We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal of the Trip!”
Review of Barefoot Cowboy

Barefoot Cowboy
Ranked #26 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Barefoot Cowboy in Cruz Bay on the beautiful island of St. John in the USVI serves fresh cooked Texas BBQ. Smoked brisket is our specialty. We also offer ribs, chicken and pulled pork. Our sauces are made in house and all our sides are made from scratch. We are open from everyday from noon until we sell out !
London, Kentucky
1 review
“Best Meal of the Trip!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We are here tonight and it was fantastic! We have ate at several restaurants during our visits but this one ranked high in our book! Excellent BBQ and beautiful view of the sunset! We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    70
    30
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Taste of Texas in USVI”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great vibe! Good drinks, food and music! Enjoy the great music and laid back atmosphere. Wayne is cool!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJS391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I had to go back”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

After having celebrated my Birthday here back in Nov 2012 I returned when I went to St John a year later. And again I got in on the Thurs Nt $20 all u can eat buffet. It is pretty darn good & a real bargain for the island prices usually run for just a burger & fries. It's all laid out on a table with the owner putting on your plate what ever you want. And if you get there before start time of the buffet they have drink specials "2 get you in the mood" And as for the bartenders My Fav was the pretty, sweetheart girl who happens to be shorter than I am, She is just adorable. My only complaint with the food as all & what keeps me form giving it 5/5 is the meat is too smoky for my taste & the sauce has a taste that is not what I'm used to.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbum72324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Yes, Its Texas BBQ”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We wandered by this place a few times and were enticed by the incredible BBQ aroma coming from the place. A quick look inside made us wonder if we really wanted to try it or not. The first thing you see is a pool table.

The Cloud 9 sailing folks highly recommended it, so we gave it a try. It is real Texan BBQ with brisket, pulled pork, chicken and all of the fixins'. It was Thursday night, so "all you can eat" for $20 was an option. We decided to go a little lighter and ordered off the menu, in the range of $10 to $13 for most meals. Everyone was happy with the food and the atmosphere turned out to be just fine as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ZaphodTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I had a great experience, very nice staff, fun atmosphere. The smoked meats were just too smokey. Had that ashtray taste in our mouths for the rest of the night. Overall good, but it would be nice to hold back on the smoke in the meat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adventurousinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barefoot Cowboy also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Barefoot Cowboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing