We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pleasant pied-a-terre in St John, good value”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cruz Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nzklm
McLean, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant pied-a-terre in St John, good value”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
7
people found this review helpful

Spent a terrific week in Don and Debbie's Amore Loft Suite, which is indeed a "spacious room with kitchenette" (actually, pretty close to a full kitchen except for a cooktop). It was perfect for me. The beach chairs were a great option to have, and I put the cooler that comes with the room to good use every day. Also, the kitchen had what appeared to be a brand-new Nutribullet blender, which I was excited to try out, and which I ended up using for smoothie-breakfasts every day (and some frozen rum drinks at night). The location was perfect for me: easy walking distance to town but not too busy with morning traffic/late-night revelers; 30 minute easy hike to two gorgeous beaches; and the little cafe right next door, Baked in the Sun, had fabulous croissants (but sadly no espresso drinks as their machine had died and was apparently not due to be fixed/replaced).
However, it would not have suited my husband, who's more of a Four Seasons kind of guy – so for those with luxury expectations, I should note some aspects I didn't anticipate from reading other TripAdvisor reviews. There was no daily housekeeping, thus no change of bedsheets or towels across the week, and when I first entered the room, no toilet paper in the bathroom (Debbie fixed that right away). I went to make coffee the first morning and found the coffeepot and filter full of the previous tenant's breakfast remains (not sure how long before I checked in they had checked out), and the fridge with a full bottle of leftover Bacardi, some mustard, a Diet Coke, etc. (Nothing gross, no science experiments – but it wasn't clear if they had forgotten to check/clean the fridge or had just purposely left those non-perishables in there.) The TV was very small, old-style (not flat-screen), and temperamental – it got just four or five channels. Also, I hadn't realized that the suite is a middle room of three, with the apartment on one side and the studio on the other, all accessed by the narrow arched veranda visible in the exterior photos – so others were walking right by my windows every day, meaning I had to keep the drapes closed for privacy all the time. Not a big deal to me, but maybe more important to some than to others. Finally, the shower and the bath towels had a strong musty/mildewy smell about them (I'm allergic, therefore quite sensitive) – but the beach towels provided were clean and fresh with no scent, so I just used them. In general, the furnishings were a little tired, and there were broken floor tiles, so it's not a pristine place, but it is very cozy and comfortable.
I note these things not to put the place down, just to manage expectations. Again, I found it terrific and would happily stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: mildewy shower and towels
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevewerg
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“What a great place”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Close to everything . Nice decorating. Great art all over the
Apartment. Don and his staff are very helpful. St John is now my
Favorite island. Absolutely stunnig

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gypsetter...
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Bliss Heaven Hidden Gem– I Love Amore!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Amore Center- Amore Loft Suite was blissful and was absolutely heaven on earth! Within minutes of my arrival to St. John, I was greeted very warmly and attentively by Donald Schnell, and he made me feel at ease and relaxed right away. The Amore Loft Suite is without a doubt exactly as Debrah and Donald Schnell describes on their Artistic Villas website: affordability meets luxury in the new in-town, king bed. Donald and his staff thinks of it all: air conditioning, soap & shampoo in the nice stone shower, beautiful and romantic luxury decor, beach chairs, beach towels, cooler, maps and books etc. Amore Center, the Amore Loft Suite is very close to the restaurants, grocery stores, bars, dive shops and shopping as this place is in a great location within Cruz Bay with easy access to the most pristine beaches. Donald's Studio right in the Amore Center adds to the ambience and truly creates the whole unique experience. So what are you waiting for? Book your Amore!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very Fine Design”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great little place for a evening sleep-over in Cruz Bay. Central location: 3-4 blocks from the ferry arrival dock. The Schnells have done an extraordinary job designing the rooms in Amore Lofts. The walls are plastered with an tinted Italian gesso mixed with marble dust and polished. The bathroom has marble fixtures. The artwork is delightful. The lighting is oh-so-Schnell, meaning the artist Donald Schnell's wonderful clay, sea figurine embossed lamps grace the room. Small cooking area. Small closets. Schnell picks you up at the ferry and helps orient you to th island and its restaurants in walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the artwork and deisng of the room
Liked least: closet space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Reviewed 24 May 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Falmouth Ma
Reviewed 17 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NJ
Reviewed 12 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing