We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hoping to return one day...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Concordia Eco-Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Concordia Eco-Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hoping to return one day...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

In search of solitude and contemplation I was welcomed into the safe haven called Concordia and transported into another, idyllic world. The serenity and solitude of this magical place give me the respite I needed to consider making major life changes and return to what’s truly important in life: self, our natural world, and relationship.

Perched on the side of a hill, my eco-tent awarded me daily with breathtaking views of the surrounding landscape and sea. The wooden walkways (I can still feel the warmth beneath my feet) led me through beautiful flora and fauna, past the serene pool, lobby, and cafe, and ultimately though natural terrain to the bay below known as Salt Pond.

My fondest memory is having the wonderful good fortune of being whisked away almost daily by sailboat to hidden coves and magical places one can only dream of; a time I’ll never forget. That, and a refuge called Concordia, surrounded by caring staff like Pamela with the last name of Love, who made every effort to embrace me into their charmed world.

Norma Larson

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    123
    34
    15
    11
See reviews for
118
219
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

For context: I've never written a review before. I feel compelled to write this one because my recent vacation at Concordia was truly more than I could have asked for.

My partner and I stayed in a Premium Tent (#19) and had spectacular views of both the bay and the ocean; the lush green hills that separated the two; the intense sunsets beyond the horizon that didn't fail. I'm told not all of the tents have a strong breeze. Our tent did and it was perfect, just enough to keep us cool all day and night.

On to practical matters: my initial concern about the compost toilets were totally unwarranted. No issues at all with smell or otherwise (sorry for the bluntness, but I was looking for someone to write about the issue when i was reading the reviews; hopefully this info helps someone.). The tents have enough to make you comfortable: coffee maker; small refrigerator; a few pots and pans, glasses, bowls, plates and silverware. In all fairness though, we didn't take much advantage of these simple amenities - we decided against getting a car so we ate nearly every meal at the Cafe. We weren't sorry. The food is outstanding: we had the pancakes every morning (they're that good). The salmon and pasta entree, plus the coconut shrimp appetizer were our evening favorites. There is a new chef there and management is trying to figure out how to offer the Cafe servings all year. I don't think there will be a problem doing that if she just keeps making good food and Concordia can get the word out. The only downside is that the food isn't cheap. Food isn't cheap anywhere on the island, however - not even in the grocery stores - so we didn't feel like we spent money in the Cafe that we wouldn't have otherwise. Be sure to check out the schedule - at this point in time the Cafe isn't open every day so you'll need to plan accordingly.

While I'm on the topic of food, make sure to visit the Tourist Trap just up the hiil from Concordia. Eat the pork tacos. I don't eat pork, or much meat, and I ate them. Delish. The folks who work there are worth the trip alone. (Hi Mary!)

Other things to do: yoga every morning. It's beginner, and it seems to focus a bunch on awareness and stretching. It was perfect for me. Suki gave us great massages in the pavillon. Ask for her.

A few more of my favorite activities: the 8 minute hike from the hotel to the bay; floating in the bay (for hours); reading on our deck/balcony; laps in the salt pool.

If you're not there in the dry season take note: the mosquitos are monsters - there was a fair amount of rain (at night) while we were there and it brought out the buggers in droves. Wear bug stray and long sleeves/pants to minimize the surface area available to them.

Finally, while you're there - make your way to town (via the bus, which stops just in front of the Tourist Trap) and check out some of the goings-on. Lots to do.

So, go. Just go.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

In planning our 20th Anniversary Trip to the USVI (St. Thomas and St. John), I spent a great deal of time reading and researching places to stay. I relied heavily on the posts submitted on Trip Advisor to finalize our decision on the best place to stay on St. John. We were looking for a quiet, relaxing, pristine, economical, off the grid location with spectacular views so we selected Concordia Eco-Tents. We are thankful for the Trip Advisor posts that lead us to Concordia. We stayed in Eco-Tent P-10 from October 14-17, 2013. Eco-Tent P-10 was perfect. Through pictures and information, I knew what to expect, but it exceeded our expectations. The first night, the sounds of the wind and ocean were a bit loud, so we did use earplugs to muffle some of sounds, but we learned to appreciate the sounds during subsequent nights. The accommodations of the Eco-Tent were all outstanding; the kitchen area including the refrigerator, the bathroom and shower (always warm), and most notable, the deck with beautiful views from Coral Bay to Salt Pond Bay and beyond. We really enjoyed the deck; sunrises and breakfast each morning and the moon and a beer each evening. The pool was perfect for an evening swim. Concordia provided easy access to a wonderful hike to Rams Head, amazing snorkeling in Salt Pond Bay, and an outstanding meal at The Tourist Trap. The 2 meals we ate at Café Concordia were excellent with spectacular views. The staff at Concordia was always helpful and friendly. They set up a snorkeling tour for us, assisted with beach chairs and cooler rental, and answered all of our questions. The small store in the office was convenient to purchase ice, beverages, snacks etc. On the day we checked out, it was difficult to leave because we enjoyed everything about our stay at Concordia. We appreciated Concordia even more after we arrived back on St. Thomas as we were a bit overwhelmed by the noise, traffic, and people. The best endorsement we can provide Concordia is that we will absolutely stay at Concordia during our next trip to St. John. Next time, we will stay for a full week instead of just 4 nights.

Room Tip: We loved Eco-Tent P-10
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State of Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Our "Banana Cabana' was just renovated (major redesign and rebuild) and we were the first guests to inhabit it. Altho there were a few items needing attention (last minute typical issues from the construction gang) they didn't dampen our experience and the staff was more than helpful with remedies. Best I've ever experienced for "maintenance issues" taken care of. But forget that, they got 'em fixed so you needn't worry. The unit is not large but has a nice deck over looking the ocean. The raised bed meant we could see out to Salt Pond Bay whilst reclining. In the evening we could see the cruise ships of St. Thomas making their way slowly across the horizon -- lights blaring, but far away (they refer to it as "Cruise Ship TV" It goes on for much of the night.) The design had much to recommend it. Clean, neat, sensible, and functional. Just one queen bed (with lots of pillows) but we both found we slept thru the night (can't beat that, eh?) Good interior lighting; best of all were the gooseneck reading lamps for each of us in bed; small, powerful and focused (this was really super!) A large shower with plenty of towel racks and good hot water. It was especially nice to have it be so large -- no cramped shower here, not even close.
The microwave worked well, the coffee-maker got a good workout successfully; same for the small fridge. It's an especially private unit (A5) high up over the swimming pool (which we never used ... no turtles, rays or reef fishes in it). It's simple living with all the amenities we needed and a great, friendly -- you don't know friendly until you meet Rama!! Look him up and you'll get the sense immediately. What a guy!! And the onsite restaurant was excellent. We'd go again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: A5 Banana Cabana -- great view, not too many steps away. Mostly private. Huge shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiverRat37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

After some discussion, we decided to split our trip to St. John between Concordia and a resort on the other side of the island. Hands down Concordia was our favorite.

Location: It was on the far side of the island, and they give you information/taxi driver who is willing to make the trip out if you don't have a vehicle (it was about a 30-40 min drive from Cruz Bay). They are right above Salt Pond Bay. The hike down to the beach isn't horrible, and the beach is very nice. Snorkeling here was MUCH better then the North side resort beaches. Not only that, but it's right near Drunk Bay and Ram's Head Trail (and beach) which are both very unique from the other beaches we saw on the island. The views from Ram's Head are worth hike- not only looking back toward Salt Pond Bay, but also out along the East Side as well.

Room: We chose to stay in an Eco Studio which is described as a more "traditional hotel room" but I would say that it's actually beyond what you would see in a normal hotel. It was a spacious cottage with a kitchenette (stove, microwave, fridge and sink.). It would comfortably sleep 2-4 (double bed plus futon). We had our own deck, with great views- French doors to enjoy views from the inside. Aside from voices heard out on the deck it was VERY quiet for us in an upper unit. The window are open for air (NO air conditioning) but the breeze and ceiling fan made for comfortable sleeping. The only thing missing were screens on the french doors to leave those open for more air flow :) There were no-see-ums and mosquitos at night, but a dab of bug spray made all the difference.

I believe that it's most common for people to buy a few days groceries and cook in the units- (our taxi driver asked us if we needed to stop for groceries before we drove up)- and there are many instructions about how to store food, and what to do with leftovers. They do have some decent snack items available for purchase (or room charge) in the office, which we definitely took advantage of. There is a Cafe on site, which is what we chose to do. The hours vary based on season, but for us they were open for breakfast and dinner, which worked out perfectly for our days. The food was delicious, and the service was very friendly, portions and prices were great. Take advantage of Pizza Sunday. It's a steal, and it's delicious ! For other times or for a change, a short walk up the road is a small place called The Tourist Trap, which we visited once and were glad we made the walk.

The staff was friendly and helpful, not only with information on activities, but acting as concierge and setting up day, time and (for us) taxi. We found this really helpful because we didn't have cell service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cass20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Concordia Eco Lodge is a hidden gem. Great for relaxation, spectacular views, hikes, snorkeling, delicious food and meeting wonderful people. We can't say enough great things about this place. I was very skeptical about the accommodations because I am not a camper. However, our tent was a perfect mix of rustic/eco-friendly and comfort. The view from the private deck is jaw dropping and ever changing. We spent one day just sitting on the deck gazing at the view and having amazing conversations. The folks that call Concordia their home are very friendly, always willing to help. The front desk helped arrange excursions, transportation and gave us great info about the resort and the island in general. Café Concordia is wonderful--great food, drink, service and a wonderful place to meet people. If you are lucky enough to travel to St. John, Concordia Eco Lodge should definitely be your destination.

Room Tip: We stayed in a premium eco tent. The view was amazing, always a breeze. very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. I love the eco-tents because it brings you back to the basics in life and can enjoy Mother Nature. I enjoy staying in the premium tents because the breeze is much better and we usually go during off season when it is extremely hot. The staff was very helpful especially when trying to find places to go snorkeling since the park was closed due to government shutdown. I can not recommend this place enough! Oh and we ate at Cafe Concordia one night....so delicious!!!! We will be back in 5 years.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corywalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Islands National Park
6.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
5.9 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
6.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
6.2 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Concordia Eco-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concordia Eco-Resort

Property: Concordia Eco-Resort
Address: 16371 Concordia, Virgin Islands National Park 00830-9586, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Virgin Islands National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Virgin Islands National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Concordia Eco-Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concordia Eco-Resort offers a variety of accommodations to satisfy our die-hard Eco-Tent fans, as well as those vacationers looking for a few more creature comforts, unplugged and surrounded by the beautiful VI National Park. (Check out our new Eco-Studios.) Our 25 Eco-Tents and Premium Eco-Tents are independent units perch like tree houses along the hillside. A 15 minute nature hike to Salt Pond Bay provides some of the best snorkeling on St. John. Cafe Concordia serves Breakfast, Dinner, Happy Hour, and Sunday Brunch in High Season, call for seasonal hours, but feel free to take full advantage of the kitchenette and refrigeration provided in your unit for cooking year round. Hope to see you soon in beautiful St. John. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp and Odigeo so you can book your Concordia Eco-Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concordia Eco-Tents Hotel Virgin Islands National Park
Concordia Eco-Resort St. John/Virgin Islands National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing