We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we chose Serendip!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serendip Vacation Condos
Nolensville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Glad we chose Serendip!”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed in the Gecko unit for 3 nights June 11th-14th 2012. The unit is very lovely. Ashley did an excellent job keeping the property clean and neat. The king bed and sofa beds are comfy. The kitchen is equipped with everything we needed. And how we love the huge verenda with the million-dollar harbor and pool view! We had more than enough of clean towels. She even prepared two bottles of drinking water and trail mix to welcome us. We felt right at home. St. John is such an amazing place. We had great snorkeling in Lenister bay and Francis bay. We hope to come back. Thank you Ashley!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chichitang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    33
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
88
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

stayed in the Coral unit the first week n May 2012..had the best time, even though it rained a little it was a relaxing rain. Sitting on our huge deck listening to the rain hitting the palm tree's was so calming..The condo has everything you need, full kitchen, king sized bed, great flat screen TV's, and much, much more.. Ashley the manager is a dream.. she was there every time we had a question..Great place Great times..we will return..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank ramcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

What a great place to have as a landing pad between beach excursions! Ashley was amazing, and so was Ted! We stayed in the India condo, which was perfectly situated with anything we would need to "live" in St. John for a week. Comfy king size bed, cable tv, laundry facilities, beach chairs, towels, cooking supplies, air conditioning, fabulous terrace for morning coffee and view of Cruz bay! The late afternoons were spent lazing in the pool chatting with the other guests. Simply idyllic. Thank you Ted and Ashley for your amazing hospitality! We will definitely stay at Serendip upon our return to St. John

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evabvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa.
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful week in St. John and stayed at Serendip in the Coral unit, which has the best view of all the units!! I communicated with the property manager, Ashley, frequently before our arrival and she was quick to respond and helped with all my arrangements, including directions to places on St. Thomas. We were greeted by her and her dog Hershey on our arrival and she helped us carry our bags to our unit. I was most impressed that the balconies are private and huge. I thought it was one long continuous balcony that accessed the units, but each has its own balcony. The unit was clean and well supplied. The only issue was that the sleeping blanket in the closet did not seem to be clean as it smelled used. It is something that could be easily missed in this type of lodging since it was folded and put back up in the closet, I imagine by the previous guests, since it wasn't folded well. No problem, I used the one from the futon linens in the living room and could definitely tell that one was fresh and clean. Since there is laundry available, I washed the other one so we could have both available to use. There is plenty of space in the unit and a large counter top in the bathroom provided ample space for toiletries. They gave us TONS of towels and cakes of soap. We made good use of the clothes line on the porch for drying our swim gear. We used the bedroom A/C at night and occasionally used the A/C in the LR in the evenings. Enjoyed meals on the balcony overlooking the sea and St. Thomas. We made quick friends with the cats that hang out on the property. There were 2 birds (I think Ashley called them Bananaquats) that came to our porch every morning while I ate so I could share my banana with them. The were not loud or anything, just must have lived nearby. The grounds are beautiful with tons of plants and trees. Ashley even brought us some mini bananas from the trees on the grounds. Me and the birds enjoyed them! The pool is small, but plenty for a quick cool off and relaxation by one of the jets. It was nice to just sit in there for a few minutes in the evening and chill out before supper. We had a nice chat one evening with an owner-couple that was there on their vacation.

We did not notice any rooster or loud party noises. The people across the street enjoy listening to music, which we noted coming in and out during the day, but never noticed it inside the unit or into the night or anything. This complex is very close to Cruz Bay, yet far enough away. It is on top of the hill which allow the great views, but would make a short, but steep walk home. We had a car and parked at the car barge parking lot at the bottom of the hill and walked about 2 blocks into town. That worked out really well. Enjoyed snorkeling, hiking, a trip to the baths, and a day of diving.

This unit suited us well since we are low key people that don't like resorts and want to be self sufficient in a homey place. I like the convenience of a condo with kitchen since the last thing I want to do after a long day in the sun is have to get dressed to go out to dinner, I can cook in my pajamas and enjoy dinner on the balcony.....then I discovered Sam and Jacks deli in the Marketplace. They offer homemade dinners for take out every day except Sunday for $11-13 a meal. You can't buy the ingredients for that in the stores, so I just picked a dinner every night and used my microwave, easier yet and delicious food....the owners also operate Zozo's on the island which is well-known for excellent food. Also enjoyed their homemade pastas, sauces, and deli items.

We are looking forward to another trip to St. John and plan to return to Serendip condos. We really enjoyed our stay here. Thank you Ashley for all you do!

Room Tip: Try Sam and Jacks deli Park at the car barge lot and walk into town
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snorkeler-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I can not say enough great things about Serendip!!! The location provided breathtaking views of St. John every morning and afternoon. The condo was perfect for our group! We loved being able to cook dinner and drink a glass of wine of the HUGE balcony! The property manager Ashley was awesome, super friendly, extremely helpful. I also loved that they provided snorkel gear and beach chairs. Only about a 5 minute walk from Cruz Bay. The place also has a sun deck and pool. We didn't use it much though because we were at the beach the whole time. If you're looking for a nice, affordable condo don't hesitate..stay in Serendip! Read all about my trip and recommendations for St John here: http://truegypsysoul.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/love-city-st-john/

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beccaRosslynva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We went to St John for a birthday girls weekend. We fit six girls very comfortably in the apartment. It was close to town and easy to get back and forth from town and the beaches. Access to the beach chairs was really nice. I have already recommended Serendip to friends for future visits.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King George, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at Serendip Condos over the Christmas holiday 2011 and our stay was fabulous. We stayed in the Hibiscus Condo and it had million dollar views!! The condo itself was very nice. It was extremely clean and had all the necessary kitchen equipment that we needed for our stay. The king sized bed in the master bedroom was extremely comfortable. We ate breakfast on the lovely veranda each morning before heading off to one of St John’s gorgeous beaches. The views from the veranda were simply spectacular. It was difficult to pull ourselves away to go to the beach. :-) We absolutely loved feeding the little banana quits and watching them fly around the feeder. The location of Serendip is near perfect since it is so close to Cruz Bay. We never even turned the air-conditioning on since it was cool in the evening and the breezes were amazing. Ashley was very helpful and a wonderful host. I would definitely recommend Serendip Condos for a fantastic stay in St John – we will definitely return to this condo.

Room Tip: Hibiscus was on the top floor, so the views were spectacular!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOTRNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
851 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Coast Villas
Coconut Coast Villas
#1 of 17 in Cruz Bay
306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendip Vacation Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendip Vacation Condos

Property: Serendip Vacation Condos
Address: 9-7 Serendip Rd | PO Box 273, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within a lush, tropical setting on two acres with ocean views to Cruz Bay, our one-bedroom and studio condos at Serendip Vacation Condos are being continually upgraded inside and out. We are an intimate complex of only 10 units in a quiet residential area of St. John. Each of the 8 one-bedroom and 2 studio condos have a fully-equipped kitchen, AC, cable, and large covered veranda with ocean views. The studio units have an maximum occupancy of 2 guests. Our one-bedroom units have a maximum occupancy of 4 guests, with NO additional 'per person' fees! The guest laundry facilities are a great added value for small families or the budget friendly traveler, and we also have beach towels, beach chairs & even a cooler for your memorable days on our beautiful USVI National Park beaches. One of our favorite features is the large covered veranda that extends the length of the entire condo and is a wonderful place for dining, reading a book or watching the sunset. The condo complex also has a lovely pool with a seating area, chaise lounges, and BBQ grill. Review our photos and let us know which unit you are interested in reserving when you submit an inquiry. This will allow us to provide an accurate rate and more details about the specific unit. Serendip is one of the best St John vacation values on the island. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serendip Vacation Condos Hotel Cruz Bay
Serendip Vacation Condos St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing