We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Concordia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Concordia Eco-Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Concordia Eco-Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Concordia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at Concordia and loved it. We stayed in #8 and it had a fabulous view and was close to the road ( not many steps to get to it). It was quite windy when we were there and the tent swayed a bit and was noisy at night with the fabric flapping against the wood structure. The food at the restaurant was delicious. Now remember this is tent camping--deluxe text camping, but still camping. So if you want a hotel type resort, Concordia is not for you. We have stayed at Maho Camps for 25 years (they closed last year) and decided to give Concordia a try. We were very pleased with our experience. It's a bit out of the way ( on the East End of St.John) but we loved that side of the island--donkeys and goats roam around everywhere. If you like camping, Concordia is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovelycotinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    123
    34
    15
    11
See reviews for
118
219
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

My son and I had a fantastic time at St. John, staying in an Eco-Studio at Concordia (unit A18). The staff was friendly and helpful and we were able to arrange a terrific kayaking/snorkeling trip (Hidden Reef) for one of the days and rent snorkeling gear for the week. Snorkeling at Salt Pond Bay (down the path from Concordia) was excellent. Our favorites were the sea turtles but the fish and coral viewing was excellent along the left shore. The food was very good in the Cafe and the views (from everywhere) were unsurpassed. We didn't have any issues with mosquitoes and slept okay even though temperatures stayed pretty warm through the night. My only issue was that we were in a bottom unit, and I woke up whenever an upstairs guest walked around late at night. Next time, I'll get a top unit! We rented a jeep (which I highly recommend) and were able to snorkel at spots all around the island. We also drove into Coral Bay regularly for dinner, which was always fun. I followed the Concordia recommendation and didn't look at work email the whole week. That was a great idea, and I look forward to doing that again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duvall, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were in tent P-10 out on the edge: The wind was loud (but didn't keep us awake) and cooling; the views were fantastic! Normally, we would drive/hike for hours for a view like that-we felt lucky to be able to experience it throughout the day. We did not have difficulties with mosquitoes and the beds were comfortable. We did have to haul drinking water, wash clothes in the shower and deal with the sun warmed water with a rather weak flow; this made the experience more like very comfortable camping rather than being in a hotel. We found the staff extremely helpful and friendly and we enjoyed walking through the soldier crabs to get to the beach, where the snorkeling was fantastic (we did bring our own equipment)! On the whole, a really good trip-if we return, we would come during the winter time when the humidity was a bit lower. Although we had no difficulty with this in the tent because the wind blew it all out, the hikes to the beach left us sweaty; we were there at the end of July, just when the trade winds were dying. I would anticipate that during the height of summer-late August and September-the lack of wind would make things very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wayne_anne_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Concordia is in a beautiful setting. Amazing really. But the eco-tents are so noisy at night from the fabric being hit by wind that our entire family couldn't sleep for the 5 nights. We were woken every 10 minutes. The cross breeze from the windows was too high over our beds for us to feel so we sweated all night as well, even when the weather outside was just fine.
We left a day early just to stay at a cheap hotel the last night and get some rest. The days were very nice. It is not cheap though. It is hard work to build on this remote island and a piece of average fruit at breakfast is $1.50 and coffee is as pricey as Starbucks. There is a charge each day for beach chairs and snorkeling equipment so bring what you can and stay in a building, not a tent.

Room Tip: Do not stay in an eco-tent. You will not get any sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mlewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Wife and I just returned from 5 days staying in an Eco-Studio. We were not real sure what to expect like others have said, but what we found was true relaxation in a wonderful and peaceful place. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Even though we were there in off season and with the Summer kitchen menu we found the food and drink to be great. The views from our room and the dining area are crazy nice.

We visited several beaches with friends and they were very nice as well. The management has done a very good job of having things like beach chairs and snorkeling equipment for rent so you don't have to worry about bringing any of that. We found our Eco Studio to be in great shape when we arrived and it had everything we needed for the trip. There were not any TV's and cell service was spotty and that made the trip even more peaceful. We loved it and would like to try a tent next time just for the experience. We truly felt like we were tucked away in paradise.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank drohr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Concordia is on the east side of the island across the Hwy 10 from the ferry and then further south above Salt Pond. It seems all flights come in late in the day at St. Thomas. After getting your car, getting groceries, fuel and getting across the ferry to St. John, you still have to travel very narrow, windy roads across the island and will likely come in very late at night. I would have stayed in St. Thomas the first night so I could have driven these treacherous roads in the light. As it was, our trials, despite the long, hard, journey, was not nearly over once we arrived. We had a long uphill climb, with luggage and provisions. If you park at the end of the boardwalk, this was a long uphill pull that had me seriously concerned about my heart. I was exhausted and drenched in sweat and barely managed it. Challenges such as this are much harder after 20 hours of trial and travel. One could climb the approx. 90 stairs then go across the boardwalk, which we did many times, but not with luggage and groceries. My daughter arrived nauseated from the winding trip across the island and I wondered what I had gotten us into! A nice, young man, seeing me in distress, offered me his cold partial rjug of water and informed us that the water was not potable, but there was a spigot close to the pool where we could get potable water. I drank that water he gave me. I wish I hadn't. My daughter did not drink it. I contracted the disease Giardia and spend 9 days of my vacation in misery. The local hospital is good, though. Bottled water is highly recommended. Get it in advance of lodging.
We stayed in a premium eco-tent overlooking Salt Pond. The view was gorgeous. The night had its horrors though. We awoke hot and covered in mosquito bites. The fans were small 5 inch fans that did little to help. The toilet was across from our tent and was a composting toilet that was a bit smelly. The shower was charged with runoff and heated in a black barrel. The "potable" water reeked of chlorine. We had not electrical outlets in our tent and got not signal. There was WiFi at the pool. The refrigerator did not have a freezer. I met a woman who had her son's luggage stolen on arrival a few days before. My daughter went to watch a movie on our second night and they cut it off in the middle of the film. Dinner at the cafe was expensive, noisy, burnt and overall lousy. On checkout they tried to make me pay for another camper's charges. When they asked me if the signature was I mine, I showed them it was not and again explained I do not charge to my room. Then they tried to charge me double. I was asked not to return. No problem there. I will never return to Concordia. You couldn't pay me to. If you are planning a vacation, remember to get and keep ALL your receipts, especially if you pay in cash.
What is really sad is that I went to Maho Bay Camps 20 years ago and had one of my most memorable vacations. It was so great. So sad to say Concordia is not carrying on in that tradition. We saw a group of people on the ferry and their legs were covered in mosquito bites. They all had Concordia shirts on!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JYCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Pete, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Coming into the trip, I really wasn't sure what to expect. I knew that there were these tents perched on the hillside that would offer a fabulous view, but that was the extent.

We checked in, and they advised that there is no potable water in the rooms (you would need to bring jugs to filling stations), and no 110 power in the rooms. If something needs to be charged you should leave it at the office. I was intrigued for sure - I am someone who prefers the creature comforts of home (and then some).

After walking down a lot of steps to our premium Eco-tent (P14), I was absolutely blown away by the view. There were sweeping view of Salt Pond Bay and Ram Head, and the only sounds were the crashing of the waves and various wildlife. The breezes across the cabin kept it very comfortable, and I knew that I was home.

The food at the Cafe was quite good (I had a diet-busting crab macaroni and cheese), and the happy hour specials were a great deal. $3 pain killers! We weren't going anywhere, so a second one was in order. If you ask for the drink in a plastic cup, you can take it to the pool. Since that was one of the wifi hot spots and I cannot be completely off the grid, that became a favorite perch of mine.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They would quickly recommend a hike or a place to grab a bite, and would always ask about your day. They certainly helped add to the relaxed vibe one finds here.

I would highly recommend this place to someone who is looking to disconnect. If you want to sit on your balcony at night and watch the stars, and then fall asleep to the crashing waves, this is for you. The tents themselves are rustic and basic, but you are here for the view and the peace. It's a great way to remind yourself what's important in life, which is truly valuable.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank jkbramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Islands National Park
6.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
5.9 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
6.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
6.2 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Concordia Eco-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concordia Eco-Resort

Property: Concordia Eco-Resort
Address: 16371 Concordia, Virgin Islands National Park 00830-9586, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Virgin Islands National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Virgin Islands National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Concordia Eco-Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concordia Eco-Resort offers a variety of accommodations to satisfy our die-hard Eco-Tent fans, as well as those vacationers looking for a few more creature comforts, unplugged and surrounded by the beautiful VI National Park. (Check out our new Eco-Studios.) Our 25 Eco-Tents and Premium Eco-Tents are independent units perch like tree houses along the hillside. A 15 minute nature hike to Salt Pond Bay provides some of the best snorkeling on St. John. Cafe Concordia serves Breakfast, Dinner, Happy Hour, and Sunday Brunch in High Season, call for seasonal hours, but feel free to take full advantage of the kitchenette and refrigeration provided in your unit for cooking year round. Hope to see you soon in beautiful St. John. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp and Odigeo so you can book your Concordia Eco-Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concordia Eco-Tents Hotel Virgin Islands National Park
Concordia Eco-Resort St. John/Virgin Islands National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing