We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals I have ever had”

ZoZo's at the Sugar Mill
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Caneel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I have ever had”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I ordered the surf and turf and was given a plate of heaven. It was one of the best steaks I have bit into and I worked in an expensive steak restaurant in NYC. The service was excellent and the view was tremendous. No joke, one of the best meals I have had. I highly recommend!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank adamrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,395
    254
    92
    37
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything but the bathrooms...”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

For someone who's expectations were very high based on prior reviews, this was an overall delightful dining experience. While it's important to remember that you are dining al fresco and the setting is magnificent, you will experience the climate whether it be comfortable or muggy (as it was the night my wife and I were there). The service, the wine, and the food were excellent. We enjoyed the squid ink pasta appetizer (filling!) and the beet ravioli appetizer (very small serving but delicious). We reflexively went with a bottle of the Allegrini Palazzo Della Torre (red) but in retrospect would have been better served by a chilled white that evening. Whild most folks do not go to a restaurant for the "bathroom experience," it should be pointed out that the restrooms for this place are outside and up a flight of stairs - perhaps a bit of a bummer on a rainy night. This is the only thing point that would keep from from giving this an "outstanding" review. I hope this helps!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cbreeze1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite Every Time”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Zozo's has set the bar for restaurants in the VI very high. Each meal is delicious and beautifully presented. The location is to die for (in the ruins of one of the largest sugar mills in St. John) and makes even the most seasoned Virgin Island traveler and local feel like they're someplace truly special.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting and Exquisite”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I cannot say enough about this restaurant. The setting in Caneel Bay (this is their new location) with the deer, donkeys & chickens set high in the resort sugar mills is just amazing. The restaurant renovations look amazing with an open setting where you can see the beautiful Caneel Bay grounds and the Bay. The service is outstanding. The wine selection phenomenal and the food was exquisite. The price was that of most on the island and considering what you are paying for, this restaurant is reasonably priced. This is a must when visiting the island.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BocaEla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston_TX
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Terrific Food, good view, classy place. Highly recommend. Good variety on the menu. They have a very good wine list, especially for the Caribbean. The wine prices in the islands are typically higher, but at ZoZo's they were cheaper than in the States!

Our steaks were excellent, the side dishes terrific, the staff first class. If you like places like Flemings in the states you'll love ZoZo's in St. John.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Flowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ZoZo's at the Sugar Mill also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to ZoZo's at the Sugar Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing