We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit history”
Review of Leinster Bay

Leinster Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A rocky, windswept bay on the northern coast of St. John.
Brunswick, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Visit history”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a quite bay with lots of history surrounding it!! A short walk from the bay leads you to the Annaberg Plantation ruins!! See how sugar was refined, very interesting history on this island!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    40
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BEST SNORKELING ON THE ISLAND!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

It's an 8/10 mile walk to get here from the Annaburg plantation parking lot- and WOW was it worth the walk!!! I saw an octopus, a spotted eagle ray, barracudas, two sea turtles (YAY), and numerous types of fish. We got here around 8:30am and had the bay to ourselves for almost two hours before anyone showed up. If you come to St. John, you MUST visit Leinster Bay. Beautiful scenery as well- gorgeous greenery all around and tons of places to relax with your loved ones. We were so blessed to come here!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lindatravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Only ones on the beach”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

It was an overcast day later in the afternoon when we visited. We had the whole beach to ourselves. It was so peaceful and to have it all to yourself was amazing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary111015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Trail to Remember”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is a lovely hike if you don't mind lots of bugs during the muggy season and sharing the trail. The walk along the water is lovely and it has been said that there a lot of sea turtles to be seen either in the water or nesting..... we have yet to see one. Lots of manta rays though that are SO gentle and fascinating to watch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cathy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“The Best Trail and the Quietest Beach”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

On our recent rip to St. John's, my husband and I hiked all but a few of the park trails (and all the shorter ones); this was by far my favorite. It's just over 3/4 mile one way, a flat, easy walk, Leinster Bay on your left, forest on your right, ending at the gorgeous WaterLEMON (not melon) Bay - so wear your suit.

On the trek out, we spotted dolphin and bright orange starfish glistening in the surf oceanside, and colorful, interesting birds forest side. At trail's end, Waterlemon Bay Beach was narrower than Trunk Bay, but we only had to share it with a dozen or so others. We had not brought snorkeling gear, but most everyone else was snorkeling in the quiet, protected bay - there is more challenging snorkeling there also near Waterlemon Cay and off Leinster Point for strong swimmers.

Some helpful hints: Park in the Annaberg lot, use the facilities there as there are none in Waterlemon Bay, cross the road to the ocean and take a right. The trail is flat and easy enough to carry chairs & gear - we even saw one group slowly steering a rolling cooler. At Waterlemon Bay, the trail connects to some longer, harder trails (Johnny Horn and Brown Bay Trails, both under 2 miles one way) if you want to alternate hiking with swimming. The Leinster Bay Trail is also near the short Annaberg School Trail (access it from the same parking lot) - nice views - and a short drive from the 1/2 mile Francis Bay Trail, a fully accessible, shaded walk on a raised boardwalk passing a salt pond of wader birds and ending at Francis Bay Beach - parking, picnic tables, and facilities are available here.

While Leinster Bay Trail and Waterlemon Bay Beach is a bit further drive (15 more minutes?) from the city of Cruz Bay than Hawksnest, Trunk, or Maho Bay Beaches, keep driving and take the stroll down the trail. You won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dneumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leinster Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Caneel Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Leinster Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing