We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little trail”

Cinnamon Bay Nature Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a stroll along the self-guided Cinnamon Bay Nature Trail, which leads you through plantation ruins, tropical landscapes and scenic views of the Caribbean Sea.
Bradford, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice little trail”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is a reasonably short trek with some interesting sites. There are sign boards with explanations of what you are looking at. Take a few minutes to check it out!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dave d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    28
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great easy trail with a lot of history”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We loved this trails because it provides an easy 30 minutes hike through St. John history and tropical forest. You will go through the ruins of Sugar Mill Factory and Danish Cemetery. Virgin Islands National Park installed a lot of signs where you can read a history behind it.
Then you will hike through the forest and learn about common St. John trees and nature.
Great hikw - check it out here: http://lifeinusvi.com/cinnamon-bay-trail/

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Shore of Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really nice taste of the forest with a great beach at the bottom of the hill.”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We took a jeep up the road, parked at one of the trail crossings and hiked down the trail. It was pretty awesome - big trees, interesting insects and since we went downhill, not too strenuous. The drop-offs were quite steep and the rocks/leaves were very slippery, but manageable. Just watch your footing and don't rush unnecessarily. Bring lots of water. We went in June, mostly overcast and it rained during the first part of the hike, but we were dripping from the humidity alone - easy to get dehydrated. The ruins near the beach have informative signage and are interesting. The beach - wow. Most beautiful beach I have ever seen and completely worth the hike! Plus they have bathrooms and a market, even a restaurant to refresh you after renting water equipment/swimming etc on the beach. Half of our party decided the steep uphill on the return trip might be a bit much given our physical ability so the other half hiked back up and picked us up. Alternatively there is an active taxi stand with cabbies willing to take you where you need to go. Highly recommend the trail - great taste of the island and incredible views.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DelmarvaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Rugged but beautiful”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We hike up Cinnamon Bay trail with the goal of catching the elusive V-tran bus to Cruz Bay. It's pretty much all uphill with the steepest part being at the beginning. There are roots and loose rock so you need to pace yourself and bring plenty of drinking water.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nuendelcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish, WA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolute GEM of a beach at the end of the trail!”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Start this shady hike in the Virgin Islands National Park off of Hwy 10 at mile-marker 4 (about 50 feet past the marker). This trail is pretty steep in many places and very slippery (many rocks and leaves), but the ruins and beach at the end are completely worth it. Cinnamon Bay beach is absolutely remarkable and one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen (better than Trunk Bay!). Take some time to play at the beach, buy a refreshment at the little market, and use the restroom facilities. The hike back up is a challenge, but we were able to do it in 30 minutes.
Roundtrip mileage is 2.4 miles. This trail is Moderately hard----could be difficult with children. You will need to be in good physical condition to do this trail.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank teesa82276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cinnamon Bay Nature Trail also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Cinnamon Bay Nature Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing