We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts”
Review of The Lime Inn

The Lime Inn
Ranked #15 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Lime Inn restaurant is located in downtown Cruz Bay and has been a favorite between locals and visitors alike since 1984. Still owned and operated by the Meyer family (now daughter, Chelsea, and son in law, Richard) your St. John experience is not complete without a visit to our open-air, friendly, restaurant. We are known for our wonderful staff and delicious and consistent meals. Join us for our all day Happy Hour 11:30 AM to 5:30 PM, where our signature cocktails are $4 and Presidente Beers are $2. Fresh Grilled Caribbean Lobster is served daily along with our famous cracked conch, rum ribs, and house made pasta, just to name a few. You can also eat light with an awesome appetizer selection, fresh salads, and famous soups. No one can leave, either, without a taste of our famous Key Lime pie. We are open for Lunch Monday thru Saturday from 11:30 to 5, happy hour Monday thru Saturday 11:30 am-5:30 and Dinner Monday thru Saturday from 5:30 to 9:30. We look forward to seeing you!
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hosts”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Owner Rich and daughter Chelsea are wonderful hosts - always enjoy seeing them when visiting Lime Inn (and small world - Rich owned a restaurant in our home town around 30 years ago!). Although I have enjoyed fresh fish there in the past, we keep coming back for their Brie-stuffed filet mignon, which is always perfectly done (rare in our case) and very tender and tasty. And their chocolate chip walnut cookie pie is a must!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for the compliments, we have fun at our job so it makes it easy to be nice! Thanks also for the food compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    723
    308
    97
    29
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Favorite meal of the week”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The atmosphere and service is what makes this place. It is a very charming setting with a nice breeze. All the wait staff was the friendliest and most personal we met on the island. Lots of extra special attention! The hostess even brought us to meet the owners after our meal. We had the lobster which was outstanding and the frozen key lime pie-a bucket list food item! Parking isn't easy to find in the Cruz Bay area so just used a "paid" parking lot nearby.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texans112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for the review guys, it was a pleasure having you here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I liked this place”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We sat in the bar area at a high top and had good service from a gentleman. My brother and I both got the shrimp and steak and thought it was good my sister had a steak with crab in it and didn't care for it. Had the key lime pie and thought it was good. Would come back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hest0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Glad you enjoyed your meals and the key lime pie, as well as the service and ambiance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“We still love this place”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We went to the Lime Inn for all you can eat shrimp night. Before dinner we stopped for happy hour at the bar and had half price drinks. The lime in da coconut was one of our favorites...so good. The service was great, we never ran out of shrimp. The owner stopped by to check on us and make sure we were enjoying our meal. I rate this as one of our best dining experiences in Cruz Bay.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank richvabrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your time with us and love that you had a great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great food and relaxing spot”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have eaten at The Lime Inn several times over the years and this was the stop for our first exhausted dinner on our first night. We knew it was reliable and easy and we were tired. We always like coming here for the relaxing environment and great food. There was a huge banyon tree right in the middle of the bar. You sat under its foliage and watched the bartenders trip around its massive trunk, music played and you enjoyed some libations. The tree, however, is now gone. We didn't get the story as our table was ready too quickly (when have you ever said that), but that was a sad development. I don't know if it was disease or storm or just bartenders sick of its trunk, but it is disappointingly gone. The food, however, is still good. I can't remember what we ordered, most certainly a fish dish and probably a seafood pasta, but it is unmemorable only because we were tired. Awe will eat here next time, tree or no tree.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cristip_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
It seem like a tree story is in order here... the tree died. After many years of its fame and perhaps our fortune as a result of this fame, like ficus trees commonly do, it became diseased with blight. We tried to save it with cows blood, but as you can imagine the reaction to the smell wasn't wonderful. So while we miss the tree and its dedication to tripping bartenders, owner, Rich, is happy that he no longer has to clean around the giant mass. We have built a brand new bar that has many more seats, and we hope the tree looks back on its life with us as fondly as we do. See you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lime Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Lime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing