We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Sam & Jack's Deli

Sam & Jack's Deli
Ranked #4 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$14
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Portl
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wow”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Great sandwiches (huge), prepared food and really nice folks to serve you.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Willy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    132
    28
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I remember this place being much better when it opened”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I was on island when S&J's first opened. The sandwiches were inventive and large; well worth the few bucks more than Starfish downstairs. Where S&J's really shined were the togo dinners. HUGE, delicious portions, more than enough for a great dinner at home. And since most of them were less than $12, it beat any grocery store on the island. Too bad something changed and it just isn't good anymore.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Playswellwithfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Potato chips”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

You may think $2.50 a bag for home made chips is expensive but then you may not l know true value. People crave them and they sell out by lunch time. Just saying...home made potato chips.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungrytraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Sandwich”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband and I returned from a morning and afternoon of snorkeling and hiking, we starving and exhausted. We stopped in and and had sandwiches for an early dinner. They were great. I had the Sammy Hammy (Hammy sammy??) it was huge full of excellent ham and really filling. I ate half and my husband finished it as a late night snack. He had a half pound turkey where you could pick your toppings, cheese and bread. He loved it. The iced tea was brewed--not a mix. It really hit the spot for me. Hubby was able to have a beer which complemented the sandwich. He also added a giant dill pickle--one happy man. There are some nice tables outside (seem to belong to the center -not just the deli) We sat in the shade and really enjoyed our lunch.

My only complaint is that they close at 5:00 and aren't open on Sunday. I'm sure they have good reasons, but it took us three attempts before finding them open. Starfish Market is downstairs so we just kept running up the stairs and checking. Glad we found them open.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariemom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a MUST visit while on St. John!!”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This place rocks! Locally owned and the friendliest service in town. We go to St. John every year and discovering Sam and Jacks this trip was a highlight. Angie is the best! On our last day and final trip to the deli, we placed our order, got our lunch and headed to the beach....during our 4 trips to the deli, we had never mentioned our names, but told the gal behind the counter (we learned later was Angie) where we stayed, that we come every year.....anyway, our last day we placed our order, got our sandwiches and headed to the beach. Once to our destination we opened our bag with anticipation to find that our order was wrong. We ate our sandwiches anyway, and they were delicious. Later that day we returned to our villa to find a note that said "look in your fridge, we apologize for the mix up!" Can you believe they remade our original order, figured out who we were and had the sandwiches delivered to our villa!!! Wow!!! Who does that? We just cannot say enough about this deli! They have the best sandwiches around and a whole array of home made food everyday!!! This is a MUST visit on your trip to St. John! Enjoy and tell Angie Jodi and Vince sent ya!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JWilson5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam & Jack's Deli also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Sam & Jack's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing