We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“underappreciated Leinster Bay”
Review of Leinster Bay

Leinster Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A rocky, windswept bay on the northern coast of St. John.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“underappreciated Leinster Bay”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Leinster Bay is just a pause on the long rocky trail to WaterLemon Cay. But we could have used it as a swim-from beach; the swim wouldn't have been too daunting to WLCay from Leinster, and we would have avoided the rougher shore at WaterLemon Cay.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    40
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wear flippers”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Fair snorkelling but do wear flippers if you have them, the current was strong and without flippers I had to work hard .... and I am an experienced diver { who should have had flippers on :>}

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarum2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Let's take a hike an listen, look, smell, and touch!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I enjoyed Leinster Bay trail. First off, Leinster bay is part of the Annaberg plantation experience because it's located just before you enter Annaberg plantation. On a busy day you may find it hard to find parking so it's worth coming back if parking is an issue. That being said when you arrive at the trail head (just look to your left) an you can view the bueatiful British Virgin islands - Tortola to be exact. That's how close you really are! Look at the beach front and you will find all sorts of rocks, sea shells, and coral washed up on the beach front. Smell the cool sea breeze! The trail it self will take about 30 to 40 minutes walking if you happen to stop to take pictures or look at wildlife but round trip 1 hour plus. This is a novice trail (with light rocks-depending on past weather) that leads up to intermediate trails that run in conjunction to others that go into Watermelon cay and Coral Bay. Once you get to the end of Leinster trail , you will come upon a beach and old mills but be careful not to touch the thorn tree branches as you make your way in closer to take pictures of the islands history. This is by far a good adventure trail with deep roots to take you on your journey.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pemren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroWest Boston
Level Contributor
191 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Leinster Bay and Trail”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We took the short drive from our villa in Coral Bay to the trail head parking near Leinster Bay. The trail is not too long (I am guessing under 1 mile) and leads you to a nice little beach on Leinster Bay. The trail was rocky and as there had been a lot of recent rain there was a small part that was washed out. Therefore I highly recommend wearing shoes. The water was great for snorkeling and there were tons of wildlife on the beach. We saw lots of mongoose and deer along with birds such as pelicans. Behind the beach were trails that led to ruins. We carried in our lunches and towels and opted on not carrying the beach chairs, but plenty of others did. However you choose, this beach is a great option with wonderful snorkeling around Watermelon Cay just a short swim offshore.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Buttercup92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“starting Point for Waterlemon Cay”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

a great bay with water lemon cay in the middle of it with the best snorkeling on the island. Look for a good walking spot and go for the cay across the bay or walk around to get a shorter swim

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mymailbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leinster Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Leinster Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing