We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management Issue”
Review of Caneel Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caneel Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Management Issue”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My latest trip here was less than ideal due to GM and office management. I do not think, GM is person to lead Caneel into new, independent phase (post-Rosewood), not welcoming in a professional nor personal manner, plays favorites, even among repeat customers. I feel the daily staff is very welcoming, where upper management does not introduce themselves. I witnessed, GM's family monopolizing waterfront staff time. Kids allowed to fish off dock (in tropical protected waters) and leave fish out of water until dead, I found this disturbing. I believe if a GM is warm and welcoming they become part of the property, this was not the case. I felt like I was at someone's else's home, who tolerated visitors. GM's are critical to a small luxary hotels success, this one subtracts from experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank talkback100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCaneel, General Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Talkback100,
Please accept my personal apologies for the above experience and for any perceived slight inadvertently caused to you. I do hope however, to have the opportunity to meet and speak with you further, should you choose to visit us once again in the future. As this review is more about my management, and our independent phase, I would like to this opportunity to address our change in management, and how it affects Caneel Bay for our past and future guests.

This past October our contract was up for renewal with Rosewood Resorts, and a mutual decision was made, not to renew. Caneel Bay is now an independent resort, however, our ownership, management and the majority of our staff remains in place, as it has for many, many years. We are also pleased to be a part of The Leading Hotels of the World collection.

As always, we continuously strive to maintain the high standards expected of our guests, and we will continue to improve upon these efforts on a daily basis. Caneel Bay will remain faithful to our founder, Laurance Rockefeller’s vision and many of the traditions that make Caneel Bay a true escape to paradise.

As always, I am available though our executive office at 340.776.6111,or I could be reached by email at managingdirector@caneelbay.com.

Sincerely,

Nikolay Hotze
Managing Director
Caneel Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    134
    65
    40
    18
See reviews for
184
431
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Caneel on Hawksnest Beach. The service at all times was awesome! Our flight was late coming in to St. Thomas, but, Caneel Bay had our driver wait until we arrived and he took us to the Caneel ferry (that also waited for us) that after boarding departed immediately. When we landed, a consierge greeted us and took us to our room. The level of service during our week there was nothing short of excellent. We will definately be going back.

Room Tip: Hawksnest Beach on the ground floor, very quiet, private, excellent snorkeling right off the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Impressed618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Caneel Bay...you were the best. Having stayed at many high end resorts, I can say without any hesitation that the blue Caribbean waters at Caneel Bay are magnificent. It sure beats Hawaii waters any day. Sure, the rooms need a major overhaul. But, you can learn to accept the rooms as the week goes on by the wonderful time you have outside of your room. We stayed on Scotts Beach, and it was heavenly. The mosquitoes were sometimes the challenging part of the trip. It's hard to keep the occasional mosquito out of the room at night. A suggestion for Caneel Bay would be to provide mosquito netting over the beds. I think that would be helpful!
Pros about the resort: friendly staff, yes, I loved them all. Very attentive and superior service. I never felt forgotten at any moment dining, or getting around the resort.
Beaches -wonderful.
Drinks yummy, but maybe more beach service staff would improve the experience.
Food- delicious. Yes, very pricey, but its no different than Hawaii. Maybe offer lighter fare, since meals were sometimes on the heavy side.
If you are looking for a relaxing, slow, vacation, Caneel Bay is the best.
It was one of our most favorite vacations! RELAXING

Room Tip: Scotts Beach for couples and children over age of 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank l m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Caneel Bay for 1 night after being with a group of 18 at Frenchmans in Tortola for the 4 nights prior. We decided it might be nice to try it for one night and get some relaxation for just the two of us after a packed 4 days of boats and bars in the BVIs. I have to say that the water and beaches (especially Scotts and Turtle Bay) were some of the prettiest we've ever seen (including St Kitts, many in Mexico, Hawaii, Greece & Italy). The resort itself is huge and offers a great combo for nature lovers and beaches! The rooms are definitely not the nicest we've stayed in but they were comfortable and we enjoyed the trip. We ate at Zozo's which was great! Overall, we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. My only complaint would be the price. Unless money is NO object, a stay at Caneel will add up FAST! One night in a garden view with 1 breakfast, dinner and lunch and very minimal drinks added up to around $1200+. We've been to much nicer resorts that were not as expensive. I think we'll definitely be back, but it will have to be for a special occasion and would probably include a few days at Frenchmans Tortola first (the villas are much nicer and less expensive) prior to Caneel. The manager's cocktail party on Monday night was a nice touch and was about the only time we didn't feel like it was ridiculously expensive. The real draw to Caneel is the natural beauty of the island and we didn't find the beaches or grounds to be dirty, but rather a plus that there were donkeys and deer all around.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Our family just spent five days at Caneel Bay for our spring break. We were really looking forward to it because we have heard a lot about it over the years. But, I have to say we were very disappointed. The resort is in desperate need of a renovation! In fact, I could not believe we were paying that much for the poor quality of the resort. The furniture by the bar was shabby and they did not clean off the bird droppings. That was just weird. The rooms were just ok and the grounds were not well kept. In fact, there were donkeys and deer roaming around, but they did not clean up after them. Also the service was very poor and the people were not friendly. And there was no way to reach the front desk if you had problems or questions as there is no phone in the room. They seem to have only one person serving the beach. We were with another family and finally just had to laugh about it all! Overall it was a general disappointment. We will not go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank travelingaround238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I recently spent five days at Caneel Bay. The Caneel Bay Resort consists of about 170 acres, and is a nicely maintained facility. We had one of the “garden view” rooms. The room was spacious and well maintained, although it could have used a bit more in the way of décor. Some of the walls seemed very bare and cold. The bedding was very comfortable, and the pillows were heavenly. There was a refrigerator stocked with high-priced drinks and snacks ($4 for a can of soda, $8 for a 1-liter bottle of water). The fridge was so full with the stocked items that there was no room to keep anything of our own in it. There was a small safe in the closet, which we appreciated.
We had meals at all three of the restaurants on the property, and all were very good. Dinner at both the Turtle Bay Estate House and Zo Zo’s at the Sugar Mill are fairly expensive, but certainly a worth-while experience while staying at Caneel Bay. The Caneel Beach Bar & Grill, with its open-air restaurant, is a good spot for lunch or a less formal dinner.
The rooms and facilities at Caneel Bay are very spread out, so getting around requires a fair amount of walking and/or riding the on-site shuttles. There are 5 or 6 stops on the shuttle route, and sometimes you will have as much as a 10-15 minute wait. Sometimes you’re lucky, and the shuttle is right there when you need it. One thing, regarding transportation, that was a bit of a disappointment to us, was the fact that Caneel Bay does not provide any sort of shuttle to take its guests to Cruz Bay or other off-property sites. In fact, the only ways – other than walking – to get around are rental cars or the local “taxis”. The latter are mostly open-air vehicles that are, basically, trucks with covered bench seats in the bed. We went off property only a couple of times while there. The round trip for two between Caneel Bay and Cruz Bay cost $20, and the round trip between Caneel Bay and Cinnamon Bay was $28. So, if you plan to do a lot of roving around the island, it might be worthwhile to rent a Jeep. Walking to Cruz Bay and back may be an option for younger folks who are in reasonably good shape, but not for those who can’t walk more than a mile or two – especially in hot, humid weather.
One of the real “plusses” of Caneel Bay is their nice beaches. We spent time at Hawksnest and Turtle Bay, and they were never crowded. Hawksnest is a great spot to see turtles. Snorkeling off the Caneel Bay beaches is, in our opinion, not that great. We’ve snorkeled in various places, and compared to the Great Barrier Reef (Heron Island), and Bora Bora, Caneel Bay comes in a distant third. The more public beaches can get pretty crowded – especially on weekends. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Caneel Bay very much, but if you’re on a tight budget you might want to look elsewhere. Living at Caneel Bay can, after a while, make you feel you’re ‘bleeding’ money.

Room Tip: If you plan to spend a lot of time at the beaches and don't like to walk or take shuttles, consi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roadman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We came from little dix bay on virgin gorda thinking that another rosewood would be just as amazing. Wrong! We pulled up to the dock by boat, and my husband wanted to leave immediately. I hadn't been back to caneel bay in 30 years and it was just heartbreaking how cheesy it had become. The beach was dirty. They added some gross hideous roman structure to the dining area that doesn't go with anything else in the hotel. The side grill had flies everywhere. We asked for a garden room that was literally in the bushes next to a shed. No garden for us! Since we couldn't change our flight to get out, we were stuck. We had to pay thousands of dollars more for two ocean front room that were fine, but given the quality of the resort was not worth it at all. This has turned into what some of the other islands have....Caribbean cheese! Mr Rockefeller would be extremely disappointed! I am now extremely careful booking a hotel.....especially with hotel website pictures!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank freddy1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caneel Bay
1.4 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
1.1 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
471 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
128 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
1.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caneel Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caneel Bay Resort

Property: Caneel Bay Resort
Address: PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Caneel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Caneel Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a 170-acre peninsula amid the lush beauty of the Virgin Islands National Park and seven picturesque beaches, Caneel Bay is one of the most breathtaking vacation destinations in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Caneel Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caneel Bay, a Rosewood Hotel Caneel Bay
Caneel Bay a Rosewood Resort
Caneel Bay Resort St John
Caneel Bay St John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing