We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Estate Lindholm”
Review of Estate Lindholm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Estate Lindholm
Ranked #1 of 5 Cruz Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We love Estate Lindholm. We first visited beautiful St. John in September 2011, and spent an amazing week at the Estate. So during a recent trip to St. Thomas, we just had to return to St. John for a visit. We took the car ferry over from Red Hook, and it didn't take long to feel the magic of this fantastic island again. Knowing how much we enjoy St. John, I had contacted Lauren a few days before to see about arranging a stay at the Estate. She remembered us from our previous stay, and welcomed us back like family. The Estate has stunning views overlooking Cruz Bay and across the sound to St. Thomas, and the grounds of the Estate are like an arboretum. Well, we had another great time on St. John and were so happy to stay at Estate Lindholm. Thanks Lauren for another great stay at the Estate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for Estate Lindholm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Estate Lindholm for a week in July, and it really was in the perfect location--close enough to walk into town, but high enough on the hill so that all you heard at night were peepers.

The grounds of Estate Lindholm were simply lovely. Very lush; all kinds of tropical plants coupled with a fantastic view of Cruz Bay. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, which had a queen size bed, balcony, nice-sized bathroom, and small sink/mini-fridge/microwave area.

Lauren and Brion, the owners, were very helpful and accommodating (also a big thank you to Lauren's friend, Linda, for all of the useful info). Lauren picked us up at the ferry when we arrived and also took us back to the ferry on the day we left. She was always available to answer any questions we had (and provide freshly cut aloe for our sunburn!).

She had plenty of coolers, beach towels, and beach chairs for guests to use, and they came in really handy. There was also an honor bar set up the breakfast area, which was convenient.

We rented a Jeep from Varlack in Cruz Bay--the folks there were incredibly nice. (You could certainly walk into Cruz Bay and back from Estate Lindholm, which we did a few times--but you really need to be careful walking back at night because there's no shoulder--and no lights--on the road.) We arrived on St. John after Varlack had closed for the day (a Sat.), but Lauren had picked up the Jeep keys for us--so we walked into town Sunday a.m. and got the Jeep then, even though Varlack is closed on Sundays. Then we went back Monday to fill out the paperwork.

When you're in town, Varlack lets you park on the sidewalk (literally--all four tires on the sidewalk) in front of their business. We did that a few times, but then discovered that you can park in the Visitor Center employee parking lot after 5 p.m. every day--which was a lot easier.

I would highly recommend renting a vehicle if you want to go to the "non-touristy" beaches (even though we were there during the off-season, many of the beaches still had plenty of people on them).

The only somewhat disappointment with Estate Lindholm was the breakfast. Granted, we knew going in (and from reading other reviews) that the breakfast was continental. But after 7 days of the same thing (cereal, bagels/croissants, pineapple/cantaloupe) with no protein, it started to get a little old. However, that certainly wasn't even close to being a deal breaker! And you're probably not going to find any place else on the island with such an outstanding view while drinking your coffee!

We would highly recommend Estate Lindholm, and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cbucksred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Estate Lindholm was the highlight of our St. John trip. From the breakfast every morning poolside to many other numerous amenitites, every moment was enjoyable. The grounds are generously lush and some of the most neatly kempt. Lindholm was located just on the outskirt of the port with a gorgeous sunset view. The staff were kind and attentive, the owners made you feel as if you belonged at Lindholm, and it were your home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medic_mother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had the most wonderful time during our stay at the Estate Lindholm, at the end of April 2012. There were so many things we loved about it, its hard to know where to begin. To say the gardens on the estate were gorgeous is an understatement. Each morning, the groundskeeper carefully placed flower petals on the steps that lead to the breakfast area. The breakfast was a standard continental breakfast, with delicious fresh fruit, but what was most enjoyable about the breakfast was the view. The patio area overlooks Cruz Bay and you can see other islands from it as well.

The owners were also a joy to be around and incredibly helpful and down to earth. We talked to them about some of the things we enjoyed, and they made numerous suggestions. It was very clear that they enjoyed meeting new people, and wanted to ensure that their guests enjoyed all aspects of the island. We mentioned we were on a little bit of a budget, so they made some suggestions for restaurants that wouldn't break the bank. One of the best suggestions they made was for a brief hike to the top of the island. We never would have found this trail otherwise, and were treated to a birds-eye view of the entire island.

The location was perfect. It was a short walk down to town, and within easy walking distance of honeymoon bay, and the aforementioned trail to the top of the island. We even went without a rental car for much of the trip because its location made it easy to either walk to your destination, or hail a taxi.

This hotel offers a charming alternative to overbuilt resorts, while escaping the noise and crowded feel of being right in Cruz Bay. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on the island when we make our return

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jubilee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Myself and five friends just returned from 10 glorious days in beautiful St. John. I was lucky enough to be able to again stay at Estate Lindholm. This stay was just as fabulous as the last time I stayed last August. The estate grounds are still stunning and the views of Cruz Bay breathtaking. Lauren was once again the most gracious of hosts and went out of her way to make our stay a memorable one. The room I had this time was Caneel and considered a "garden view", but we could still see the bay from our balcony. I would again highly recommend Estate Lindholm to anyone who is looking for a low key place. It is a great place to relax and enjoy the beauty that St. John has to offer. I'm looking forward to visiting again soon and making Estate Lindholm my home away from home!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachLover1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I had a perfect week in April. Rained at night to open up to sunny skies at night. You will enjoy the stress free pickup at the ferry from Lauren and a welcome to the island. The complimentary sun chairs, cooler, beach towels and breakfast set us up each day for our beach days. The estate is beautiful, pool area relaxing all with in walking distance to Cruz Bay.
Highly recommend it and can not wait to go again.

Room Tip: Jumbie was on the second floor and had an excellent view. rooms have private balcony with a table...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bagz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Love this place! My wife and I are staying here for 8 nights and it has been truly wonderful! The gardens are very well kept. This is the place for you are not resort people. When we come back we will stay here again! The view is perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in jumbie, loved the view!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WishIwasgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.5 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
496 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.3 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
764 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estate Lindholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estate Lindholm

Address: P.O. Box 1360, Cruz Bay 00831-1360, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cruz Bay
Price Range: £235 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Estate Lindholm 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic small inn within the VI Nat'l Park, overlooking picturesque Cruz Bay harbor - walking distance to gorgeous white sandy beaches and the shopping and restaurants of town. Modern, comfortable rooms, with all amenities. Charming old-world ambiance with beautiful gardens. A rare property, with very personal attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Estate Lindholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estate Lindholm Hotel Cruz Bay
Estate Lindholm St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing