We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll Be Back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here 4 nights around the end of May. This was our third time in St. John and our first time staying here. The location is perfect and only steps away from the ferry dock, restaurants, nightlife and grocery stores. Although our room was a bit on the small side, it was extremely clean (no sand on the floor, how do they do that?), nicely decorated and the bed and linens were very comfortable. The air conditioning worked extremely well which is important when you are hot and tired at the end of the day. The hosts were super nice and informative and will provide you with soft sided coolers and ice if you ask. The complimentary breakfast every morning was a treat. There is no pool but who cares when there are so many beaches to explore.
If you've never been to St. John the most important advice I can give is to travel light. You don't need a lot of clothes and you can wash them out in the sink if you need to. Definitely pack non-aerosol bug spray (they also provide it for you at the hotel), hydrocortisone ointment, sport sandals like Tevas, sunscreen and a hat. A backpack comes in handy and we always bring our own mask, snorkel and fins. Have fun. St. John is paradise!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank MandyBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

My boyfriend and I visited St. John in June and stayed for ten days. We were extremely lucky to have stayed in the Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel! It was absolutely perfect for us. Our room was very cute and comfortable! Our room was also made super clean every day by the time we got back from whatever adventure we had scheduled for the day. Everything about this hotel was ideal. We woke up in the morning to coffee and delicious pastries, were able to walk easily to wherever we needed to go (since it is located in the heart of Cruz Bay), and then relaxed on the very comfortable and breezy deck in the evening. Denise and David are also some of the nicest people you will ever meet. We had so many questions about the island and they always had great advice about where we should go for the day! We felt like they were our friends by the end of the trip. We were also there during Carnival and they gave us ear buds just in case we couldn't sleep! Super thoughtful! I really just cannot say enough good things about the Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel. If you are looking for somewhere to stay where you will really feel like you are going "home" each night, this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is so wonderful and we can't wait to visit again next year (have already booked our stay!) We stayed for 9 nights in Room #9. Our room was very quiet, clean, comfortable and most importantly in St. John, cool. I loved waking up early every morning to a great breakfast made up of yogurt, fresh fruit and yummy breads made at a bakery up the street.

Staying downtown Cruz Bay is so convenient and makes your visit so easy. You simply have to walk a block to catch a taxi to take you to the beach. Taxi prices to the beaches vary by distance, but usually are around $7-8 per person. We loved taking a taxi to Maho and Cinnamon Bay. We also hiked a few times from the hotel to Honeymoon beach and then had lunch at Caneel Bay.

The hikes from Cruz Bay are so much fun and many are challenging. The best was the hike Salt Pond Bay to Rams Head. We took this hike after getting a recommendation from our hosts at Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel. So happy we decided to take their advice. It was gorgeous and had a great pay off at the end.

David and Denise were such wonderful hosts and were so knowledgeable of restaurants, beaches, hikes, grocery stores and even local charity events! We attended a local event called Wagapalooza! So glad we did, it was a fun experience with all the local residents. David and Denise were always present and willing to help, thank you!

The Rooms:
Clean, comfortable, roomy, great air conditioning, very quiet, lots of hangers, good sized refrigerator/freezer and a tv with cable.

Location:
So convenient for every activity in town. The ferry is so close and catching taxis to the beach, the bus to Salt Pond, restaurants/bars/grocery stores/bakeries/delis are all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JennyJoy2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is located in the very center of Cruz Bay which made for very easy walking around the whole town. It was so easy to find from the ferry dock, no taxi needed! David and Denise were so fantastic! They were so friendly and welcoming, and had great suggestions for restaurants, activities, and shops to check out during our trip. Morning breakfast included fresh fruit (bananas, oranges, or apples), two types of breakfast breads (the mango was my favorite!), and a variety of oatmeal, yogurts, coffee/tea, and juice. The rooms are clean, a little small, but was perfect for sleeping/showering and recharging to get back to exploring the island! Rooms were stocked with shampoo and conditioner, which is a nice perk (less to pack for my next trip). There is a mini fridge with water bottles each day, hangers for clothes, a TV, ceiling fans and an AC unit that kept the room nice and cool. They have a great patio for eating breakfast or just relaxing in the evening. Also they have beach chairs/noodles that we took to the beach. Overall, I think it was a great value and I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms when we were there (due to availability), I didn't notice a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jslbelle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We just returned from a 10 day vacation in USVI. We rented a jeep at the St. Thomas airport and drove to the ferry to spend two nights on St. John. Of course it started pouring down rain while we were on the car ferry and we took a wrong turn when we attempted our drive to Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel. No worries! A quick phone call and David actually stayed on the line until we successfully arrived at the hotel. This was our first indication of the level of service we would receive the hotel. We were in Room #4 which was a great location and much larger than we expected with a small balcony. Our 14-year old son slept on a cot and there was plenty of room. We were blown away with how CLEAN this hotel is. You can tell the pride the owners take in their business. They helped us locate a lot nearby to park our jeep and we loved being able to walk to restaurants at night. Beach chairs and beach towels were provided and even ice for our cooler so that we could stop by a deli and pack a picnic lunch. The continental breakfast offerings were great to enjoy on the wonderful patio area. We were early risers and enjoyed having it to ourselves! Even though Carnival had started up with a concert down the street, we heard no noise in our room except for the hum of the air condition. Overall a great hotel experience with a personal touch. An awesome way to start our vacation!

Room Tip: Room 4 at the end of the hall was very quiet with a small balcony. Plenty of room for the cot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unionville3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel was exactly what we wanted for our trip. The hotels' close proximity to down-town in St. John was perfect (walking distance to the ferry, all the major shops/restaurants, etc.) and allowed for easy cab access to more remote parts of the island. The owners and staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, highest marks! The balcony allowed for nice relaxation out of the sun with a nice garden planted on it. Breakfast was tasty, simple, and just right (it's basically a very nice B&B). The room was clean, nicely appointed, efficient, well air-conditioned, and while some from the suburbs might find the rooms a tad small, those of us from the city found them just right (as would anyone who has traveled to the islands before). Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely book again if in St. John.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel in late May/Early June. Our stay lasted one week, and we can't wait to go back! Our family of 4 stayed in the Penthouse Suite, and it comfortably fit all of us. My son slept on the couch, and my daughter slept on the extra bed in the living room. We loved having the kitchen, we ate in a couple nights. The veranda was a perfect way to end the day, it gets a lovely breeze! Rooms and public areas were clean and tasteful. The owners were amazing! Location can't be beat! The noise isn't bad, there was a steel drum competition one night when we were there, and with the AC on in the bedroom, you could hardly hear it. One note: We rented our jeep from Conrad Sutton, which is next door, so we got to park the jeep there overnight, otherwise, parking is hard to come by in this area of town, unless you park at the Car Ferry dock, and hoof it over the hill.

Room Tip: Penthouse Suite has a kitchen, living room area, bedroom and a bathroom. Easily fits a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
496 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel

Address: 74-2 Cruz Bay Town, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is an intimate accommodation made up of 10 guest rooms and one penthouse apartment suite. The hotel was completely renovated in 2010 and 2013 blending chic Miami boutique hotel decor with the more casual style of an island villa. The result is a clean, simple yet elegant venue. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Cruz Bay town's best restaurants, bars and shopping. This lively location is the perfect spot for accessing all of St. John's beaches and attractions. Just around the corner from the ferry dock (only 250 feet away), Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel is the closest accommodation upon arrival to St. John. No taxi or rental car is required and there are no hills or winding roads to traverse - just stroll on over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel St. John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing