We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious”
Review of Sogo's Restaurant

Sogo's Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“delicious”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We loved this little restaurant. It seems very authentic, the people are ever so nice and the food was delicious! My only regret is that we discovered it too close to our departure! Hope to be back some day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    24
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had in St. John”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Really delicious, small local restaurant. My husband and I both had King fish, which was the catch of the day, and it was fabulous, as were all the sides. The restaurant itself doesn't look fancy, but don't let that stop you, the food is what you're there for. And not only was it one of the best meals we had, it was probably the most reasonably priced.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flash01034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usuki, Japan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always Welcoming, Always Delicious”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have visited this somewhat hard to find restaurant on several occasions. The staff always welcomes me with a warm smile. The food is mostly West Indian cuisine, something harder to find in the islands than it should be. Their conch in butter sauce is simply to die for, but their fresh catch and roti are also delicious. The assortment of side dishes they offer is great too. I make it a point to eat here when I visit St. John and you should too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sogos still have some of the best food on the Island to this day!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Sogos comes highly recommended hands down! Whether its for a great smoothie, mix drink, cold beer, or just a delicious plate of Island or American food, this is definitely the spot! There are all types of cuisines at Sogos from the Mahi Mahi down to the dessert, coconut Tart! Although it's a small restaurant, the quality of food is tasty and the prices are reasonable! If ever on the island, take the opportunity to visit and enjoy several meals! You will not regret it! Also, take the time to read most of the reviews, the proof of quality food is great overall! Sogos will keep you coming back for more!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blanche M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentwood, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent West Indian Cuisine”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I love Sogo's. The service is excellent and the food is tasty and authentic. Have a Ginger Beer and strike up a conversation with your server. I heard so many great St John stories when we were last there, it was a highlight of our trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sogo's Restaurant also viewed

 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sogo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing