We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beach, Great Snorkling and not crawling with tourists!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maho Bay

Maho Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
US$162.49*
and up
St Thomas Snorkeling Cruise to St John
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mayho Bay is a popular beach in St. John and home to the Maho Bay Campground, 114 tent-cottages constructed in respect for the environment, making it one of the most publicized eco-tourism destinations in the world.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Beach, Great Snorkling and not crawling with tourists!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

This we the place we were seeking. We walked through an empty/deserted multilevel campground and the beach at the bottom had a nice shore, perfect water and great snorkeling.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NBL94402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    95
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Can't believe we skipped this beach/bay on our last trip to St John. This was our favorite on this trip. Fish, eel, barracuda, conchs, hermits, squid, octopus and turtles. Was there for 4 hours, snorkeled for 4 hours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheri-inAcworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Maho was one of our favorite beaches on a recent trip to St John. Very protected bay with a long beach. Snorkeling was great on the grass beds - saw variety of fish including a barracuda and starfish as well as sea turtles. Recommend arriving by 10am as the parking begins to fill up.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Another Great Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Try the all......, Maho had many turtles while we were there. This beach has some facilities; restrooms and picnic tables. You can park right at the beach.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mi3sonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern MA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome beach and snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The parking for this gorgeous beach is free but a little limited. However, it's worth getting up a little early to enjoy it. The beach here is clean and the water is clear. The snorkeling was good (we saw sea turtles and barracuda). The sea turtles enjoy eating the sea grass so we saw quite a few. The good snorkeling is a little far ( to the extreme right of the beach) but you can easily just swim out a little and see some of the schools of white fish and turtles. This beach is one of our favorites for swimming,sun and snorkeling.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maho Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Maho Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing