We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillcrest Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

I decided for my vacation this year I was going to St. John virgin islands. I choose Hillcrest because it seemed to be a alternative to the traditional tourist hotel experience. Plus that price was great and close to Cruz bay. When I arrive to Hillcrest I was greeted with a warm smile and great welcoming spirit from Phylis Hall she seemed happy to host our stay. The room smelled fresh and clean and we had all the standard amenties a traditional hotel room has such as towels, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. In the room I was surprised to find plenty of treats and items for our use free of charge such as bacon and eggs for breakfast, a bottle of Cruz bay rum , 12oz can of coca- cola products in the frig and plenty of gourmet snacks all free of charge. Also she provided snorkel gear and beach chairs along with beach towels for our use. We used the snorkel gear and chairs everyday of our stay and returned them at the end of our stay. The good beaches are very close and Reataurant are in walking distance. I recommend to visit the Rum Hut during happy hour to find $3 drinks served between 4-6pm. I recommend the "painkiller" and
the collattas. Im So glad I discovered such a gem that offered home away from home amenities. Thank you Phylis for a great room with an amazing view and for such a great stay. I will stay at Hillcrest guest house on my next visit to st John.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seaside770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    32
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
44
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I decided for my vacation this year I was going to St. John virgin islands. I choose Hillcrest because it seemed to be a alternative to the traditional tourist hotel experience. Plus that price was great and close to Cruz bay. When I arrive to Hillcrest I was greeted with a warm smile and great welcoming spirit from Phylis Hall she seemed happy to host our stay. The room smelled fresh and clean and we had all the standard amenties a traditional hotel room has such as towels, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. In the room I was surprised to find plenty of treats and items for our use free of charge such as bacon and eggs for breakfast, a bottle of Cruz bay rum , 12oz can of coca- cola products in the frig and plenty of gourmet snacks all free of charge. Also she provided snorkel gear and beach chairs along with beach towels for our use. We used the snorkel gear and chairs everyday of our stay and returned them at the end of our stay. The good beaches are very close and Reataurant are in walking distance. I recommend to visit the Rum Hut during happy hour to find $3 drinks served between 4-6pm. I recommend the "painkiller" and
the collattas. Im So glad I discovered such a gem that offered home away from home amenities. Thank you Phylis for a great room with an amazing view and for such a great stay. I will stay at Hillcrest guest house on my next visit to st John.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seaside770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego's north county
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This guest house is run and owned by Phyllis Hall, she is a lovely woman who welcomes you by stocking the refrigerator with a full bar ( and not the small bottles ) and goodies, milk eggs and gallons of bottled water ! The suites are very pretty with windows or air conditioner. Kitchen is equip with blender, coffee maker, microwave. I saved tons of money esp. By making my own cocktails !! Great stay !!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cowgirlinthesand20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Found Hilcrest online and we were very pleased with our stay. Location is great, very clean room and well stocked for all your needs. Great view and Phyllis was very sweet.
Our only complaints were that the bed is a bit slumpy and the noise from Cruz Bay at night from the bars is extremely loud.
Besides the that we found the rooms well equipped and maintained.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMooreDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillcreststjohn, Owner at Hillcrest Guest House, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
I'd like to thank B. Moore of NYC, for the review.

All of the beds and the futons have a foam topper from QVC. I even have one on my bed, but each person is different and have their own preferece.

Cruz Bay does have music coming from downtown and that is why I installed air condition. Again, not everyone likes A/C.

Again, thank you for the kind words.

Warmest regards,
Phyllis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Me and my husband were travelling for a last minute business/pleasure trip and he had to book fairly quickly. Besides getting some miscommunication from an owner or NO communication from owners with places showing availability for our two-night stay, my husband found Hillcrest. Phyllis responded to us quickly...which everyone take note....this will keep you in business..actually responding to potential customers. We had a peaceful stay and we were pleasantly delighted with the snacks, other food and beverages we had in our room...that was a nice touch! Thank you Phyllis for accommodating us on such short notice, it was appreciated!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NishaGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We just got back from a wonderful vacation in St.John and enjoyed our stay at Hillcrest, Orchid suite. The size of the apartment was perfect for our 2 kids and us. It was clean and stocked well with lots of alcohol, drinks, snacks, and breakfast foods which saved us alot of money. It is on a hill, but we didn't mind the walk, and our 4 and 7 year olds handled the walk uphill well too. Phyllis was very nice and accomodating. The neighborhood is safe and fairly quiet. Just an occassional dog barking or hearing a neighbor early in the morning hear and there, but just bring ear plugs and you'll be fine. The location was perfect to go in and around town and we were able to walk everywhere. We didn't even need to rent a car and only needed to use a cab a couple times to go to farther away beaches. If you are looking for a more reasonable place to stay and enjoy St.John and don't need luxury, this is your place! We plan on staying here again!

Room Tip: choose a room with a view and the pagoda was nice and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gotomeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
96 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Nice place to stay but one heck of a hill to hike up after an evening at happy hours! Cheaper than most.

Helpful?
Thank MCGtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
125 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
845 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Guest House

Property: Hillcrest Guest House
Address: Number 157 Estate Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831-0033, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillcrest Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Guest House is a romantic accommodation with million dollar ocean and garden views. $185 to 235/day. 2 day minimum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Hillcrest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Guest House Hotel Cruz Bay
Hillcrest Guest House St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing