We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for an escape....must see to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Views over the pool to Cinnamon Bay and the BVI
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Views over the pool to Cinnamon Bay and the BVI
Enjoy a drink from the pool bar at our in-pool cocktail tables Island Stones pool deck has 8 chaise lounge chairs and tables with chairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Views over the pool to Cinnamon Bay and the BVI
Enjoy a drink from the pool bar at our in-pool cocktail tables
Island Stones pool deck has 8 chaise lounge chairs and tables with chairs
Great Room Views over Cinnamon Bay
Pool Deck bathroom, change room, and outdoor shower
Lower East Bedroom
Lower East Bedroom and bath
Lower East Bedroom
Lower East Bedroom bathroom
Lower East Bedroom
Caribbean views to Sandy Key and Tortola
Lower East Bedroom bath
Lower East Bedroom outdoor shower
Lower East Bedroom
Lower West Bedroom
Lower West Bedroom
Lower West Bedroom
Lower West Bedroom and bath
Lower West Bedroom Bath
Lower West Bedroom outdoor shower
Lower West Bedroom linen detail
Lower West Bedroom furniture detail
East Bedroom adjacent to Game Room
East Bedroom adjacent to Game Room
East Bedroom adjacent to Game Room
Lower East Bedroom bath
East Bedroom shower
Private Gated Driveway into Island Stones
Entry to Island Stones from large parking area
Locking walk gate
North Bedroom looking out to Jost Van Dyke
North Bedroom
North Bedroom
North Bedroom
North Bedroom indoor shower
North Bedroom bathroom
North Bedroom outdoor shower
South Bedroom in Tigerwood
South Bedroom
South Bedroom bath
South Bedroom detail
South Bedroom
West Bedroom with views to Tortola and Francis Bay Beach
West Bedroom
West Bedroom
West Bedroom Patio with views to Tortola and Francis Bay Beach
West Bedroom TV cabinet
West Bedroom entry from garden path
West Bedroom bath and outdoor garden shower
West Bedroom bath showing indoor shower and outdoor garden shower
West Bedroom bath
West Bedroom bath
West Bedroom outdoor shower
South Bedroom outdoor shower
Gourmet Kitchen with Sub Zero refrigerator, Bluestar Range, Travertine slab counters and Coral Stone
Sub Zero Refrigertor, Bluestar Range, 4' Thick Travertine Counters, Custom Mahogany Cabinetry
Island Stones Tuscan style kitchen prep counter
Great Room living north side living area
Great Room south side living area
Great Room large flat cable tv and wifi
Great Room dining area
Outside the Great Room to Francis Bay
Great Room Dining
Great Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael M
1 review
“Great place for an escape....must see to believe....”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Most in our west coast group had discovered St. John as an excursion off a cruise and just fell in love with beauty of the place, so after much research and discussion, we settled on booking a week at Island Stones Villa for a return trip. We were drawn to the place based upon the pictures posted on various web sites, but upon our arrival, it was hard to believe that the pictures did not do it justice. Truly, the most amazing views we have ever seen...and how fortunate it was to be able to spend an entire week in the spectacular retreat. All 6 couples had great rooms, each with their own unique views and all the privacy we needed. The outdoor showers were wonderful, the infinity pool is amazing (I spent serious time just leaning over the edge with a drink taking in the views). As with any property, there were a minor few appliance issues that came up, but Henry responded right away and fixed them all. We had two fabulous dinners prepared at the Villa by Passion Fruit Chefs. Passion Fruit Chefs also provisioned the Villa with all we needed for breakfasts, most lunches, and 3 additional BBQ (best Mahi Mahi we have ever had!). We took day trips each day for snorkeling or boating, but other than, we mostly hung out at the Villa and enjoyed where we were....at very great place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Most amazing views you will ever experience
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelque...
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
487 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Amazing in every way ”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I visit St. John every year. Sometimes twice a year. It's our home away from home. We had our wedding and hosted 80 guests there in 2011. We know the island like its our back yard. We have various ownerships at the Westin but we wanted to try something different so we chose to rent island stones with 5 other couples. We were the common link and many people were meeting for the first time. The planning process was so easy. Both John the owner and his staff were amazing with helping me plan our week and help me understand the home's layout, location, etc. Upon arrival to St Thomas Henry and Larissa the property managers were in contact with us and waiting for our ferry arrival. They took a few us to pick up our jeeps and then to the island stones. The entrance to the house can be reached two different ways. One from the beach side right near cinnamon bay beach. The other front center line rd/coral bay side - we used both depending on daylight. They are partially rock:paved roads - so jeeps are your best option. The grounds of the house are breathtaking. Ample parking for 4 jeeps. We had 6 couples. And honesty although each bedroom has its own bonuses there really isn't a bad bedroom in the house. All the bedrooms have king beds which I think is unique for the island to accommodate all adults. Each bedroom is name after a beach on the island. There is a bedroom that is in a separate building (honeymoon) from the house - it's a bigger bedroom - and has a huge indoor / outdoor bathroom. It's a beautiful room with outdoor space and views but it is removed from the main house. There are two bedrooms on the main level off the kitchen. One faces the ocean and is right off the pool deck. Beautiful room. Small indoor bathroom and lovely outdoor shower. We actually never used the indoor shower. The outdoor shower views were amazing. The views from the main house and pool deck is awe inspiring. The other bedroom is same size and has only an outdoor shower. It's the only bedroom that really doesn't have an ocean view but honestly still lovely. No one really spend anytime in bedrooms other than to sleep. The three bedrooms on the downstairs level all have great space. Two face the ocean and have outdoor showers. The third is a big room with a lot of space. It has an entrance from the back of the house. It has a few small ocean views with an indoor and outdoor shower. All the bedrooms have outdoor sitting areas. The property overlooks Francis bay. The grounds are totally private. There are one or two other houses on the road but you don't see anyone. We partied on the deck with the music flowing(stereo system on deck to plus into) each night. The main space really makes this house. There is an awesome outdoor bar area that we spent time at daily. The pool is quite deep so very nice. The outdoor space fits twelve adults comfortably. One thing that we wished was there was an outdoor or separate ice maker. There is snorkel equipment, beach chairs, and rafts all on the property.

We only really used the game room one night but it's a nice to have. The exercise room is in the sub basement and sufficient. We didn't really use since it was hot. There is an air conditioner in there but we didn't want to have on all the time.

We ordered our food order ahead of time online at starfish market and it was waiting for us to pick up as soon as we picked up our jeeps. We headed to pine peace market to get our beer/wine/ water supplies. We rented an amazing bravo boat (carpe diem) and captain for the day to take to us to the BVIs.
Honestly, the house is amazing and anyone who would write complaints are beyond crazy. Is everything perfect - no... But your on a deserted island so there is a level of consideration when your in a rental. I spoke with the owner directly with some potential enhancements but nothing that was ground breaking. Just some nice to haves like the ice maker.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stunning views, great common areas, beautiful pool, and comfortable bedrooms”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here with 5 other couples. We had an absolute blast with memories that will last a life time. We were very active around the island and a trip into Cruz Bay was only 15 minutes by jeep a and a jeep is highly recommended to get to the property as well as around the island.

The views were stunning - from the moment we arrived, to the small rain showers that passed over the adjacent islands, to the night sky - we spent a lot of time around the pool enjoying the scenery and each other's company. The outside bar area by the pool was the center of most of our mornings and evenings - great place to hang out with friends.

The kitchen and great room were very comfortable for our large group - we only ate dinner here one evening with delivery from a local deli that was amazing. We did enjoy our breakfast here every day - the kitchen was amply provisioned to support our needs during our stay.

The bedrooms were comfortable. We had some minor issues figuring out how to get the air conditioning to work - but once we did there was never an issue with temperature. The outdoor showers for the 6 master suites were refreshing and interesting - just be careful in the pool in the morning and walking around some of the bedrooms - never know what you might see. A couple of the bedrooms also had indoor showers.

Of special note, stop by the sugar mill you pass on the way to the villa in the evening - we happened upon a sax player there one evening who apparently plays there often in the evening. It was almost magical from our perspective since it was a very unexpected find. Just slow down and listen by the mill - you'll hear him if he is playing.

The property managers were also amazing. Henri was responsive and quickly addressed our minor issues on the first day. But what stood out for us is the surprise on our arrival. We had shopped on st. Thomas so arrived with most of our groceries for the week. As we started to unpack we discovered lunch in the refrigerator - a thoughtful touch by Larissa! It saved us a trip into town and allowed us to enjoy the property as the rest of the group arrived that day!

Also, no need to bring paper products - towels, napkins, Kleenex, and toilet paper were all amply supplied along with garbage bags and various other sundry items. I would bring my own shampoo/body wash as what was provided would not last a week for a couple. The place also has plenty of washers and dryers to clean your beach towels and other laundry. The beach chairs were available - although some were in tough shape. The snorkel gear was okay but I much preferred using my own. The pool does have a number of floating devices for the pool - we left a couple of more... We really did not need anything other than food while there.

All in all an amazing place and highly recommended for larger groups of adults!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!!!
Liked least: Nothing...
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your thorough and thoughtful review! Island Stones is a favorite for larger groups because of the 6 bedrooms and other amenities. Your second sentence warms our hearts: "we had an absolute blast with memories that will last a lifetime". We're always happy to hear how much our guests like Henry and Larissa too. they're some of the best property managers on island. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibiscus1...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Views, Beautiful Villa!!”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and I stayed at Island Stones with 5 other couples in late May. We had a ball. Each bedroom has its own bath with outdoor shower (some BRs have indoor showers too). The property was roomy and comfortable for 6 couples, with plenty of space. The kitchen was state of the art and well stocked. Furniture was comfortable, bed in our room was comfy too. We stayed in the Salomon room adjacent to the pool, so we had a view similar to the view from the pool area. The view was absolutely incredible, we could see a bay below and look across to the British Virgin Islands. The property is located in the USVI National Park. The road to the house is about a 3 minute ride, bumpy but well worth it! While there was an issue with the power while we were there, the property manager was super responsive and took care of it right away. It's the Caribbean so we didn't expect the A/C to run full blast, we enjoyed feeling the island breezes.We would definitely go back!!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views, the pool and bar area, comfortable bed
Liked least: the bumpy ride to the property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BucketLis...
Azle, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this villa for our 45th anniversary. It was our 8th time to St John, staying 4 times in a villa. Your first reaction is "all right", but then you become disappointed. The outside views are amazing, pool area enjoyable except for the blow up floats. All other villas we've stayed at provided nice foam floats. The villa needs preventative maintenance. We wanted to enjoy some of the nice breezes but couldn't because screens were broken and mosquitoes were horrible. A/C had problems so we spent our whole first day waiting on repairman. Lighting, particularly in the Master suite, very, very poor. Leak under the sink in the Master bath. Timers on the A/C that you constantly have to keep turned. Game room - pool table not level, cue sticks warped.

While the owner/property manager was responsive to a degree, our stay could have been more enjoyable if they would do preventative maintenance. This villa has such potential but too many broken issues while we were there. Lucky us I guess. Compared to the other villas we stayed at in the past, we would not stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool views
Liked least: Maintenance issues
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Any time a guest of ours expresses a concern it is of immediate importance to us. Unfortunately this guest's trip got off to a rough start because their flight was delayed a day and their luggage was delayed even further. We check each of our 9 mini split AC units during our turnover walk through. By chance, the Great Room unit went out and our maintenance person was informed that evening. We had a professional out there as soon as possible the next day and got it working. There was roughly a 4" tear in one of the slider screens and a minor leak in the master bathroom which our maintenance person fixed right away. We fully understand how a series of events starting with a very bad flight can result in irritation. We accommodate as best and as immediately as possible when something needs to be done and fully respect the desires of every guest we have. I called personally for follow up, as I typically do either way, and asked what else we could possibly do to make their trip as comfortable as can be. The concerns were fixed at that point and there was nothing further asked for. We continued to follow up afterward, so I really wish we knew that they preferred foam floats over inflatables and about the pool table cues. 2 out of 6 were indeed bowed about 1/8” and are replaced. The table was checked and is in perfect level and we've ordered foam floats. We perform thorough checks between all guests with the goal of catching anything possible that's out of place. Occasionally there's an item that we're unaware of, like the cue sticks, but we remedy those things immediately and with personal care and empathy. We sincerely wish well for these guests and hope them all the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy of the bedrooms, the outdoor showers and the magnificent views!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janette E
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfectly secluded and amazing views!!”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Island Stones was perfect for our group, the sic rooms are secluded from one another with private outdoor entrances so that everyone has privacy and their own retreat. The common spaces were the perfect place for the group to gather at the beginning and end of the day and the views could not be beat. The house has an interesting history and is in a great location, center island. The property managers were accommodating from beginning to end and helped to make ours' a perfect stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & View
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing