We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of our trip”
Review of Sail Safaris

Sail Safaris
Ranked #14 of 42 Tours in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail from the beach in Cruz Bay, St John to wild islands, snorkel the fringing coral reef and have lunch on an uninhabited cay in the Virgin Islands National Park.We specialize in small groups of 2 to 8 people, to make your day both memorable and personal. Sail Safaris is a Spirit Airlines top pick for the Caribbean and recommended by Fodor's travel guides, Conde Nast Traveller and of course TripAdvisor.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Nashville
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our trip”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We did a whole day sail & snorkel on Fly Girl with Justin and Liz. What a fabulous day--and it even rained a lot! We had never snorkeled before and Liz was so great to tell us all we needed to know. They took us to such great places we ended up comparing every other beach snorkel and all others came up short! I had a special request to see some tropical birds and Justin knew exactly where to go. My husband and daughter and I had the boat to ourselves and they provided a generous lunch and any other drink we wanted. A great day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    8
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
east hampton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish we'd done a full day!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our party of six (4 adults and 2 teenagers) had a great trip with these guys! We had reserved the smaller boat but were graciously upgraded to the larger boat (at no charge) due to mechanical troubles with the smaller boat. We had a great afternoon! The crew was great - from Kansas, Tennessee, and Massachusetts. Loved their stories of how they ended up on St. John. Great conversation, cold beers, and they took us to a great snorkeling spot where we saw a BUNCH of turtles and lots of other stuff. Hung out for a bit on the boat and headed back to Cruz bay, heeled over in the stuff breeze and loving every minute of it.
Would definitely go out with these guys again, definitely for a whole day, and probably for a sunset.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank thecreeksthecure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“A++ Adventure”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

What an experience! Justin and Lauren took great care of our party. The snorkeling spots were great, and the lunch provided on board was delicious.

My entire party felt like we were out on the water all by ourselves. Justin and Lauren do a very nice job of being there for the party, but also laying back and letting the trip speak for itself.

We will be back with Sail Safaris during our next visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great day sailing on the Dell Rose!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our party of 4 had a GREAT full day sail on the Dell Rose with Justin and Lauren in mid May 2014!! The sailing was smooth, the snorkeling was great and Justin and Lauren kept the Painkillers coming!! They we so friendly and knowledgeable and made us all feel special. Thanks Justin and Lauren, we will definitely be back again!! Highly recommended!! Mike H

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MikefromMidlothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Trip highlight!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Four of us were lucky enough to sail with Justin and Maggie of Sail Safaris on our first afternoon in St John, and it couldn't have had a better experience! Everything was top notch - from the boat (the Dell Rose) to friendliness of the crew, to the snorkeling spots, to the tasty Painkillers. Of course, it didn't hurt that the weather was gorgeous, and the water was a perfect temp, crystal-clear aquamarine. And the company was so responsive and easy to work with via email, both before and after. I went on a similar boat outing last year in St Lucia, and it was a disappointment. This one delivered on all accounts. As a matter of fact, after many fun and memorable activities throughout several of the Islands - both USVI and BVI - our foursome agreed that this excursion was the highlight of our trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThirdRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sail Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Sail Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing