I found it perfect and tranquil. They will see me again soon I hope.

Room Tip: The Italian restaurant that shares the building is the best on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
9.1 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel

Address: 74-2 Cruz Bay Town, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range: £193 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is an intimate accommodation made up of 10 guest rooms and one penthouse apartment suite. The hotel was completely renovated in 2010 and 2013 blending chic Miami boutique hotel decor with the more casual style of an island villa. The result is a clean, simple yet elegant venue. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Cruz Bay town's best restaurants, bars and shopping. This lively location is the perfect spot for accessing all of St. John's beaches and attractions. Just around the corner from the ferry dock (only 250 feet away), Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is the closest accommodation upon arrival to St. John. No taxi or rental car is required and there are no hills or winding roads to traverse - just stroll on over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel St. John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing