We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coquille St. John - YUMMY!!”
Review of The Lime Inn

The Lime Inn
Ranked #10 of 57 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Lime Inn restaurant is located in downtown Cruz Bay and has been a favorite between locals and visitors alike since 1984. Still owned and operated by the Meyer family (now daughter, Chelsea, and son in law, Richard) your St. John experience is not complete without a visit to our open-air, friendly, restaurant. We are known for our wonderful staff and delicious and consistent meals. Join us for our all day Happy Hour 11:30 AM to 5:30 PM, where our signature cocktails are $4 and Presidente Beers are $2. Fresh Grilled Caribbean Lobster is served daily along with our famous whole snapper, rum ribs, and house made pasta, just to name a few. You can also eat light with our appetizer selection, fresh salads, and slow cooked soups. No one can leave, either, without a taste of our famous Key Lime pie. We are open for Lunch Monday thru Saturday from 11:30 to 5, happy hour Monday thru Saturday 11:30 am-5:30 and Dinner Monday thru Saturday from 5:30 to 9:30. We look forward to seeing you!
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a wonderful and enjoyable dinner at the Lime Inn. Great casual, open air setting. We ordered the Coquille St. John; it was very good (down graded from 5 to 4 stars because the 2 of the scallops were a little gritty). However, this was a memorable dinner! The scallops were cooked to perfection; the tarragon white wine cream sauce was a perfect partner. The presentation was exceptional; it made the meal appealing from the start. Definitely a "must eat at" restaurant on St. John; we will be back! I encourage making a reservation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jocool3754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Glad you loved the coquille and your time spent with us. The scallops are wild caught, like most everything else on our menu, as a result we can't always guarantee there will be no grit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

805 - 809 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Owner Rich and daughter Chelsea are wonderful hosts - always enjoy seeing them when visiting Lime Inn (and small world - Rich owned a restaurant in our home town around 30 years ago!). Although I have enjoyed fresh fish there in the past, we keep coming back for their Brie-stuffed filet mignon, which is always perfectly done (rare in our case) and very tender and tasty. And their chocolate chip walnut cookie pie is a must!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks for the compliments, we have fun at our job so it makes it easy to be nice! Thanks also for the food compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The atmosphere and service is what makes this place. It is a very charming setting with a nice breeze. All the wait staff was the friendliest and most personal we met on the island. Lots of extra special attention! The hostess even brought us to meet the owners after our meal. We had the lobster which was outstanding and the frozen key lime pie-a bucket list food item! Parking isn't easy to find in the Cruz Bay area so just used a "paid" parking lot nearby.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Texans112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks for the review guys, it was a pleasure having you here with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We sat in the bar area at a high top and had good service from a gentleman. My brother and I both got the shrimp and steak and thought it was good my sister had a steak with crab in it and didn't care for it. Had the key lime pie and thought it was good. Would come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hest0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Glad you enjoyed your meals and the key lime pie, as well as the service and ambiance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We went to the Lime Inn for all you can eat shrimp night. Before dinner we stopped for happy hour at the bar and had half price drinks. The lime in da coconut was one of our favorites...so good. The service was great, we never ran out of shrimp. The owner stopped by to check on us and make sure we were enjoying our meal. I rate this as one of our best dining experiences in Cruz Bay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank richvabrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelseaantoinette, Manager at The Lime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

So glad that you enjoyed your time with us and love that you had a great experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lime Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Lime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing