We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most picturesque beach”

National Park Underwater Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
US$94.99*
and up
St Thomas Snorkel and Sail Adventure to St John
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's first marked underwater trail located near the shoreline, making it one of the best snorkeling spots in the Caribbean.
Winchester, Tennessee
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Most picturesque beach”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Loved snorkeling in this underwater National Park. Upon arriving we were briefed on the do's and don't s of this underwater paradise. Then we received our equipment from the rental company. The masks and snorkels had been sanitized and the sand rinsed off the flippers. This was a great place for novices to snorkeling. You can walk straight in off the beach and swim in relatively shallow water to examine coral reefs and the fish inhabiting the area. We explored around several rocky islands just off the beach, but were off limits to pedestrians. There are some plaques underwater that label a few species of fish and coral that are present. Lifeguards were present to protect not only the swimmers, but the aquatic habitat. There was a snack bar available for chips, candy, drinks and hot dogs. Picnic tables under the trees back off the beach. Showers and toilets also available.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 62kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    52
    29
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,666 reviews
724 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 990 helpful votes
“So-so coral, plenty of fish and a spectacular beach”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The underwater trail is a unique a spect to the Trunk Bay experience. There are some informative underwater markers which describe (minimally!) the coral and aquatic life but the amount of live coral is somewhat disappointing. The area lacks any of the vibrant colored coral one would expect to see. Make sure to get as close as you can to the rocky shoreline of the small island where most of the fish seem to hang out.

The real treat is the beautiful beach and the lush hills which surround the area - as close to the perfect Caribbean beach you'll see anywhere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic for beginner snorkelers”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

While many of the markers were obliterated by growth, this was a calm, easy circle snorkle teaming with marine life. We were lucky enough to have done it early morning, when we were the only folks in the water. I do not think it would've been as pleasant if we'd been bumping into other snorkelers, which I'm sure is the case when the hoards descend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maine-ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly short and so-so”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Very short and disappointing underwater trail. Underwater signs were mostly an infomercial for ecology.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy and Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Completely unnecessary to anyone except novices.”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I liked the snorkeling, but the underwater trail/signage seemed to be superfluous. It wasn't really a trail either, just some random markers on the reef floor. The coral was really cool though. Crowded. Avoid if possible, there are better places.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Park Underwater Trail also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to National Park Underwater Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing