We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This gem outshines it's low points!”
Review of Caneel Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caneel Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our fist trip to Caneel and we will likely return. The highlights were the amazing beaches and staff, which made this resort shine DESPITE it's low points!!
The low points were:
- The very poorly maintained and completely broken down beach equipment. We knew there were past issues in this area based upon online reviews of the resort however, we expected this would have been fixed with the new management. The beach staff seemed hopelessly unhelpful, each of them with different stories about why the equipment was broken, poorly rigged or inoperable. Given sailing around was 25% of our reason for visiting, we were extremely disappointed.
- Also very disappointing was the croquet lawn and equipment. There was donkey and deer feces all over the course, a pile o broken equipment dumped next to the course, and only two mallets available from the front desk. We repeatedly told the front desk about the condition of the course and the dumped equipment. Nothing was moved the entire time we were there (8 days).
- The flea infested animals on the resort were very stressful to encounter and watch. I desperately wanted to give them a garlic salt lick to deter the infestation they were experiencing. Does anyone care about these animals?! It was not quaint to encounter them. It was disturbing along with the feces that was EVERYWHERE!!!
-Mosquitos came out at night. I came home with at least ten bites per limb, etc. All I can say, is if you miss a spot with repellent, they will get you there!! (I would visit again, even though this was the case as it's such a beautiful place!!)

Okay, so those were the low points. I have to end on a high point because we did have a wonderful time at Caneel! The bus driver seemed to show up whenever we needed him, calling out our room number as he approached. The Turtle Bay restaurant staff were SO charming; every single one of them! Our main housekeeper, Paulette, was a true hostess! She kept our room sparkling and stocked! The beaches were dream like. We were in paradise snorkeling with the turtles and many fish. We loved playing tennis on the blue courts (what a bonus!). We will return.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe ocean view room which was very nice but, we would never do that again as we found th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WorldTravelGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDCaneel, General Manager at Caneel Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear WorldTravel Goddess,

Thank you for your detailed review of your first visit to Caneel Bay, and I am truly happy you enjoyed your stay in our Paradise. Please accept my personal apologies for the low points you experienced, however, I thank you for your feedback, as we continuously strive to enhance each experience we provide our guests. I would also like to take this opportunity to apologize for the equipment that was unavailable during your time with us. Being located on an island, such as St John, when unexpected repairs are needed, or parts in need of replacement, we must rely on vendors, mainly stateside, to ship items, which in most cases, unfortunately must be shipped via ocean container. It was, however, unacceptable that broken equipment was not immediately removed, upon notification.

Please know the situation with our deer population has touched us all, we have been working closely with the USDA, National Park, as well as with our local veterinarians to assist us with this situation, as it has not been something we have experienced in the past. Currently we are injecting plant pods and providing feed that are favored by the deer, with a safe repellent, which has been working extremely well; we are hopeful for a total elimination.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience, and for your positive comments regarding Paulette, our bus drivers, our staff at Turtle Bay Estate House, and the many enjoyable experiences you had during your visit. I very much look forward to welcoming you back to Caneel Bay in the future.

Sincerely,
Nikolay Hotze
Managing Director
Caneel Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Absolutely loved my stay here. Room was on Hawksnest beach, but went over to Scotts Beach too. Snorkeled everywhere, saw turtles and sting rays-it was amazing! Did the continental breakfast in the morning, and hung out at the lobby bar at night to see a little bit of t.v. Rented a jeep one day and fell in love with skinny legs burgers. This island is gorgeous, and this place was amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KF0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was my first trip back since the Big Change of management and was delighted to see that the changes we saw were for the Better! Property beautiful as usual. Water pristine and beaches in great shape. More deer than usual but that just adds to the luxury camping feel. New sushi bar is a great addition along with gelato bar. We have been coming to this property since 1981 on our honeymoon and will continue as long as able. Caneel is unique in many ways and a big part of the attraction to us is that not much changes year after year. You can always count on beauty, high service, great food and a sense of family throughout the property.
Thanks again for another great year!

Room Tip: Scott beach or cottage 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I went here for our 25th wedding anniversary. It was lovely from start to finish. Beautiful beaches, lovely staff, great food! If you are looking for a crowded late night bar scene, look elsewhere. No tv's or phones in the guest rooms. The perfect romantic vacation spot!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Brette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This resort has the most beautiful natural grounds. Lots of open space with feral donkeys and deers wandering the area. A few nice secluded trails take you to various beaches on the property. We loved Scott's Beach. Quiet and a reef located not far from the shore that gave us some excellent snorkeling. Rooms on Scott's as others noted are a little tired but very clean and overall nice. They are starting to remodel as I noted one from on the end of the Scott's grouping had been completed and looked very nice. Staff was friendly and attentive. Would definitely return. Loved Nathan, great customer service.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Mso56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Laurance Rockefeller chose the finest location in the Caribbean for this resort. It is a wonderful place with great memories for me and my family. We do miss the atmosphere of the days when practically all the staff were locals (St. Thomas included).

Room Tip: Not sharing, sorry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just got back from one week here with my two kids (9 and 11). What a great experience. We all had a great time. This is no all inclusive mega-resort, nor some swanky high rise on a beach. (Not that there is anything wrong with those...and we've stayed in those places and had good experiences, but we all agreed this was better.) It is a quiet, tranquil nature resort with beach after beach of calm, clear warm water with sandy bottom. The hotel was booked, but you would not know it walking around--it is so spread out. St. John itself is an amazing island. The staff is excellent. Our flight changed the last morning and we suddenly had less than half an hour to leave. Lovia moved heaven and earth to get us out on time, and then handed us breakfasts as we got in the ferry that she had gotten for us from the buffet. And the tennis program is amazing. My kids have resisted playing tennis for years, but Eric gave them lessons and they wanted to get another one each day. He is great. So thanks Caneel for another great stay.

Room Tip: I really think it is worth getting a beach front room if you can. Amazing to walk out to the beach a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JTRoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caneel Bay
1.4 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
1.1 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
496 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
476 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caneel Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caneel Bay Resort

Address: PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Caneel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Price Range: £403 - £581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caneel Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a 170-acre peninsula amid the lush beauty of the Virgin Islands National Park and seven picturesque beaches, Caneel Bay is one of the most breathtaking vacation destinations in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caneel Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caneel Bay, a Rosewood Hotel Caneel Bay
Caneel Bay a Rosewood Resort
Caneel Bay Resort St John
Caneel Bay St John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing