We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Place to Stay in St. John”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serendip Vacation Condos
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE Place to Stay in St. John”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Serendip is all you need for great accommodations at an affordable price on St. John. We stayed in the Juliette studio the last week of May. The location is close to downtown yet quiet in a lush garden setting, the view of Cruz Bay from any patio is spectacular, the pool is refreshing, and the tempurpedic bed made me want to buy one.

Our hosts Michelle and Chai were very nice and extremely helpful with local knowledge of the best places to eat, shop and do Happy Hour (which is a daily must).

The studio has a clean fully-equipped kitchen, but also beach chairs, extra towels, coolers, and even a washer/dryer. The pool also has a nice big hammock. A convenient marketplace is within walking distance (or short drive) down the hill and contains everything you might need. We enjoyed watching the local wildlife on the property every day (birds, lizards, chickens and the 3 patio cats).

There’s not enough time in a week to see all the major beaches in the park. Every one we visited was gorgeous, and the snorkeling was pretty good (Trunk Bay) to excellent (Watermelon Cay & Maho Bay). Keep an eye out for the local island mongooses and wild donkeys which can be seen on the roads and beaches.

We rented a jeep from Paris Car Rental (great prices and they picked us up and dropped us off at the ferry terminal) so that we could explore the entire island during our stay. We also took the Virgin Gorda Baths & Norman Island Caves day trip with Cruz Bay Watersports. Excellent adventure and boat tour of the British Virgin Islands.

What a wonderful week staying in a great place on a beautiful island.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McJagels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    33
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
89
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed in the India studio from May 8th to 13th and had a wonderful time. This studio was the perfect size for me and my husband. It had a king sized bed with a small but functional kitchen & dining area. The kitchen was fully stocked with all the essentials, as well as some condiments left over by previous guests. This was great as we did most of our cooking in our studio and on the BBQ on the pool deck. The pool was a nice way to cool off in the evenings. The laundry facilities were a nice touch, which we used once.

The location is great, but I do recommend renting a Jeep. I personally would not want to walk into town from there, as the road is quite steep and very narrow. Our studio was on the ground floor and had its own parking spot right by door. This was great for unloading our luggage & groceries! We got all of our groceries from Star Fish market.

We found this to be a great base for all of the day trips we planned. When we come back to the USVI in the future, we will definitely stay at Serendip again. It’s very affordable and feels like a home away from home.

Room Tip: The India Studio is the perfect size for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here in May for our honeymoon. We stayed in the Coral room. It was perfect. Great location (you can walk to town, walking back is a bit more effort). The room was great - big area, awesome deck overlooking the bay and all the kitchen necessities. We wanted to move in. Friendly and helpful staff as well. Highly recommend.

Only con was that the internet was snail-like.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serendipstjohn, Manager at Serendip Vacation Condos, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thanks for the nice comments, Robert! Just wanted to let you know on June 1 we installed a WIFI Extender and now all of the units have excellent, strong signals. Thanks again for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed once again from 5/10 - 5/17 in Echo, a middle floor unit, a straight walk in from the parking lot. I won't repeat all I have said before, but the accolades continue to be well earned. Chai and Michelle were covering while Ashley was on vacation, but Hershey, her-cohost was there still to greet guests. Chai and Michelle showed the same graciousness and helpfulness that Ashley has shown in the past. Chai even changed the tire on our Jeep when we got a flat the day after we picked up the rental and SJ Car Rental wanted to charge us $50 to fix the leak from an old leak plug. He wrote it off as all part of the service. We made full use of the fully equipped kitchen, and the grill on the pool deck. As others have noted, eating out and groceries are expensive on the island (transportation). My personal tip to fellow Serendippers: I brought a carry-on bag with supermarket meat frozen in the store packaging, then in zip-lock bags within flat plastic leak-proof containers (TSA requirements) on the trip from JFK and they were still frozen on arrival (12 hours from home freezer). I was happily able to make full use of the grill while my travel companion swam in the pool which was often a welcome retreat after too much sun on a beach. Whether it's Ashley or Chai and Michelle, the managers make Serendip the gem that it is, and what someone else labeled the "The Biggest Bang for Your Buck" on SJ.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013

love staying at serendip for the price and amenities. the lower units are much easier for parking and unpacking the car with luggage and daily groceries. all of the veranda views are spectacular and very private. a must stay place for singles, couples and families. gorgeous grounds and very peaceful place to relax. we loved unit Echo. will return soon. stu and mary.

Room Tip: reasonable rates for stj!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willah60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed in India, an efficiency apt. It was super clean, quiet, comfy bed, beach chairs, ac and/or ceiling fans. We were there in April and the fans were plenty. Kitchenette is stocked with essentials (coffee filters for machine, mayo, ketsup, salt & pepper, etc) which was very handy. Nice deck where we ate and enjoyed the great view of Cruz Bay. It was suggested we rent a car, but none were available and we really didn't miss having one. Walked down to town each morning, taxied, bused or hiked to beaches, back to town for a "Pain killer" or 2 and dinner, then a taxi back up to the condo. We never got into the pool, but it looked very nice. Only wish the visit was longer. Otherwise, wouldn't change a thing and highly recommend this rental.
PS- The manager, Ashley, is extremely helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Unless you are more than 2 or 3 the efficiency was plenty big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhwheelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed in the Coral Unit for our 'weddingmoon' on February 13-20. Everything was clean and comfortable. The view is gorgeous from the veranda! It was nice to have a kitchen to make dinners because eating on the island can get very expensive. Ashley was very helpful when we had any questions about getting around the island. Location is pretty good too. We did not rent a car but probably would recommend it. We had to rely on taxis alot. This is true for pretty much anywhere you stay on the island though--either get a car or rely on taxi's. We did walk in to Cruz Bay a couple of times which was a pretty easy walk. Walking back is another story because you will be going uphill. I would definitely stay here again. You will get the most for your money here and not be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaP857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.7 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
856 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Coast Villas
Coconut Coast Villas
#1 of 17 in Cruz Bay
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendip Vacation Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendip Vacation Condos

Property: Serendip Vacation Condos
Address: 9-7 Serendip Rd | PO Box 273, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within a lush, tropical setting on two acres with ocean views to Cruz Bay, our one-bedroom and studio condos at Serendip Vacation Condos are being continually upgraded inside and out. We are an intimate complex of only 10 units in a quiet residential area of St. John. Each of the 8 one-bedroom and 2 studio condos have a fully-equipped kitchen, AC, cable, and large covered veranda with ocean views. The studio units have an maximum occupancy of 2 guests. Our one-bedroom units have a maximum occupancy of 4 guests, with NO additional 'per person' fees! The guest laundry facilities are a great added value for small families or the budget friendly traveler, and we also have beach towels, beach chairs & even a cooler for your memorable days on our beautiful USVI National Park beaches. One of our favorite features is the large covered veranda that extends the length of the entire condo and is a wonderful place for dining, reading a book or watching the sunset. The condo complex also has a lovely pool with a seating area, chaise lounges, and BBQ grill. Review our photos and let us know which unit you are interested in reserving when you submit an inquiry. This will allow us to provide an accurate rate and more details about the specific unit. Serendip is one of the best St John vacation values on the island. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serendip Vacation Condos Hotel Cruz Bay
Serendip Vacation Condos St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing