We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, Great Music, Amazing Staff!”
Review of Barefoot Cowboy

Barefoot Cowboy
Ranked #25 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Barefoot Cowboy in Cruz Bay on the beautiful island of St. John in the USVI serves fresh cooked Texas BBQ. Smoked brisket is our specialty. We also offer ribs, chicken and pulled pork. Our sauces are made in house and all our sides are made from scratch. We are open from everyday from noon until we sell out !
bogart3
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, Great Music, Amazing Staff!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have been visiting St. John for over a decade. The 'Barefoot Cowboy Lounge' is a welcome addition to the bar and food scene here. The food is reasonable, fresh, and DELICIOUS. The drinks are cold and cheap. The staff is friendly, fun, and attentive. The live music was WONDERFUL. Don't miss this spot when you travel to St. John - it is fun, unique, and just a great all-around vibe.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bogart3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    70
    30
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Loogootee, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All you can eat”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stopped in Thursday night for the $20 all you can eat. We started off with the $2 beers during happy hour while people watching. The Pit Boss was ready at 6.00 PM and we went over and got our food. The all you can eat this night had corn on the cob, beans, BBQ chicken,pulled pork, brisket and pork loin.The local wood they use adds a distinct flavor to the Q. Everything was cooked through and it was tender and moist. You can go back for more but there was no way we could! It is a lot more food than we expected. The service was friendly and attentive, we felt like a regular from the time we sat down. It is a very laid back place decorated with a Southwest flair. Walk around the backside of the lumber yard and you will find the entrance.Great for a laid back change of pace at a good price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapper03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not bad for happy hour”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had the brisket sliders ....pretty yummy. Good happy hour prices for drinks and beer. Good sitting and people watching as well! Would recommend to check out as a happy hour spot.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank beachlover575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“$2 HH Beers”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stopped here our first night on the island for a few beers and their AYCE BBQ. Once we saw the menu we decided against the AYCE but I had the chicken with corn and beans for $14 and it was really good. My husband had brisket and pork with corn and coleslaw for $16. But best of all were the Bud and Bud Light bottles for $2. We each had a few beers and dinner and the bill was under $50 with tip. Our waitress was a sweet young girl that was from a town just 10 miles from our hometown. Funny how that happens. We highly recommend Barefoot Cowboy Lounge for very casual BBQ and Beers!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrific BBQ”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for dinner. All four of us loved our meals .If you're craving BBQ while visiting St John, this is a great place!

Helpful?
1 Thank Minnesotagirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barefoot Cowboy also viewed

 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Barefoot Cowboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing